Brands brands brands?

Keri in FL

n3wb
Reaction score
I have read a lot of the forums here and folks really know their stuff. I put my actual questions 1st. I over analyze this stuff.

Actual questions:
What are the main differences between Hikvision, Duhua, and IC Realtime besides where they are made?

Am I better going with one over the other? Or is it simply a preference?

I noticed the apps for viewing these cameras have very bad reviews and that Blue Iris is utilized a lot here. I do enjoy the alerts when someone is at my front door, and remember the IVMS software was pretty poor at motion detection for review in the morning (I recorded 24/7). I see Lorex and other “cheap” brands claiming they have detection but am assuming it is still poor unless you have a great NVR or computer? Albeit, my spouse wants the cameras to see if anyone is in our backyard before she lets the dogs out – otherwise she will probably send me out!

Background
I had security cameras installed by professionals at my last house after a neighbor was hiding pot in my shrubs. They installed the same type of turret 2k Hikvision (all I remember) around the house all connected to one NVR. I used IVMS software and was not terribly impressed with the quality or ease of use.

Now
I built a new house and my backyard has maybe 100 feet of open space where we believe some folks walked up to our neighbor’s house and did damage then hid in our shrubs. Houses next to us are 30 feet away. Block house, high ceilings, impact glass, whole house generator
Front of the house has lights that are always on covering garage, workshop, driveway and street. The house came with a google nest hello doorbell camera that does a great job identifying people vs packages at the front door – and started recording the sound from the incident next door. Obviously, the information is sent to Google servers for data processing.