Anyone running 8th gen Intel without memory leak problems in Blue Iris?

Discussion in 'Blue Iris' started by bp2008, Jan 8, 2018.

Share This Page

  1. bp2008

    bp2008 Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    8,753
    Likes Received:
    5,819
    Most applications using quick sync are working on a small amount of video for a limited amount of time, like a couple hours worth of 1080p or 4K @ 24 FPS. And then they close. So a leak could go unnoticed. Blue Iris will push that much data through Quick Sync in a matter of minutes and just keep on going.

    Here's the strange thing. With a normal memory leak, memory usage goes up and CPU usage is basically unaffected. However in my experience this problem is just the opposite. CPU usage goes up and memory usage only rises a little before you end up having to restart Blue Iris. So I'm hesitant to even call it a memory leak. I really don't know what is going on.

    One thing is clear: It can be resolved for most CPU models by changing to a known-good version of the media SDK. Unfortunately this doesn't tell us for certain that it is a problem with Intel's drivers/media SDK. It could just as easily be an issue with Blue Iris that just happens to only arise with certain Intel Media SDK versions. Either way, the only person who can really diagnose this issue is Ken and as far as I know the issue might not even be on his radar.
     
  2. jbc60

    jbc60 n3wb

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Buford, GA 30519, United States
    Holy crap...I just bought 2 i7 8700 32 gig of mem m.2 system disk. I have about 20 cameras at this time and my cpu is 100%. I am a long time computer guy....just can't believe all this crap I am reading. I have been setting the FPS to 5 or 10 for most cams in the BI software. Maybe that is not good enough.
    Will start reading the wiki. Please feel free to offer advice. My gut tells me, put the cams back on the old amd chip system, where they were fine..
     
  3. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    30,820
    Likes Received:
    9,793
    or you can read...up to you.
     
  4. bp2008

    bp2008 Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    8,753
    Likes Received:
    5,819
    I agree it is BS that Intels drivers are such crap. But that is only part of the puzzle.
     
  5. jbc60

    jbc60 n3wb

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Buford, GA 30519, United States
    i am reading....feels just like my job. And nowadays, is a lot of reading ...
     
  6. jbc60

    jbc60 n3wb

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Buford, GA 30519, United States
    OK, things are looking up. Implemented several recommended changes. CPU dropped to about 10%. I am getting some clip errors, but that can wait.
    I am on a small farm, work at home on computers. I am on my 3rd 1000 foot roll of CAT6A. Got about 20 cams at this time, 10 more in boxes. most hikvision POE 4k bullet cams. all power and cat6a are in separate pvc / most buried. OK, my next thing i would REALLY like to get working. I have the Blueiris on my S8+, works great at home on my wifi. Would LOVE it to work when i go 300 miles away. Got my Router cisco rv325...been all in there today trying to get it to let my phone in when wifi is disabled. no luck so far. got a static ip on the BI-PC, have it reserved, binded...working on the port forwarding..no luck so far..I am a computer guy and this stuff is a pain....LOL...Networking is not my job, its my hobby....
     
  7. looney2ns

    looney2ns IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    7,305
    Likes Received:
    5,629
    Location:
    Evansville, Indiana
    Don't forward ports....ever. Huge security risk.
    VPN Primer for Noobs
    Randy : OpenVPN on a Asus router
    And in the Wiki at the top of the page, How to secure your network.
     
  8. jbc60

    jbc60 n3wb

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Buford, GA 30519, United States
    Thank you, will look this over. i just installed 2 Asus RT-AC68 in a Mesh....free Wifi for the kids and parents...we do Horse Riding lessons in the evenings.
     
  9. brad2388

    brad2388 Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2016
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    18
    So did anyone figure this out yet? Im about to build a system for 20 dahua 2mp cameras and need a system for them.
     
  10. HEVNBND

    HEVNBND Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2017
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    12
    I am still having issues? I have one location that is 100% in less than 1 min after opening Blue Iris. I am not sure where to turn now.
     
  11. brad2388

    brad2388 Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2016
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    18
    Dang.

    Im getting reqdy to order parts for my build this week.

    Wondering what hardware to use.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  12. HEVNBND

    HEVNBND Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2017
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    12
    I have an i-7 that appears to be kicking along fine. I have eight i-5 NVRs that work ok. They hover around 80% - 90% with 24 cameras, 15fps, direct to disk and two monitors hooked up to them for local viewing. Then I have one i5 that is 100% in 30 seconds after un-pausing the video. I am not sure what to do to fix it.
     
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2018
  13. HEVNBND

    HEVNBND Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2017
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    12
    I can run BI as a service and stay at 53% however if I have the console open as soon as i Un-Pause the live video on my local display my CPU goes to 100% in 15 seconds.

    I am happy to setup a teamviewer session with anyone who thinks they can help.
     
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2018
  14. brad2388

    brad2388 Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2016
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    18

    How many does the i7 have on it?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  15. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    30,820
    Likes Received:
    9,793
    i7 and i5 are completely meaningless terms...there are so many variations that it means nothing..there are many i5's that are more powerful then some i7. you need to specify the model...also camera numbers are meaningless, 24 cameras means nothing unless resolution and frame rates are specified.
     
  16. brad2388

    brad2388 Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2016
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    18
    Yep i know.

    Asking him how many is on his i7. Normally more details come when asking questions.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  17. eluraamat

    eluraamat Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2017
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    8
    I have talked with Ken at the support, and he told that fix or "work around" should be this year.
    So, for now, just have to use without quicksync.

    One more thing.
    Intel have Intel® Iris™ Pro Graphics 6200. It more powerful that regular gpus.
    Have anyone tried cpus witch have this gpu? How it compared with others? It have quicksync, so Blueiris should work with that.
     
  18. cahiatt

    cahiatt n3wb

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm on a 7th gen 7700k with the HD630 graphics on Win Server 2012r2 and can't find a driver combo that prevents the memory leak issue. Even turning off the hardware encoding in blue iris didn't help. Had to switch to the generic microsoft driver to keep the memory from maxing out after a few hours.
     
  19. eluraamat

    eluraamat Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2017
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    8
    24.20.100.6194, 7/11/2018 drivers seems to cure problem.

    Now my system up and running last 14h, before that cpu wet to 100% in minutes.
     
    anijet, Q™, smiticans and 2 others like this.
  20. brad2388

    brad2388 Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2016
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    18
    dang thatd be sweet! keep us posted