Anyone running 8th gen Intel without memory leak problems in Blue Iris?

Discussion in 'Blue Iris' started by bp2008, Jan 8, 2018.

Share This Page

  1. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    30,818
    Likes Received:
    9,792
    have you emailed support?
     
  2. eluraamat

    eluraamat Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2017
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    8
    Yes, couple month ago and Ken told me that driver or work around should be this year.
    Until then I will keep try every new driver and hope the best. So far now luck.

    I know cuda will work and probably will move to it because I need working system, 50€ extra cost for year I can accept.
     
  3. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    30,818
    Likes Received:
    9,792
    how much of a load do you have that you need HA?
    it would be better an cheaper to either get a lower gen system or an i9, than to pay for a card and the power use...
     
  4. eluraamat

    eluraamat Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2017
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    8
    Not much (ca. 800mp/s), but you will need HA if you want watch 8mp camera playback @8x speed.
    Even 8600K can' t do without overlocking cpu/gpu with HA, not mention without HA.
     
  5. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    30,818
    Likes Received:
    9,792
    Sure you can.
     
  6. eluraamat

    eluraamat Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2017
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    8
    Remotely, with chrome @4k and 8x speed? I would really like to see it (console closed, bu running about 800mp/s).
     
  7. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    30,818
    Likes Received:
    9,792
    im talking about the console, remote viewing has other factors that affect playback.
     
  8. eluraamat

    eluraamat Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2017
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    8
    Agree, but with cuda it can be done. Tested.
    Cuda will use more power, but will not have ghosting. I waited and waited for solution 8gen and HA, and there is, cuda ;)
     
  9. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    30,818
    Likes Received:
    9,792
    Lost of folks using 8th gen with no problem after using the correct drivers...but if cuda makes you feel better knock yourself out...for that kind of money you could have purchased an enterprise vms.
     
  10. eluraamat

    eluraamat Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2017
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    8
    At the moment miners selling theyr gpu pretty cheap. For exmaple, 1060 3gb and 5gen xeon can be better value thatn 8gen i5/i7, as for latest prices of them going grazy high.

    I' m not telling cuda is the best, at the moment I' m running 8gen i5 myself, but I havent' t found driver witch works 100%. Eeven BU support knows it.
     
  11. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    30,818
    Likes Received:
    9,792
    you are better of with a cheaper 6th gen i7
     
  12. eluraamat

    eluraamat Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2017
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    8
    I have tried same setup 6gen i5 (6600K@4700MHz) and it' s not working for me, mainly because I' m and other users will use chrome, not console. Same setup (ca. 800mp/s), crome @4K, just for live view one 4K camera and CPU hit' s 100%, not mention playpack.

    Because others users using also chrome (witch seems one the the best for that @4K), not console I will need high end cpu or cuda.
     
  13. bhowell

    bhowell n3wb

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2
    Solved my memory issue by upgrading factory Dell 7200RPM Hard Drive to WD Purple. The drive was maxing out at 100%, then the memory would fill, then the CPU. Swapping drives fixed this. Currently running Hardware acceleration with driver 24.20.100.6194.
     
  14. skywaytp

    skywaytp Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2018
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    US Armed Forces
    Hi bhowell,

    I thought the recording on Blue Iris was continuous with oldest clips/files are overwritten in loop? None of us should be swapping drives or deleting files manually in order to make space for new clips recorded.
    I'm demanding a refund from Blue Iris (j/k) :wow:

    I don't know why your Dell 7200RPM was the issue since BI should work with all types of HDs (regular, NAS, surveillance...), but I'm glad you have the memory issue solved.
     
  15. bp2008

    bp2008 Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    8,745
    Likes Received:
    5,804
    An old failing drive might not be able to keep up with the demands of recording multiple streams, especially if it is continuously full and having to move or delete old files to make room for new ones. Or if it is having to work with particularly fragmented sections of the drive.
     
  16. bhowell

    bhowell n3wb

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2
    I agree that a normal drive should work. I was highlighting that the HDD is a potential cause of symptoms which look very similar to a memory leak.

