Hikvision camera admin password reset tool

Discussion in 'Hikvision' started by bp2008, Mar 11, 2015.

Share This Page

  1. Oldman11

    Oldman11 n3wb

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2018
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Brisbane
     
  2. alastairstevenson

    alastairstevenson Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Messages:
    10,075
    Likes Received:
    3,048
    Location:
    Scotland
    This very likely will mean that the original NVR password would have been applied to the cameras.

    Remind me - the NVR was 'reset to defaults' or it's password changed? Such that the original password is lost?

    That will be useful.

    So, suggestion for initial steps:
    If none of the cameras are connecting in the NVR, it won't matter which you choose, unless there is one cable that would be easier to use.
    Remove one cable from the NVR PoE port and connect it to the router / switch.
    Connect the 12v DC power supply to the camera.
    Start SADP on the PC, check what it shows for the camera. Click the refresh button if needed.
    What shows for : model, firmware version, IP address, status (active or inactive)?

    I'm not 100% sure - but I believe the DS-2CD2352-I camera is an R6 model, with 5.4.5 firmware you can download from here :
    DOWNLOAD EU PORTAL
    Download and unzip this into a folder on your PC.
    Also - download and unzip this into the same folder : TFTP

    That's enough for now.
    We need to confirm the model and firmware version before next steps.
     
  3. Oldman11

    Oldman11 n3wb

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2018
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Hi Alistair, sorry for the delay but I was back in hospital again and a little pre-occupied one way or another.
    Back fully (well nearly) functional again and someone suggested I talk with a "local" distributor for help, I did and he provided a new file to replace the password in the NVR, now apparently that is all functioning. He then gave me a contact to supposedly get the cameras up and running. That gentleman has been very helpful, even taking the original packet file from the cameras via SADP tool and then installing something via SADP which should have made the cameras work again but still no luck.
    We can "see" the camera information for each camera and now based on your last post here is the information:
    Camera model is DS-2CD2351-1, Status is Active, software version V5.4.5 build 170124
    When looking at the Camera Management page in the NVR we can tick the "Show Password of IP Camera" but it asks for the Admin password and will not accept our entry as correct.

    I have tried to download the update software information as instructed and end up a Netherlands HIKVision site but am then lost as to where / how to find the required files
    I look forward to your reply and thank you for your perseverance in this matter
     
  4. LaZona

    LaZona Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2017
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    5
    If you do not have the password, just flash the firmware onto the camera so that you can activate it as a new camera.

    Use this:

    1.
    2. download the FW from Hikvision
     
  5. alastairstevenson

    alastairstevenson Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Messages:
    10,075
    Likes Received:
    3,048
    Location:
    Scotland
    We're sorry to hear that you have not been well.

    Are you saying that the NVR has the cameras connected and working, and that you can access the NVR normally?

    But this suggests that you do not have a logon that works on the NVR - can you confirm?

    This does confirm that the version of firmware will not allow a simple password reset to be done.
     
  6. Oldman11

    Oldman11 n3wb

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2018
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Thanks Alistair - I shall report back to my professional and see how he wants to proceed.
    Cameras do not transmit a picture but they have IR lamps glowing and we can download all model/serial number info and they show as "active"
    With the password recovery package from Hikvision I was able to change the NVR from unknow password to something, which the tech later changed to a more simple password just for the duration of sorting the cameras, so NVR must be fully functioning?
    Seems to me that this still does not permit us to change camera password and as we don't have any idea what the original was, are getting nowhere fast.
    When this problem first started was I could not remember the password to allow me to link my mobile phone so - Hit the reset button which I though would put everything back to factory defaults. (whatever that is) After which the cameras ceased to return a picture!
     
  7. alastairstevenson

    alastairstevenson Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Messages:
    10,075
    Likes Received:
    3,048
    Location:
    Scotland
    So if you now have regained admin access to the NVR, have you tried the 'Show camera password' facility on the HDMI/VGA interface?
    But you've said the cameras are not showing video, so presumably the NVR does not have a valid camera password.
     
  8. Oldman11

    Oldman11 n3wb

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2018
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Yes, tried Show camera password, got the request for admin password and when I entered the "new" (only one I know) password it was rejected as incorrect
    My Tech is unwilling to flash the software, presumably because he may "brick" the cameras and has said this does not have a high probability of success
    Remember he already submitted all the camera model, serial numbers back through the local distributor / sales outlet and came back with something which should have allowed a new password to be installed but to no benefit. With my very limited understanding of these things I am very much in the hands of experts so for now I need to give him time to solve this issue, something he is still working on and has not given up. I will keep you posted
     
  9. alastairstevenson

    alastairstevenson Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Messages:
    10,075
    Likes Received:
    3,048
    Location:
    Scotland
    That's quite prudent if these may be China-region cameras.
    But if these are 'World Region' or International cameras, the Hikvision tftp updater tool will reset the cameras to default settings if the same version of firmware is installed.
    I think based on your original post, there is uncertainty as to whether these are 'grey market ' or updatable cameras.

