Blue Iris 4 to 5 Migration Guide

Discussion in 'Blue Iris' started by bp2008, May 31, 2019.

Share This Page

  1. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    31,029
    Likes Received:
    9,978
    I can confirm this as well.
     
  2. giomania

    giomania IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2017
    Messages:
    732
    Likes Received:
    470
    I am stuck at step “0”


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
     
    bp2008 likes this.
  3. bp2008

    bp2008 Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    8,919
    Likes Received:
    6,057
    LOL. I should just leave that there too. Encourages caution ;)
     
    giomania likes this.
  4. nbstl68

    nbstl68 Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Messages:
    1,150
    Likes Received:
    191
    Was pointed here from the other thread...Is "Step 0" still the recommendation at this time?
     
  5. Old Timer

    Old Timer n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2018
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    oklahoma
    I have just left ver 4 on my windows 10 machine. figured it would not hurt anything, just deleted the shortcut and menu to it.
     
    aaronwt, bp2008, Ssayer and 1 other person like this.
  6. Priority

    Priority n3wb

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Central Texas
    Same here. Have not experienced any issues with 4 still occupying space on my boot drive for about 1 month so far.
     
    bp2008 likes this.
  7. Ssayer

    Ssayer Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    163
    Location:
    SE Michigan USA
    Same here. Doesn't hurt a thing to just leave it there...
     
  8. bp2008

    bp2008 Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    8,919
    Likes Received:
    6,057
    I've started upgrading more machines. I think it is stable enough. Although you should know there are still some issues like losing your settings after uninstalling BI4, and losing your configuration of profiles 2-7 during the upgrade due to changes in how those things are stored in the registry.
     
    handinpalm, nbstl68 and fenderman like this.
  9. aaronwt

    aaronwt Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    DC area(Northern VA)
    I still have version 3 on both of my machines. I guess when I decide to update to BI5, I will also leave version 4 on.

    Sent from my Nexus 7(16GB)
     
    giomania and Priority like this.
  10. nbstl68

    nbstl68 Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Messages:
    1,150
    Likes Received:
    191
    Thanks, I am going to treat it like everything was new. I am going to do some long overdue firmware upgrades on all my cameras as well, so I'm fine with losing profiles, etc.
    My protected video clips are on a separate drive. I have no idea if or how they would associate back to BI5. So I may just drag whatever clips I want to keep to an independent folder too.

    I had read, maybe in this or the other thread there was some issue with UI# installing correctly and requiring manual mods to get working in some cases. Is that still an issue.
     
  11. Tinman

    Tinman Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2015
    Messages:
    616
    Likes Received:
    451
    No
     
  12. bohemian

    bohemian n3wb

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    2
    Well, after performing what appeared to be a successful upgrade, things just went South from there.

    The first sign was an inability for UI3 to load a list of the cameras (a useful "fail" message with a suggestion to reload). While attempting to troubleshoot that through multiple reboots, somewhere along the line the v5 database no longer showed no clips for any of my cameras. So, no web access, no clips anymore.

    As suggested by many, I had not deleted any of the config or keys for v4, so I re-installed v4 but it failed to load correctly when run, erroring out. Since this is a dedicated Blue Iris server, I eventually just reverted back to a Windows 10 restore point to a working v4 install and everything is fine again. Perhaps setting a restore point should be strong suggestion for any Windows users performing this upgrade.

    So I will not be in a hurry to upgrade to v5 until there is a really compelling reason to do so or I start seeing more success from other users.

    Not a positive upgrade experience at all.
     
    nbstl68 and giomania like this.
  13. XrayDoc88

    XrayDoc88 n3wb

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2017
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    United States
    I read page one of this thread. I do have Blue Iris 4 installed, but I haven't used it yet or set up any cameras. I don't care about losing any settings or registry entries for Blue Iris 4. I just purchased the extended support option so I could upgrade to Blue Iris 5. Do I still need to follow the page 1 directions in order to get to version 5? Or can I just uninstall version 4, download version 5 and then somehow activate it with my original version 4 key plus my extended support key? In other words, can I do a clean new install of version 5 without using version 4? Thanks.
     
  14. IAmATeaf

    IAmATeaf Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2019
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    318
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    If you have the required license keys and have deactivated v4 then I would be inclined to blow the OS away and reinstall W10 then do a clean install of BI5.

    This is what i did after reading the issues that others reported with upgrading.

    If there are settings that you think you might need then perform the steps to create backups both from within BI and then from within Regedit to e port the BI registry branch. Even though there was nothing I wanted I still did a both types of backups just in case I had overlooked or forgotten something.
     
  15. XrayDoc88

    XrayDoc88 n3wb

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2017
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    United States
    I built the computer solely to use for BI. It doesn't really have anything installed other than all the drivers, Acronis True Image and BI4. I'd rather not wipe the OS. If I just uninstall BI4, I'm not certain that the extended support key would activate BI5. Or would my BI4 key activate BI5? I don't really see how my extended support key is linked in anyway to my original BI4 purchase.
     
  16. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    31,029
    Likes Received:
    9,978
    You will need your old blue Iris 4 key to activate bi5, what you purchased is an upgrade of your old key to allow it to activate the new software
     
  17. XrayDoc88

    XrayDoc88 n3wb

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2017
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    United States
    I have my old Blue Iris key. Do I need to start with BI4 installed or can I just download BI5 and enter my BI4 key?
     
  18. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    31,029
    Likes Received:
    9,978
    just install bi5. they key will work
     
  19. pburgh

    pburgh Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2016
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    2
    If I'm reinstalling my OS and want to take my BI version from 4 to 5 -- not really an upgrade as I don't need to transfer any of my configuration -- how do I get a valid key for the 5 install? Is that what comes out of the extended support ($29) process?

    Thanks
     
  20. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    31,029
    Likes Received:
    9,978
    You will have to contact support and provide your old key so they can upgrade it to a version 4 key. The 29 option is for a recurring yearly plan. The 35 is the one time payment.
     
    pburgh likes this.