    Yeah, not sure what the condition of the drive was in the Refurb PC but now my system has been running perfectly for 72 hours.
     
    fenderman likes this.
  17. eluraamat

    eluraamat Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2017
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    8
    25.20.100.6326 also works for me, but still ghosting.

    Still kind of strage, that some of you don' t get ghosting. Ok, not K series cpu and obvious other motherboard, but still . . .
     
  18. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    30,818
    Likes Received:
    9,792
    have you tried increasing the receive buffer.
     
  19. Armysurplus

    Armysurplus Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2018
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    The Coast of Central CA
    I've been reading a lot about turning off windows update as a workaround for the driver issues across the 3rd party app world. There is an alternative. It's not perfect, yet I think better than turning off updates. Once You have identified a known working driver for whatever program/app You are having issues with save that driver in the programs files. Then drop a script telling the program/app to load that driver whenever it is opened. It sounds complicated, but isn't. the script can be generic and just copied along with the driver to any program/APP exe folder. I'm following a development team for Software Defined Radio, and we are taking open source RF tools and loading them into a console of your choosing. SDR Console is what I picked for the console, then I have been building My self a pc based Audio, video, RF toolbox/workstation. Want a new tool just add the app to the console and plug in whatever probes/interfaces needed. spectrum/network analyzers and generators. At this stage of devolvement My bandwidth is .5hz to 6ghz Receive/generate (there are a few frequencies I'm not supposed to propagate) LOL. I have been having better than expected results with this approach to drivers. I use Zadag for installing a driver over what windows decides is needed, then drop a scrip in along with it. Bamm Your rockin… Mike/EZ
     
    Dazcomputers likes this.
  20. skywaytp

    skywaytp Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2018
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    US Armed Forces
    I have recently upgraded my system from a Core i5 8600K to a Core i7 8700K and added a new 2TB Toshiba HD which I removed from an old LaView NVR.

    SPECS:

    • Core i7 8700K (newegg)
    • ASRock H370M Pro4 LGA 1151 micro motherboard (newegg)
    • 16GB of GSKILL DDR4 2666 RAM (newegg)
    • Kingston Digital SA1000M8/240G A1000 240GB PCIe NVMe M.2 2280 ( amazon)
    • 1 x 2TB Western digital purple, 1 x 2TB Toshiba (all old drives)
    • A clean installation of Windows 10 Pro (SCDKey)
    • I'm using Intel video driver 24.20.100.6194
    • all old case, power supply, fans, liquid cooler...etc

    I have 12 IP cameras (8x 4MP LaView bullets, 3 x 4MP LaView domes, and 1x 2MP Dahua Starlight, with all 15 FPS settings.
    These cameras I collected from NewEgg Flash when they were on sale. The Dahua Starlight IPC-HDW5231R-ZE, I ordered from Andy here (Empire Technology Co).

    My old system averaged between 65%-80% CPU usage with Intel HA enabled. New system I'm averaging between 15%-20% percent with Intel HA enabled. The new system has been up for approximately 5 weeks and the CPU usage is holding steady. I have not observed any ghosting. View from BI app is smooth.

    Current Monitor is a refurbished HP 24 in from Ebay with a resolution of 1920 x 1200 at 60hz to adjust settings via DVI. I also have another 32 Samsung TV connected to the BI computer via HDMI for monitoring in the kitchen. System is up and running without any issues for now. All LaView cameras are functioning great.

    I also have a Reolink RLC-410-5MP that I purchased for about $40 which I’m testing just for fun with BI system. Surprisingly, this Reolink has been running steady and well compared to my existing 12 cameras (LaView and Dahua). Reolink website under support shows how to set up with BI, but I did not have to set up anything. BI automatically picked up this camera and integrated it into the system.

    VPN is set up with my Asus ASUS RT-AC68U and BI app is connected via OpenVPN


    NOTE: I don’t know how to use or set up the audio feature on IPC-HDW5231R-ZE. Can anyone help?