Hikvision camera admin password reset tool

Discussion in 'Hikvision' started by bp2008, Mar 11, 2015.

Share This Page

  1. alastairstevenson

    alastairstevenson Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Messages:
    9,744
    Likes Received:
    2,865
    Location:
    Scotland
    That will work if you connect the PC to an unused NVR PoE port.
    What's required once you have identified the camera IP addresses is to match them with the IP addresses that are configured on the NVR PoE channels they are connected to.
    You could change either the NVR channel setting, or the camera IP address.

    But there is a potential problem, if the cameras were added with the NVR PoE channels in 'Plug&Play' mode.
    The NVR may have used it's own password to set up the cameras.
    If not, and you assigned it yourself - you are going to be OK.
    If the NVR set the password - there is a way to extract the password from the cameras if the firmware is older than 5.4.5
    But let's see how you get on first.
     
  2. chrisc90

    chrisc90 n3wb

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    So to get the camera IP I need to connect the laptop to the POE ports on the NVR and thatbshould bring them up in SADP?

    Not sure how the cameras were initially setup, as we could only access the live view screen and not see any IP or password information. So not sure how we can check that.

    Once I can find the camera IP address I can try connecting to it or change the POE port addresses in the NVR to hopefully allow connection.

    What’s the method to gain the password off the camera if it comes to that? Just armed with the info next time I call down will be a bit quicker
     
  3. alastairstevenson

    alastairstevenson Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Messages:
    9,744
    Likes Received:
    2,865
    Location:
    Scotland
    Yes, that's correct. SADP doesn't require a password, or require that the PC IP address be changed, to show the camera info.

    That likely means they were added under 'Plug&Play'.
    If they were new, and 'Inactive', that means the NVR will have configured them and used it's own (the original, forgotten) password.
    Unless you can remember setting one on the cameras.

    Given that the camera firmware is old enough to have the 'Hikvision backdoor' vulnerability, ie older than 5.4.5 here is what you could do to extract the password:
    Set the PC IP address to one in the same range as that used on the NVR PoE interface.
    Presumably the cameras in SADP show as something like 192.168.254.x so you could set the PC to 192.168.254.100
    Paste this into the browser address field, replacing the IP address with the one that the camera is using :
    http://<camera_IP_address>/System/configurationFile?auth=YWRtaW46MTEK
    Save the resultant extracted configuration file to the PC.

    Then with the PC back to its normal IP address setting and connection, zip up the file and attach it here.
    I can decrypt and decode it for you and extract the password.
    If you prefer, send it to you via 'Conversations'.

    Good luck.
     
  4. chrisc90

    chrisc90 n3wb

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    they show up in the sadp when the laptop is connected to POE port.

    I never set any of it up as it was the previous owners, so I can only imagine it was set via plug and play.

    Will try have a look at it tomorrow as had to leave now for work.

    If the camera firmware is 5.4.5 or higher is there any method of resetting stuff?
     
  5. alastairstevenson

    alastairstevenson Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Messages:
    9,744
    Likes Received:
    2,865
    Location:
    Scotland
    That depends on the model.
    Bullet cameras have a reset button on the back.
    Most other models don't.

    But you will have seen firmware versions in SADP, so hopefully they are old enough to extract the password from.
     
  6. chrisc90

    chrisc90 n3wb

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Believe mate has got it working . Found a tool that used the backdoor to reset the password.

    Was a bit hesistant about using the web access for it as security seems a bit lacking. Is there any good methods to make sure it’s fully secure from anyone outside
     
  7. llarsx

    llarsx Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    May 7, 2018
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    6
    My Hikvision DS-2CD4A26FWD has production date 20161116. Can the smart password reset be used on this?

    Firmware V5.4.0build 160401
    SADP V3.0.0.16

    Another question: As the 2018-version of reset password request to Hikvision demand setting new password in SADP before export of the file and the same before import the code-file from Hikvision, I must ask if the smart reset code (in this thread) will work on the latest SADP versions?

    The mails with pics from my camera still work and therefore I can see (due to change of summertime a few days ago) there is one hour between computer and camera. Will this disturbe the reset of password? This question has been resolved. Doesn't matter.
     
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2018
  8. llarsx

    llarsx Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    May 7, 2018
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    6
    Hallo,
    The smart reset tool failed, but I got the reset code from my Hikvision supplyer. Now I have upgraded to newer firmware, but my camera hasn't yet got the smarter - Three question solution.
     
  9. kayl669

    kayl669 n3wb

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2015
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello everyone
    I have a DS-2CD3T36WD-I5 camera, platform G0, firmware version 5.4.41. Updated via tftp to reset the IP parameters and password. But unsuccessfully! Firmware updated to version 5.5.0, but the IP parameters and password are not reset even through tftp! Can anyone help reset password, please?
     
