Chromecast Not Working

Discussion in 'Mobile Apps' started by Red1221, Aug 3, 2018.

Share This Page

  1. Red1221

    Red1221 n3wb

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Hey all. I've got BI setup on my PC with stunnel running and a self-signed cert, and I'm able to view my cams through the BI app remotely and locally, but I can't seem to get casting to function no matter what I do. Every time I cast, whether it's a single camera I'm casting or a group/all cams/cycle, I get the BI logo on the device I cast to and the "broken picture" image in the upper left corner.

    Has anyone been able to get this functionality to work? If so how?
     
  2. johnny2678

    johnny2678 n3wb

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm in the same boat, though I don't even have a cast button. Are you trying from an android device?

    Here's my Webserver/Stunnel settings. Anyone see anything that would be preventing the cast button from showing up?

    upload_2018-8-16_17-20-31.png
     
  3. SouthernYankee

    SouthernYankee IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2018
    Messages:
    677
    Likes Received:
    263
    Location:
    Houston Tx
    I can cast UI3 locally with out the Stunnel.
    Are you trying to cast the BI application ?
    Are you on the same network as the BI machine ?

    There is no need to black out the 192.168 ip addresses, they are local addresses, of no use to anybody but you.
     
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2018
  4. johnny2678

    johnny2678 n3wb

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    The BI update in March said that Chromecast would require https via stunnel.

    Yes, Chromecast & BI are on the same subnet.

    Trying to cast a camera from any device right now. No cast button in Android/iOS or UI3, unless it's tucked away in settings somewhere. Where is it in UI3?
     
  5. SouthernYankee

    SouthernYankee IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2018
    Messages:
    677
    Likes Received:
    263
    Location:
    Houston Tx
    I am use chrome web browser. Start UI3. I select the three dots to the right of the URL and select cast.

    UI3 version 53, Blue Iris version: 4.7.7.0

    chrome
    Version 68.0.3440.106 (Official Build) (64-bit)
     
  6. johnny2678

    johnny2678 n3wb

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not an option for me unfortunately. Using latest chrome on mac High Sierra.

    upload_2018-8-16_17-58-55.png
     
  7. SouthernYankee

    SouthernYankee IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2018
    Messages:
    677
    Likes Received:
    263
    Location:
    Houston Tx
    That is the UI3 3 dots. It is the chrome browser 3 dots for casting.

    I can also cast from my android phone, using UI3 and the Google home app to cast the android screen. it does not look very good but it works.
     
  8. johnny2678

    johnny2678 n3wb

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    ahhh ok, I was assuming BI had native cast support. Sounds like you are screencasting from both chrome/android, which is an option, but not ideal.

    I have a ticket in with Ken. I'll confirm if BI is meant to have native chromecast support or if it's only available via screencast.

    Thanks for the help.
     
  9. Red1221

    Red1221 n3wb

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sioux Falls, SD
    It does (or, is supposed to) have Native support via the BI app. Ken and I have done some troubleshooting, and believe the issue to be the cert used for STunnel being self-signed, not created by a certificate authority. Unfortunately for me, I'm not knowledgeable enough to know how to get a CA-signed cert to test with, and my attempts have been unsuccessful with LetsEncrypt, the only free option available.
     
  10. johnny2678

    johnny2678 n3wb

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the response @Red1221 . That was my thought as well. I'll try the LetsEncrypt option and report back if I'm successful.
     
  11. johnny2678

    johnny2678 n3wb

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did add a letsencrypt cert to my BI setup and accessed BI through the domain the cert was registered for, but still no chromecast option unfortunately.
     
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2018
  12. abydocomistdad

    abydocomistdad n3wb

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did the same. My BI server is running behind HAProxy with a letsencrypt certificate. Everything works great in web browsers and the BI app, but the chromecast option disapears when I configure the BI Android app to use the https subdomain.

    When the app is configured to access the server using the LAN IP address (http://172.16.1.65:81) the chromecast option appears, but gives the message "Chromecast is only supported over https". When I configure the app to connect over https using the subdomain the chromecast option disappears. Everything else works great when configured for https.

    Anyone else figure this out?
     
  13. Martin Paul Sr

    Martin Paul Sr n3wb

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2018
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    San Jose
    Me too...! I spend an afternoon figuring out what it means "Chromecast is only supported over https".
    It's not Blue Iris ' fault, https is a Chromecast requirement.
    It means your BI mobile app needs to connect to you server over https before Chromecast will work.
    Than means your BI server needs to be able to accept connections over https.
    The way to enable that is by adding a small piece of free software called Stunnel to your BI server.
    I downloaded that and finally correctly configured it, it works like this:

    - In the C:\Program Files (x86)\stunnel\config there is a file stunnel.conf. If nothing else it needs to have:

    [https]
    accept = 127.0.0.1:443
    connect = 127.0.0.1.62:81
    cert = stunnel.pem
    TIMEOUTclose = 0

    127.0.0.1 should be the actual LAN IP address of your BI server
    The last one (TIMEOUTclose = 0) is only for Windows as explained in the comments in the file.
    - This means Stunnel on you BI server will listen on port 443 and connect the encrypted TLS (like SSL) to your Blue Iris server port 81.
    - Your router needs a port forward to accept port 443 connections and forward them to your BI server's port 443.

    I can now connect UI3 and also my Android mobile app (on Note 5) over https remotely and locally and see all the cams -- YAY
    Now comes the bad part that member @Red1221 initially complained about -- you can now connect your mobile app to Chromecast, but dammit you cannot get any video to play.
    I just get a giant Blue Iris banner logo not matter how long I leave it connected or which stream I try to display.
    I think this part is something wrong with Blue Iris which they should find and fix.

    If I'm wrong and anyone got this working, please let me know how like @Red1221 initially asked.
     
  14. Martin Paul Sr

    Martin Paul Sr n3wb

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2018
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    San Jose
    Sorry for the essay below, I only read your original post and didn't pay enough attention to the thread to realized you and Ken (BI guy?) are troubleshooting already.
    Anyway I'm glad I put out how routing https and Stunnel works.
    Al lot of time has passed... have you guys yet figured out a way to Chromecast from the app?
     
  15. Meir MaSe Miyara

    Meir MaSe Miyara Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2014
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    1
    Replying just so I can get informed of new replies.
    Using bi app here 9n android 9. Stunnel and Ssl both internal and external works flawlessly. When trying to cast from mobile app to TV same error as outlined above, hi logo and broken window
    Waiting for a fix.:)
     
  16. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    27,378
    Likes Received:
    7,341
    Chromecast working...!
     
  17. Meir MaSe Miyara

    Meir MaSe Miyara Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2014
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks man. Maybe I'm missing something here. I have Ssl but using self signed cert. I've read the link thread provided But unsure on the answer.
    "if using self signed will chromecast not work?"
    Everything works fine, Ssl etc it start to cast on TV but then broken not showing the image (but trying to) ,are u saying (with that link) that if I use a signed cert it will work?
    Thank u
     
  18. Martin Paul Sr

    Martin Paul Sr n3wb

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2018
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    San Jose
    I've had success, it requires a trusted signed SSL cert. It wasn't easy but it's cost-free.
    I wrote it up in the Android section as I don't know if the Chromecast feature was ever part of the IOS app:

    Chromecast working...!
     
  19. dalepa

    dalepa Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    795
    Likes Received:
    191
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    Was this chromecast issue ever resolved?
     
  20. Martin Paul Sr

    Martin Paul Sr n3wb

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2018
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    San Jose
    Did you check out my setup that works (message right above your question)?