Dahua 2MP 25x Starlight IR PTZ Network Camera (SD49225T-HN)

Discussion in 'Dahua' started by ldasilva, Jan 5, 2017.

Share This Page

  1. Waldo

    Waldo Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2018
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    California, USA
    Don't think I'll be buying any dahua products ever again. Every one I've gotten has significant unsolved problems, probably due to defective firmware and or software - and certainly due to no support whatever..
     
  2. Hound Dog 911

    Hound Dog 911 Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2017
    Messages:
    690
    Likes Received:
    253
    Dang. Total opposite experience and Andy has been the bomb.
     
  3. TL1096r

    TL1096r Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2017
    Messages:
    888
    Likes Received:
    205
    Sorry to hear that. I have 7 Dahua cams and no issues so far and hope not to see any. Andy & Looney helped with questions quickly but I didn't have any issues.
     
  4. Q™

    Q™ IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2015
    Messages:
    4,385
    Likes Received:
    3,048
    Location:
    Megatroplis, USA
    I have 20 Dahua cameras with only 1 problem camera. All from A+++ @EMPIRETECANDY BTW! Thanks Andy!
     
    Hound Dog 911 likes this.
  5. TL1096r

    TL1096r Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2017
    Messages:
    888
    Likes Received:
    205
    What issue did you see?

    I have a small list going to keep a look out for.
     
  6. biggen

    biggen Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    May 6, 2018
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    35
    I will say the quality of firmware, instructions, tech support, grammar (the Dahua wiki needs some proof reading) from Axis is light years better than Dahua.

    But, you pay 5x for it as well. I’ll gladly put up with a bug or two to get an overall superior camera with excellent features at a 1/5 or 1/4 of the cost of the Axis cams.
     
  7. jjhdtv

    jjhdtv n3wb

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2017
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hello all

    Just purchased this Dahua ptz camera and having a problem. After 12 hours or so after boot, I loose the ability to access the camera's web server. I can still ping the default address (192.168.1.108) but webpage is not accessible. After hard reboot, it comes back online (webserver accessible )but then eventually not. I have tried the power supply that comes with the camera as well as my poe switch. Looking for helpful suggestion to fix. thank you
     
  8. Waldo

    Waldo Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2018
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    California, USA

    Welcome to the group and this camera's main problem.

    If you read back on this thread I think you'll find it's the camera's problem not yours.

    There's also a number of mitigations that seemed to work (no fix).

    If you have an NVR and the camera is registered and working through the NVR try clicking on the camera's icon then wait about 3 minutes, the camera should then be accessable - that's what "works" for me, so far.

    If you don't have an NVR just try clicking on the camera then wait 3 minutes and click again.
     
  9. TL1096r

    TL1096r Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2017
    Messages:
    888
    Likes Received:
    205
    Is it a known issue to shut off and make a crazy grinding sound (almost like stuck)? It happened 3 times so far.. It happens randomly. I changed ethernet wire but had the same ethernet wire in other cams. It is a POE+ switch.
     
  10. Waldo

    Waldo Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2018
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    California, USA
    EMPIRETECANDY


    The only hope to get this camera fixed is a firmware update, if that can't be done there's a lot of cameras of this model with bad hardware.
     
  11. TL1096r

    TL1096r Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2017
    Messages:
    888
    Likes Received:
    205
    I love the camera otherwise.. I might try to record it next time it happens unless people know what I am talking about?
     
  12. Waldo

    Waldo Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2018
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    California, USA
    They know, most of the people on this thread are experiencing it or have experienced it.
     
  13. ThomasPI

    ThomasPI Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    May 9, 2017
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    183
    Sux, I was seriously considering this for a roof top cam for our new house.
     
  14. mmmburritos

    mmmburritos n3wb

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    4
    I have this same exact problem when running any of the 2018 versions of firmware, currently I have mine on the 2017-12-27 version and it's stable. The other problem I'm having with mine is that it no longer switches from night to day mode automatically. I contacted Andy who I bought it from and he asked for the firmware version I'm on and then he never got back to me. Mine was purchased August 2017, I am starting to think mine is part of a bad batch of these cameras as I've seen other reports of these issues and no solutions.
     
  15. cctvguynz

    cctvguynz n3wb

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2016
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    2
    This is exactly what the camera will do if there is insufficient power being delivered to it. What sort of switch is it?
     
