Blue Iris Tools - Weather Overlay, Watchdog & more!

Blue Iris Tools - Weather Overlay, Watchdog & more! 1.6.0

TonyR

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Jul 15, 2014
Messages
16,703
Reaction score
38,879
Location
Alabama
Well, BIT was able to start pulling WU data again today (for me) at 4 PM. Hopefully it was just a temporary WU glitch, but I agree with @sebastiantombs that WU has really been dead for a while. For now, I'll continue to feed them my WX data, but when that stops, they're dead to me too, and I'll stop sending them data.
Same here; sometime after 1500 and before 1845 CT it started working for me. :idk:
 

sebastiantombs

Known around here
Joined
Dec 28, 2019
Messages
11,511
Reaction score
27,692
Location
New Jersey
They're playing everybody like fish on a hook. They really don't care if you can see your own data as long as they keep getting it.
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2020
Messages
3
Reaction score
1
Location
Edmonton, Alberta Canada
WU was not updating for about 1 day here (09/21/2022 through 09/22/2022) during which time my WU page was reported as offline, but my station was reported as online. BI Tools could not pull the data off WU during that time. I updated my API key and then waited until they came back.

Shaun M.
 

Smilingreen

Known around here
Joined
Sep 17, 2021
Messages
3,603
Reaction score
14,390
Location
Tennessee USA
Well, I'll throw a wrench in the gear works, fer sure. I have my Davis Vantage Pro II connected up to a Raspberry Pi, running Cumulus MX, on my main network. My cameras are running on an isolated network on a Win 7 machine on BI. Anyone familiar with this setup and can offer some thoughts on how to FTP the weather data from the PI to the cameras on BI?
 

Smilingreen

Known around here
Joined
Sep 17, 2021
Messages
3,603
Reaction score
14,390
Location
Tennessee USA
Can that data from the Pi be FTP'd (or saved) as a pure TEXT file?
It can, but my PI is on a different network. I thought about sending the text files from the PI to my NAS, and let BI go retrieve them from the NAS folder. Then I got to thinking that the PI may not be able to access the NAS. I am running Cumulusmx on a headless PI, and my Unix and Linux skills have diminished over the years. I can access it via Putty from my win 7 machine, so I know it can at least see it in one direction. If I try to call up the Cumulus Web page via browser, it cant seem to locate it.
 

Ssayer

BIT Beta Team
Joined
Jan 5, 2016
Messages
19,606
Reaction score
70,916
Location
SE Michigan USA
Am I just not getting what you're saying (I'm probably missing what you're saying)? Because I SEEM to have the same set up as you. Here's what I have going:

Main network=Everything that gets to go to the outside world
Private network=All my cams

My BI box is on both networks

If this is what you have, and I'm presuming it is... can't you just share a folder on your BI box and send the text files straight to that folder from your PI?
 

BlokehMan

Young grasshopper
Joined
Sep 13, 2018
Messages
38
Reaction score
9
Location
Philippines
So where's the download link? I've read the post maybe 10 times it kept saying download link is at the top of the page, there's nothing at the top of the page.
 

tfreitas

n3wb
Joined
Jul 29, 2020
Messages
3
Reaction score
4
Location
California
Can BIT be ran as a service and not on the desktop in interactive mode? We never login to the console if we do not have to as BI runs as a service. Thanks in advance!
 

piconut

BIT Beta Team
Joined
Feb 17, 2015
Messages
176
Reaction score
63
Location
Austin, TX
Can BIT be ran as a service and not on the desktop in interactive mode? We never login to the console if we do not have to as BI runs as a service. Thanks in advance!
BIT cannot be run natively as a service. However, you can just select the option to Start when Windows Boots under Program Options. That is how I have it set and I imagine most folks here use it. I don't run the BI console and instead run BI as a service too, and BIT loads fine when the computer boots up. A lot of us here run headless systems.

Just don't select the BIT option to Check for Updates as that feature no longer works and will cause you problems.
 

DLONG2

Known around here
Joined
May 17, 2017
Messages
763
Reaction score
455
Wondering if there's a way to get a latitude/longitude overlay? There's some real time GPS location sharing mobile apps which have POST methods to any base URL and end point and at any interval. Someone in the LPR forum was asking how to store location data when collecting parked plates from a moving vehicle. One such app I saw in the Google Play is "Realtime Location API". Here is a link: Realtime Location API - Apps on Google Play

Any pointers appreciated.
 

Mike

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
2,981
Reaction score
2,725
Location
New York
Wondering if there's a way to get a latitude/longitude overlay? There's some real time GPS location sharing mobile apps which have POST methods to any base URL and end point and at any interval. Someone in the LPR forum was asking how to store location data when collecting parked plates from a moving vehicle. One such app I saw in the Google Play is "Realtime Location API". Here is a link: Realtime Location API - Apps on Google Play

Any pointers appreciated.
Not natively, but with a little programming you can certainly make it possible using BIT's Add-on's feature - Blue Iris Tools Add-ons If you do this, please share w/ the community.
 
Top