  10. kayl669

    kayl669 n3wb

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2015
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Forgot to write, I tried to reset password using reset tool, but unseccesfull.
     
  11. aung min

    aung min n3wb

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    i want to ds-2cd1353g0-i reset tool
     
  12. davej

    davej Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2014
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    7
    Just received a DS-2CD2042WD-I with V5.5.0_170725 which rejected 12345. The Hik-connect box is checked. What can I try? It says only 5 attempts are available. It has a reset button, but it doesn't seem to help.
     
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2018
  13. alastairstevenson

    alastairstevenson Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Messages:
    9,744
    Likes Received:
    2,865
    Location:
    Scotland
    If it's a new camera it will be 'Inactive'.
    There have been no default passwords for quite a while - cameras need to be 'Activated' by creating your own new strong password.
    Check the status as active or inactive using SADP, and if Inactive, use SADP to Activate it : Download | Tools - Hikvision
     
  14. davej

    davej Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2014
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    7
    Yeah, SADP says it is "active." It has a reset button.

    _UPDATE_

    I got it working. I did a POE powerup with an immediate 20 sec reset button push. It went inactive. Then it allowed me to set a password.
     
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2018
    alastairstevenson likes this.
  15. x65975

    x65975 n3wb

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Looking for some help please!!!

    I've read through this entire thread.

    I'm running a HIKvision 7300 series NVR, software V3.1.6 and DSP 5.0

    I can't seem to get any of this to work. I've downloaded older versions of SADP as well as the newest, IVMS, etc. Am I doing something wrong or does my NVR fall in to the category of these newer ones? Completely locked out of the GUI. Have tried all default passwords.

    Also, could I reflash the NVR using TFTP? I can't seem to find the app on HIKs site but am pretty desperate as I want to get this up and running already.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Thank you.
     
  16. alastairstevenson

    alastairstevenson Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Messages:
    9,744
    Likes Received:
    2,865
    Location:
    Scotland
  17. x65975

    x65975 n3wb

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    So I got it working... I took the advice of some and plugged in a mouse to the NVR, input the password, got the incorrect password box, then clicked the lower hand left area to get the serial number and security code box. Used the keygen tool in this thread and I'm up and running!!!! THANKS!!!
     
  18. duaplex

    duaplex n3wb

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2018
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Can somebody please help me reset my hikvision doorbell password. tried the tool but all i got was underlying connection closed.

    Sent the xml file to hikvision tech support, but they are taking forever
     
  19. Oldman11

    Oldman11 n3wb

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2018
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Back on topic - password issues with NVR and cameras. I visited this site months ago and was offered help by Alistair Stevenson but being illiterate in matters IT, I handed it over to my son who was unable to assist. Since then I have left the system powered up as this keeps the IR lamps lit up in the cameras with the logic that any "smart" burglar would see this ang go elsewhere.
    Has anyone had success with finding a work around to reset cameras with the software version 5.4.5? With some straightforward instruction I may be able to pay a computer IT specialist to attempt a fix. Failing that, I have something more than $2000 worth of useless junk?
     
  20. alastairstevenson

    alastairstevenson Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Messages:
    9,744
    Likes Received:
    2,865
    Location:
    Scotland
    Remind me - are the cameras connected and working OK with the NVR, but you just don't know the camera passwords?
    If so - the NVR (depending on the model and firmware) may, in the VGA/HDMI interface have the tickbox 'show camera password'.

    Presumably we established that the camera models didn't have a reset button.
    What models are they? That's important, to select the right firmware.

    If the cameras would still respond to the Hikvision tftp updater - then applying the same firmware as is currently installed will reset them to an 'inactive' state where you then activate with your own chosen password.

    It's not that hard to do, you would manage no problem.
    The Hikvision tftp updater is here : TFTP
    The 5.4.5 R0 firmware is here : R0 series DS-2CD2x32x-Ixx IP camera firmware
    The 5.4.5 R6 firmware is here : R6 series firmware - see models list

    In summary:
    Unzip the tftp updater to a folder on the PC.
    Unzip the firmware file digicap.dav into the same folder.
    If the cameras are on NVR PoE ports, connect the PC to a spare port.
    Set the PC IP address to 192.0.0.128
    Start the tftp updater, double-click tftpserve.exe
    Click OK to the Windows firewall popup
    Check the updater status window shows initiallised at 192.0.0.128
    Power cycle the camera.
    Observer the status indications.
    The process takes a couple of minutes to download the firmware, then a couple of minutes to update.
    If / when the status window shows 'system update completed', job done.
    Close the tftp updater.
    Use SADP to 'activate' the camera with your own chosen password.
    Update the camera password in the NVR camera configuration.
    Put the PC back as it was.