A visit from Texas

Reaction score
Hi everyone, just joined and looking for some advice.

I am a data science professional but am not super savvy with networking, etc.

Coming away from the whole Ring / Nest Big Data surveillance and looking for some answers :)

It will be nice meeting you all and I was linked here by a Reddit forum.

Currently installed but ready to return a pair of Reolink - ShenZhen provided cameras.

wittaj

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
Welcome!

Good thing you found this site while you could still return the Reolink.

Please post your experiences and some pictures/video of their quality (or lack thereof) in this thread:

Reaction score
I found the experience fine for installation and the website is extremely well put together, some may even say misleading.

I installed the cameras thinking things were fine but once I got them in and downloaded the software, I found out the ShenZhen Reolink exe.....

Well to say the least, I have lived in China for previous years and am not a fan and do not in fact want their software installed on my pc or phone.

That is why I am here looking for some suggestions. I would like many of the functions that Reolink can provide but without the PRC spyware.

wittaj

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
If you look at the posts in that thread, you will see that the images and ability to IDENTIFY are seriously lacking in those cams.

The issue you will have is unless you want to pay an extreme premium for inferior product, the best benefit-to-cost ratio cameras are going to be from China.

Now what most of us have done here is prevent the cameras from talking to the Internet and certainly do not use any cloud, P2P, or other camera provided app to view our cams.

sebastiantombs

Known around here
Reaction score
:welcome: