Anyone running 8th gen Intel without memory leak problems in Blue Iris?

Discussion in 'Blue Iris' started by bp2008, Jan 8, 2018.

Share This Page

  1. eluraamat

    eluraamat Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2017
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    8
    At this point I would not recommend 8gen cpu for blueiris.

    I got my system working with 24.20.100.6194 drivers, but "ghosting" is very annoying. If I turn hardware acceleration off, "ghosting" is gone.
    One more thing. My cpu (8600K) is overcloked to 5Ghz and if I try to watch 4k (8mp) recordings with 8x speed and quicker, gpu usage will go as high as 96-100% and cpu usage ca 40%. So, I overclocked gpu aswell (1250mhz) and I got gpu usage with 8speed playpack 85-90%, but still allmost edge.

    So, what' s the solution? I will try cuda coding, maybe that help. I have to buy card for this, thinking 1050ti or 1060.
     
  2. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    30,835
    Likes Received:
    9,807
    have you emailed support?
    as noted in the cuda thread, its inefficient and makes no sense..you are better off running with no HA and/or buying a second pc.
    also, try NOT overclocking the pc and see how HA works...Overclocking can cause all sorts of issues.
     
  3. eluraamat

    eluraamat Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2017
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    8
    Yes, first time when I noticed problem with 8gen, I talked with Ken and he told me, that work a around or driver sohuld be this year. Then 24.20.100.6194 driver came out and was pretty happy . . . just for a while.

    If I remember correctly, when HA disabled, 4k camera playback even at the 4x speed is "junky."
    At the moment 8x speed playback is fine, but I' m hitting gpu limitation, not cpu one.
    I have tried without overcklock, not enough for 4k camera 8x spleed playback.
    To be honest, at the moment system is fine, if just could rid of the "ghosting."

    8600K@5ghz is most one of powerful cpu what can be used for blueiris and HA.
    8700K using same gpu (Intel® UHD Graphics 630). I' m hitting limit of gpu, not cpu.
     
  4. aaronwt

    aaronwt Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    DC area(Northern VA)
    Seems odd that I don't have these issues from my lower 8th gen core i5 8400 with a base clock rate of only 2.8Ghz. Or is it also because I am using an NVMe drive and a couple of SSDs for most of my BI storage? 1.6TB of stroage from those and then a 2TB platter drive for long term storage.

    With my new setup everything is currently on the NVMe drive and SSDs since nothing is old enough or full enough to have been pushed to the platter drive yet.

    Ive never used a platter drive with BI before so I'm curious how well it will work. I have recordings from all my cameras set to Cascade between the drives. So they first go to the 250GB Mushkin NVMe drive and when it gets to a certain size or age they get pushed to a Samsung 1TB SSD. And then when that gets full or a certain age they get pushed to a 500GB Corsair SSD. And then finally after that gets full or a certain age, they get pushed to the 2TB platter drive. In my old setup this worked well with just SSDs. My 1TB Samsung SSD used over 82TB reading/writing BI clips during the last four or five years in my old BI machine. And it's still showing around 80% of its life left.

    Sent from my Nexus 7(16GB) using Tapatalk
     
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2018
  5. skywaytp

    skywaytp Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2018
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    US Armed Forces
    Hi aaronwt,
    Where can I check the processor's gpu usage? Many thanks.

    Sent from my SM-N960U1 using Tapatalk
     
  6. eluraamat

    eluraamat Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2017
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    8
    Task manager, if you are using not very old windows10, or gpuz. Both on them showing about the same.

    But I do have to correct myselt. I hitting both, cpu and gpu usage with 4k camera playback allmost 100%.
    Blueiris web interface showing less cpu consuption.

    4k camera@20fps and wihtout overcloking gpu, can' t playback smooth 8x speed. When it have overcloked to 1250MHz, it can, bearly.
    My system running around 700-750MP/s at the moment, so not very much, but 4k camera playback is very demanding.

    I bought 1060 3gb nvidia and put it desktop i7 4930k witch is running 4.6Ghz at the moment. All coding mover to cuda and with 4k playpack, it hit 95-100% gpu usage (idle about the same as intel, around 30%), and can do as good intel gpu, BUT cpu usage 50% less. So, plenty of room there. BUT power consuption allmost triple at the idle and full playback twice.

    I will test it more ...
     
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2018
  7. aaronwt

    aaronwt Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    DC area(Northern VA)
    I use the Intel Extreme Tuning Utility to see all that info from their CPUs.

    Sent from my Nexus 7(16GB) using Tapatalk
     
  8. eluraamat

    eluraamat Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2017
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    8
    So, with cuda coding I don't have artifacts, witch is good.
    Also, all camera playback and live's will open quicker.
    Stock clock 1060 (3gb) can be good as stock clock gpu at 8600K@5Ghz.

    One downside with cuda coding. Playback will stop in the middle payback. Sometime it does, sometime it don' t.

    Sadly cuda coding will not lower much cpu usage with 8600K. My 4930K and 8600K have about same cpumark, but cpu usage with 4930K same situation about half what 8600K have. Also, 4930K have much higher power consumption.
    At the moment I moved 4k cameras to cuda and other to intel. System better that before and 4k playback at 8x speed is perfect.

    I think some 8gen or new 9gen low powered cpu + cuda will perfom better that a bit higer cpu, witch also pays more.
    I got my 1060 3g for 135€, used but still under warranty. So, I think cuda + low tpd cpu (with intel quicksync) is pretty good an usable combination and power consumption this case will be pretty good also.
     
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2018
  9. bhowell

    bhowell n3wb

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2
    I'm another user experiencing Blue Iris overloading the PC unexpectedly (100% CPU). I've installed a new video driver for the Intel 630 Graphics (24.20.100.6194), turned off hardware acceleration, set all recording as direct to disk, and limited frame rates to 15 FPS in both Blue Iris and Camera settings, as well as separated the continuous recorded streams and alerts/OS to different drives. Extremely frustrated that with strong hardware this software is making the system fail.

    PC:
    Dell
    i5-8500
    8GB 2667
    1TB 7200 3.5 w/ OS and Alerts
    2TB 7200 2.5 for Stream Recording

    Cameras: 8 Dahua H.264 Streams (2 Fisheye, 2 Turrets, 2 Dual Lense Cameras)
     
  10. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    30,835
    Likes Received:
    9,807
    What resolution? Frame rates...the number of cameras is irrelevant...it's the total res and fps. Also spend the 60 bux on an SSD...it's worth it.
     
  11. bhowell

    bhowell n3wb

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2
    2MP for 6 streams (Bitrate ~4000) and 5MP for the 2 Fisheye Streams (Bitrate ~8000). CPU is at 40% before it trends up. Before disabling hardware acceleration CPU was 25% and GPU like 30%. All cameras 15FPS in BI and Camera. Either way my system leaks until unusable.
     
  12. eluraamat

    eluraamat Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2017
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    8
    One more thing about 8gen and ghosting.

    Replay with intel HA, i will get ghosting all the time.
    Replay without intel HA, same clip, no ghosting.
    Replay with cuda, no ghosting.

    It is driver problem.
     
  13. smiticans

    smiticans Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    136
    I upgraded my system yesterday from a Core i7 4790K to a Core i7 8700.

    Specs:

    Core i7 8700

    Asus Prime H370M Plus motherboard

    16GB of Crucial DDR4 2400 Ballistix RAM

    All other parts remained the same from my old system (Samsung 850 pro 128GB SSD, 2x 4TB Western digital purple, 1x 2TB western digital purple etc.). A clean installation of Windows 10 Pro was performed.

    I have 12 IP cameras (4x 2MP Dahua Starlight, 1x 2MP Dahua Starlight PTZ, 3x Hikvision 3MP ultra low light, 1x Dahua 4MP, 2x Hikvision 2MP, 1x Dahua 1.3MP) with various FPS settings for a total of 583 MP/s

    My old system averaged between 30%-35% CPU usage with Intel HA enabled. New system I'm averaging between 10%-15% percent with Intel HA enabled. Live preview was limited to 15FPS on both systems.

    The new system has been up for approximately 15 hours and the CPU usage is holding steady. I've watched recorded clips both from BI and after exporting them. I have not observed any ghosting.

    I'm using Intel video driver 24.20.100.6194

    Only issue I'm experiencing is if I turn off the monitor on the BI computer, I get an error message stating that the video signal is out of range when I turn it back on. The only way to fix this is to reboot the computer. This has nothing to do with BI and I plan on troubleshooting it with different cables and monitors.

    Current Monitor is a Dell U2412M with a resolution of 1920 x 1200 at 60hz
     
    fenderman likes this.
  14. eluraamat

    eluraamat Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2017
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    8
    Intel have launched two drivers in oct. 25.20.100.6323 and 25.20.100.6326.

    I haven' t tested the last one, but 25.20.100.6323 seems to work, but still I' m getting ghosting.
    Disabled all overcloking and all bios to default. Nothing.
    Asus z370-f and 8600K.

    One more thing about last testing 8600k vs 4930k with cuda.

    Console closed, BU running and 4930K@4.6Ghz have cpu usage around 15% and gpu (1060) 25-40%.
    Console closed, BU running and 8600K@5Ghz have cpu usage around 25% and gpu 25-30%.

    Chrome 4K camera live at 4k 4930K cpu usage rises to 28-30% and 8600K rises to 48-50%. No difference gpu usage from normal.
    That' s big enough difference.
    4K camera playback with chrome @8x speed. 4930K 25-34fps and cpu usage 40-44% (gpu 87-99%) and 8600K 18-27fps and cpu usage 90-93% (gpu 90-93%).

    Yes, I managed to get 4930K power usage more down, but still around 40-50w more than 8600K, but I have more headroom with cpu usage and always may add another gpu or change it more powerful.
     
  15. eluraamat

    eluraamat Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2017
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    8
    My system is up and running with these drivers 3 days for now.

    Still have ghosting and seriously thinking to move cuda.
     
  16. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    30,835
    Likes Received:
    9,807
    is smart codec and/or h.264+ disabled on your cameras? cuda has proven to be an inefficient powerhog.
     
  17. eluraamat

    eluraamat Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2017
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    8
    25.20.100.6323 and HA works for me, but still I' m getting ghosting.

    Cuda will add 20-30W, for some it to much, but for me it' s a option for getting working system without ghosting.
     
  18. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    30,835
    Likes Received:
    9,807
    you are better off simply using no HA...makes no sense to spend 200+ on a card, then 30-60 dollars a year on power...
     
    aaronwt and bp2008 like this.
  19. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    30,835
    Likes Received:
    9,807
    again have you disabled smart codecs on your cameras, including any h.264+
     
    bp2008 likes this.
  20. eluraamat

    eluraamat Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2017
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    8
    Without HA 8mp camera playpack even at 4x speed is unusable, 8x speed is terrible. I need that.
    What would I ever buy 8gen cpu if I ain' t going to use HA?

    Yes, disabled and using regular h264.
    If I disable HA, ghosting is gone.