IP Cam Talk

Welcome to the new IPCT! If you are having an issue logging in, please clear your cookies / cache.

Blue Iris Tools - Weather Overlay, Watchdog & more!

Blue Iris Tools - Weather Overlay, Watchdog & more! 1.5.0

Mike

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
2,595
Reaction score
1,828
Location
New York
I will be releasing an update to Blue Iris Tools soon and address some bug fixes as well as some new features such as 'detect freeze screen' and Pushover integration for instant push alerts to your cell phone. Stay tuned :D
 

Sabot

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Dec 3, 2014
Messages
100
Reaction score
6
Location
Austin, TX
Mr. Mike,

You get my first post on the forum. I am new to both CCTV and Blue Ivis. Installing my system today. I have tested my cameras and Blue Ivis in the lab. I can't wait to use your add-ins. Thank you for them and the website! Have a wonderful day.

Regards,
Michael
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2014
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Just wanted to pass on my thanks for an awesome add on the blue iris!!

I'd also like to vote for metric option for precipitation and a text field for just wind direction (maybe just shorthand like N and NW).

Precipitation conversion is easy, just inches to millimetres.

1 inch = 25.4mm (millimetres)

Thanks again!

Regards,
Matt
 

sdkid

n3wb
Joined
Dec 6, 2014
Messages
7
Reaction score
2
Wow---- Excellent add-on. I have been using wunderground for a long time, and I have had my own weather data station for about a year (also connected to wunderground). My blueiris cam system is going to have to get an upgrade here soon, and this will be a part of it! Way Cool!!
 

Mike

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
2,595
Reaction score
1,828
Location
New York
Updated to v1.0.2 on December 13, 2014

I released an update to Blue Iris Tools today that addresses various bug fixes as well as a bunch of new features. Several members have requested the addition of Metric values, so it has been added. If you select both Celsius and km/h, metric values will be displayed for precipitation and pressure. I also added Pushover as a Watchdog alert which will enable you to have a push notification sent to your mobile device when the Watchdog is triggered. See the changelog below to see more details and please report any issues here.

What's New
-Detect if BI freezes, not just crashes
-Pushover integration added
-Metric values for pressure and precipitation added
-Option to close BI then open it in CPU Watchdog
-$globalip replacement variable added
-Millimeter and Millibar language definitions added
-Various bug fixes


How To Download / Install:
In Blue Iris Tools, click the 'Options' tab, then the 'Check For Update' button. From there you can download and install the update. You may also download the update from the first post in this thread but within BIT is desired.


** Update 12/17/14 **
Updated to v1.0.3 on December 17, 2014

Minor bug fix when closing BIT.

What's New
-Minor bug fix from 1.0.2
 

dammad

n3wb
Joined
Dec 17, 2014
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
I installed Blue Iris Tools on my BI setup (6 foscams recording Direct-To-Disk on a i5 processor machine). I only setup the Watchdog function on BI (no overlays, etc.), but the CPU load on the machine went up from 40% to 80-90%.. I've rebooted and restarted BI to make sure it is fresh and not suffering from other issues, but I get the same.. Why is BI Tools increasing the load when its not doing anything much?
 

Mike

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
2,595
Reaction score
1,828
Location
New York
Updated to v1.0.3 on December 17, 2014

Minor release tonight to 1.0.3. I found a small bug in 1.0.2 when closing BIT which has been resolved. Current release is 1.0.3
 

Mike

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
2,595
Reaction score
1,828
Location
New York
@dammad, not sure why that is, should have no issues at all on an i5. What version of windows?
 
Last edited:

Sabot

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Dec 3, 2014
Messages
100
Reaction score
6
Location
Austin, TX
I had the same issue that my CPU went from around 38% to 99%. I uninstalled BIT and BI, powered cycled the server and started over. I also changed my four channels to direct to disc to see how that worked. I installed BIT but only enabled the program options. My CPU is running about 35% now.

System Spec:
Lenovo ThinkServer TS140 70A4001LUX

Xeon E3-1225 v3
8GB ECC Memory
Windows 8.1 Pro
All drivers are up to date

Cameras:
2 each: Hikvision DS-2CD2032-I
2 each: Dahua IPC-HFW4300S

I set all camera's similar to below:

 

acvb

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Mar 30, 2014
Messages
155
Reaction score
24
Just for fun.... would you change the I-frame-interval from 20 to 15 and drop the max bitrate from 4096 to 2048. And audio/video from highest to high setting. See if that helps too.
 

dammad

n3wb
Joined
Dec 17, 2014
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
@dammad, not sure why that is, should have no issues at all on an i5. What version of windows?
I'm on Win7 Ultimate.. I'll try a few other combinations to see if I can track it down.. I guess it is possible BI is doing something (rebuilding the DB) in the background and it just caught at the same time as the BI Tools install.
 

webrat11

n3wb
Joined
Dec 17, 2014
Messages
9
Reaction score
1
Hi, I have been having an issue the last few days re FTP uploads of Images to WU - see here in the BI Troubleshooting section. I have reverted to BI Tools 1.01 and all is well again. Bug maybe?
Regards,
Ian
 

Mike

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
2,595
Reaction score
1,828
Location
New York
Hi, I have been having an issue the last few days re FTP uploads of Images to WU - see here in the BI Troubleshooting section. I have reverted to BI Tools 1.01 and all is well again. Bug maybe?
Regards,
Ian
What are you using BIT for? As of right now BIT only supports text overlay weather, not images.
 

webrat11

n3wb
Joined
Dec 17, 2014
Messages
9
Reaction score
1
What are you using BIT for? As of right now BIT only supports text overlay weather, not images.
Just using BIT to overlay - if i use the old version all is OK, BI can FTP, if I use the latest version for some reason FTP stops...weird.
 

Mike

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
2,595
Reaction score
1,828
Location
New York
Just using BIT to overlay - if i use the old version all is OK, BI can FTP, if I use the latest version for some reason FTP stops...weird.
That's very weird, BIT shouldn't interfere with that at all. Were you using the webserver Watchdog on the new version when you tried? If so, what port is your BI server running on? Thanks.
 

webrat11

n3wb
Joined
Dec 17, 2014
Messages
9
Reaction score
1
That's very weird, BIT shouldn't interfere with that at all. Were you using the webserver Watchdog on the new version when you tried? If so, what port is your BI server running on? Thanks.
Hi Mike. Yes I was/am using Watchdog on 8181. When I have a little more time next week I will re-install the latest BIT version and see if a different port makes a difference.
Regards, Ian
 

Mike

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
2,595
Reaction score
1,828
Location
New York
Hi Mike. Yes I was/am using Watchdog on 8181. When I have a little more time next week I will re-install the latest BIT version and see if a different port makes a difference.
Regards, Ian
Try disabling the webserver watchdog and see if that changes anything.
 

Mike

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
2,595
Reaction score
1,828
Location
New York
Updated to v1.0.4 on December 24, 2014

Today I patched BIT to support Blue Iris 4, including the 64 bit version. This patch will allow BIT Watchdog (Program Monitor) to function properly. I will release a full BI 4 update to BIT after the holidays, for now this will ensure BIT works with Blue Iris 4.

What's New
-Patch to work properly with Blue Iris 4 (x64 bit version too).

* IMPORTANT! *
Make sure to change the directory in BIT to the new Blue Iris 4 directory! The detect BI button will not work, I will fix it after the holidays :)

Please use the built in update tool in BIT to update.
 
Top