  16. TL1096r

    TL1096r Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2017
    Messages:
    888
    Likes Received:
    205
    Good to know. Glad to hear it isn't totally dying or defected and something else.

    switch:
    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07LH8R3FH/

    It has plenty of power. Only about 40w being used. And I tried a different Ethernet cable. It happened 3x so far randomly in past 2 months. I have to unplug it. Replug and it spins does it thing and is ok.
     
  17. jjhdtv

    jjhdtv n3wb

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2017
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    1
    Update and observation. I changed the ip address to something other than the default. The camera stayed connected over 24 hrs using the smartPSS program. However the second I tried to access the webserver through a browser the camera rebooted. It did come back online eventually. Sure would like to fix this issue. I have plans to put this camera in a very remote inaccessible location. Need maximum reliability . So far I do not have that confidence.


    update - forget the above, this time when it went down, smartPSS did not work either. Port Scanner shows port 554 open, but no HTTP service. I can ping the camera's IP so I know it is still connected to my network. Reboot (unplug - plug) everything comes back online. From what I can tell, I'm not alone with this problem. Hoping collectively someone or Dahua will have a fix.

    More observations over the weekend. Reflashed with the most current firmware off of the Dahua site. No change.
    I did check the external power supply and found out it was not providing power. I always had the camera plugged into a poe port so perhaps I never did have external power during testing. However, other working power supplys do not work now when plugged into the camera. I can only get the camera to boot through the poe. I did notice that the power supply the came in the box was labeled 24volt 3A. Unclear if this camera can handle 24 volt. I wouldn't know if the power supply initially was working and then fried something from the over voltage. All I know now is the power brick provides 0 volts (when checked with a voltmeter) and the camera's external voltage connection does not appear to work (when tested with a working 12 volt 1.5A power supply). I believe this issue is unrelated to the losing web connection after a few hours after boot.

    I connected the camera to my BlueIris machine. The camera has been running (video showing in BI) for over 36 hours now (never lost connection). However, I cannot access the internal webserver. Nor can I control the ptz with BI. Initially after boot, BI can control the PTZ. So the loss of webserver access and ptz control within BI seem to be related to the same issue(s).

    Port scanner shows an active connection with ports 554, 1935, 5000 and 37777 T(TCP) open.
    Someone on this forum had similar issues and downgraded firmware fixed it. Would like to try that but I do not know where to find older firmware.
     
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2019 at 10:28 AM
  18. Tibor Makai

    Tibor Makai Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2017
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    41
    Man I'm happy that I have the 59225 PTZ.
    Thomas, you should look into this version. It cost a bit more, but has autotracking(which does not work 100% of the time, but it is still cool). It does not seem to have many issues.
    I have 9 Dahua cameras and they all work. Will buy another one soon. :)
     
  19. Waldo

    Waldo Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2018
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    California, USA
    Sounds like you have a lot of problems.

    The 1st one is power, If you provide power directly (not through POE) it should be about 12.5 volts at the camera, depending on your power cable length and gauge it may have to be 13-14 volts at the power supply output terminals to account for the voltage loss due to cable resistance.
    The only way to fully configure and have full control of all the camera's settings is through IE which installs a "WebRec" active X control viewer.
    You need to state what version of firmware you have been using - the same all the time?
     
  20. jjhdtv

    jjhdtv n3wb

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2017
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    1
    Mao-Rhea_EngSpnFrn_N_Stream3_IVS_V2.600.0000.2.R.20170905
    [PTZ]General_SD49XXXS-HN_V3.02.93.R.170518

    Latest firmware shown above was installed. Incidentally it wast the same fw that came with unit. No change after reflashing. Webservice shuts down after time - video transmission with BI continues - without any control.
    Unclear why the camera was supplied with a 24volt 3A power supply. Is 24 volt out of the specification voltage limits? Perhaps this caused a problem unrelated to losing webserver access. However, it might be related to the external power not working at this point - only poe. Fearful the over voltage killed that circuit inside the camera and simultaneously broke the power supply because both are not working at this point.

    So far I'm maintaining webserver connection today by continuously pinging the camera. Seems to me the webservice shuts down after an undetermined amount of time. No way to bring it back without a hard reboot.
    Camera was bought from an Alibaba vendor.

    I should also note that when the webservice is inaccessible, the cameras webserver cannot be accessed with any browser (IE, Firefox, Chrome, Palemoon) nor with SmartPSS or Dahua Config. Port scanner finds the cammera and open ports. Status is active but no running services.
     
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2019 at 5:20 PM
Tags: