Chromecast Not Working

Discussion in 'Mobile Apps' started by Red1221, Aug 3, 2018.

Share This Page

  1. Red1221

    Red1221 n3wb

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Hey all. I've got BI setup on my PC with stunnel running and a self-signed cert, and I'm able to view my cams through the BI app remotely and locally, but I can't seem to get casting to function no matter what I do. Every time I cast, whether it's a single camera I'm casting or a group/all cams/cycle, I get the BI logo on the device I cast to and the "broken picture" image in the upper left corner.

    Has anyone been able to get this functionality to work? If so how?
     
  2. johnny2678

    johnny2678 n3wb

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm in the same boat, though I don't even have a cast button. Are you trying from an android device?

    Here's my Webserver/Stunnel settings. Anyone see anything that would be preventing the cast button from showing up?

    upload_2018-8-16_17-20-31.png
     
  3. SouthernYankee

    SouthernYankee Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2018
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    59
    Location:
    Houston Tx
    I can cast UI3 locally with out the Stunnel.
    Are you trying to cast the BI application ?
    Are you on the same network as the BI machine ?

    There is no need to black out the 192.168 ip addresses, they are local addresses, of no use to anybody but you.
     
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2018 at 5:42 PM
  4. johnny2678

    johnny2678 n3wb

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    The BI update in March said that Chromecast would require https via stunnel.

    Yes, Chromecast & BI are on the same subnet.

    Trying to cast a camera from any device right now. No cast button in Android/iOS or UI3, unless it's tucked away in settings somewhere. Where is it in UI3?
     
  5. SouthernYankee

    SouthernYankee Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2018
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    59
    Location:
    Houston Tx
    I am use chrome web browser. Start UI3. I select the three dots to the right of the URL and select cast.

    UI3 version 53, Blue Iris version: 4.7.7.0

    chrome
    Version 68.0.3440.106 (Official Build) (64-bit)
     
  6. johnny2678

    johnny2678 n3wb

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not an option for me unfortunately. Using latest chrome on mac High Sierra.

    upload_2018-8-16_17-58-55.png
     
  7. SouthernYankee

    SouthernYankee Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2018
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    59
    Location:
    Houston Tx
    That is the UI3 3 dots. It is the chrome browser 3 dots for casting.

    I can also cast from my android phone, using UI3 and the Google home app to cast the android screen. it does not look very good but it works.
     
  8. johnny2678

    johnny2678 n3wb

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    ahhh ok, I was assuming BI had native cast support. Sounds like you are screencasting from both chrome/android, which is an option, but not ideal.

    I have a ticket in with Ken. I'll confirm if BI is meant to have native chromecast support or if it's only available via screencast.

    Thanks for the help.
     
  9. Red1221

    Red1221 n3wb

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sioux Falls, SD
    It does (or, is supposed to) have Native support via the BI app. Ken and I have done some troubleshooting, and believe the issue to be the cert used for STunnel being self-signed, not created by a certificate authority. Unfortunately for me, I'm not knowledgeable enough to know how to get a CA-signed cert to test with, and my attempts have been unsuccessful with LetsEncrypt, the only free option available.
     
  10. johnny2678

    johnny2678 n3wb

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the response @Red1221 . That was my thought as well. I'll try the LetsEncrypt option and report back if I'm successful.
     
  11. johnny2678

    johnny2678 n3wb

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did add a letsencrypt cert to my BI setup and accessed BI through the domain the cert was registered for, but still no chromecast option unfortunately.
     
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2018 at 7:57 AM