Blue Iris Video Tutorials

Discussion in 'Blue Iris' started by Dasstrum, Sep 30, 2017.

Share This Page

  1. Cameraguy

    Cameraguy Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2017
    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    338
    If you dont want to port forward. Check out openvpn setup
     
  2. looney2ns

    looney2ns IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    6,438
    Likes Received:
    4,553
    Location:
    Evansville, Indiana
  3. Dasstrum

    Dasstrum IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2016
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    602
    looney2ns likes this.
  4. TL1096r

    TL1096r Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2017
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    17
    Too much conflict. What is best? And Is openvpn necessary?
     
  5. Dasstrum

    Dasstrum IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2016
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    602
    Best (safest) : VPN like openvpn

    This is probably harder to setup as it needs to be configured on all your devices like your smartphones/tablets. Also, most ISP provided routers from ATT, Specrum ect do not support vpn and you would need to purchase a different router or update the router firmware manually. There are other ways to setup a vpn but not going to get into that.

    Easier but not as safe: port forwarding

    You just need to configure port forwarding on your home router and your done. No additional setup required on your phones/tablets.

    And no, I am not going to do a video at this time on how to setup a vpn or port forward. If you really need help I do offer remote support and can do it for you:

    Blue Iris Support
     
  6. Dasstrum

    Dasstrum IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2016
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    602
    New Video: Zone Crossing Part 2:

     
    TonyR, Wen, spencnor and 1 other person like this.
  7. aesterling

    aesterling Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2017
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    11
    Would anyone be able to demo the new iOS mobile app feature "Rich push notifications in GIF format" for BI that was released in v1.62.06 a few weeks ago? I don't have BI yet and would love to see how well this works.
    A big thank-you in advance!

    By the way, @Dasstrum great, super helpful videos!
     
  8. Dasstrum

    Dasstrum IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2016
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    602
    Perhaps start a new thread for that :D
     
  9. aesterling

    aesterling Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2017
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    11
    Will do! Sorry for hijacking! Thanks!
     
    Dasstrum likes this.
  10. Dasstrum

    Dasstrum IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2016
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    602
    I would but I would have to hijack my wife's iphone... I use android hah
     
    aesterling likes this.
  11. Dasstrum

    Dasstrum IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2016
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    602
    Wait, just looked at patch notes and it is for android... hmmm might need to do a video on this then!
     
    Cameraguy likes this.
  12. aesterling

    aesterling Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2017
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    11
    That'd be awesome! I'm curious if the GIF can give you an idea of what triggered the alert without having to launch into the app.
     
    Cameraguy likes this.
  13. Cameraguy

    Cameraguy Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2017
    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    338
    that would be awesome
     
  14. Dasstrum

    Dasstrum IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2016
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    602
    Hey guys! After MUCH request I have decided to make a video on setting up Blue Iris with Stunnel / OpenVPN / Port Forwarding

    Please note that up till a few weeks ago I was not very familiar with OpenVPN and as of today I am not familiar with Stunnel. I have spent a great deal of time educating myself on each of the options and I will do my best to describe the advantages/disadvantages to each setup.
     
    bob2701, giomania, looney2ns and 3 others like this.
  15. RicRat2009

    RicRat2009 Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2018
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    Tejas
    Trying to figure this out, when I click "Test", PTZ camera does not move and a box pops up stating "received xxxxxx bytes".
    When I paste the command in Chrome the UI login comes up, if I login then the camera moves.

    Command entered in Chrome: 192.168.1.7:81/admin?camera=PTZ&preset=11&user=xxxx&pw=xxxx

    Command in Chrome.jpg

    After login this appears and the camera moves.
    After Login UI.jpg
     
  16. Dasstrum

    Dasstrum IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2016
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    602
    Make sure the account your using is an administrator account
     
  17. RicRat2009

    RicRat2009 Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2018
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    Tejas
    I have two users, local_console and Admin, both administrator accounts. Does this create a conflict?
     
  18. Dasstrum

    Dasstrum IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2016
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    602
    Are you using the correct camera "shortname"? In the screenshot it says DahuaPTZ and in the command you only put PTZ
     
  19. RicRat2009

    RicRat2009 Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2018
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    Tejas
    Shortname is PTZ
    As you can see in attachment, shortname is PTZ.
    PTZ.jpg
     
  20. RicRat2009

    RicRat2009 Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2018
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    Tejas
    So this is what I've done.

    Cloned a camera and set up a custom motion detection zone so if motion is detected the PTZ will move and zoom to that zone. Set the PTZ preset for the zone.
    I then followed your video to set up the command to control the PTZ.
    Now stuck because the PTZ does not respond. If I paste the command in Chrome, the UI login comes up. If I login, then the PTZ responds and moves to the preset position. So I'm pretty sure the command is OK or it wouldn't respond after login.