    There is also some uncertainty, in my mind at least, what the true model numbers are for the cameras.
    It would be good if you can confirm this in more detail than that shown on the NVR screen.
    There is a straightforward way to determine the model, and the serial number, and the firmware version if you feel able to try it.

    On the PC or laptop, if you don't have it already, install the Hikvision SADP tool, from here (page 2) : Tools - Download - Hikvision

    If the cameras are on the LAN (ie not plugged in to the PoE ports on the back of the NVR), SADP will find them automatically.
    If the cameras are plugged in to the PoE ports on the back of the NVR, plug the PC into an unused port so it can find the cameras.

    What is being looked for is the full model number, the firmware version, and the full serial number of the cameras.
    You will have to dismiss the 'Network Parameters' window by clicking the chevron on the tab near the middle of the screen and probably expand the column width under 'Device Serial Number' to see all of it well enough, maybe the scroll bar at the bottom as well.

    A screenshot would make that detail easy to capture and share.

    Based on what you find, it should be possible to make a judgment about the cameras.
     
  10. James Knight

    James Knight n3wb

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Greater London
    Been reading through the this thread with the hope to find an answer to my issue. My issue seems very similar to Oldman11. I operate as a network professional (tech guy to most) and as a result my neighbour asked me to help them with their CCTV. As they wanted it on their phones.

    When I went to help I needed a password to login to their NVR (Hikvision DS-7604NI-K1/4P(B)). This is where it all started. No one knew the password, and the person whom installed is no longer contactable.

    I looked at ways of resetting it. Through patience I managed to crack the 9 dot password. However as I needed the admin password to make key changes. I decided to reset the NVR back to defaults. This then resulted in me losing connectivity to the IP cameras as I did not have their passwords to activate the stream. I have managed to obtain all the SADP information and the exports for the cameras to send off to get a password reset, but Hikvision UK support will only work with distributors, distributors will only work with CCTV engineers and CCTV engineers / companies seem to inform me that they will only work on kit they have installed or advise me to speak to Hikvision UK support (see the circle I am in).

    Therefore I am reaching out to see if anyone knows any person or company that would be willing to act as the middle-man for me to be able to get the passwords that I need?

    DS-7604NI-K1/4P(B) | Software Version: V3.4.100build 180310 | DSP Version: V5.0, build 171115
    DS-2CD2143G0-IS | Software Version: V5.5.5build 180210 | DSP Version: V7.3 build 180205
    DS-2CD2143G0-IS | Software Version: V5.5.5build 180210 | DSP Version: V7.3 build 180205

    Thank you in advance to anyone who can help in any way.
     
  11. alastairstevenson

    alastairstevenson Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Messages:
    10,075
    Likes Received:
    3,048
    Location:
    Scotland
    The NVR would most likely have used its own password to 'activate' and configure the cameras, assuming they were added in 'Plug&Play' mode.
    On recent firmware there is an option in the VGA/HDMI interface to show the camera passwords that the NVR is using for them.
    But that's lost now with the NVR reset to defaults.

    Those dome cameras should have a reset button on the system board, visible if you remove the dome.
    To reset to defaults, unplug the camera ethernet cable (I'm assuming they are connected to the NVR PoE ports), press the reset button, re-connect the camera, keeping the button pressed for about 20 seconds.
    That will take the camera in to the 'Inactive' state.
    The NVR should find it automatically and allow 'Activation', by default using it's own password.
    Though there is an option in the VGA/HDMI interface to specify an alternate password for connected cameras.
     
  12. James Knight

    James Knight n3wb

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Greater London
    Thank you @alastairstevenson I will speak with my neighbour and get the ladder out. Through all that I have read, I was not aware of a default reset button on the cameras board. Will give this a go. Will also provide feedback. Thank you again.
     
  13. alastairstevenson

    alastairstevenson Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Messages:
    10,075
    Likes Received:
    3,048
    Location:
    Scotland
    I'm extrapolating from the DS-2CD2132F-I which does have such a button, so not a guarantee that your neighbour cameras have one.

    If you want to try another method that avoids a ladder - doing a same-version firmware update via the Hikvision tftp updater will also reset back to defaults.
    Given that the right firmware can be found (I've not yet looked).
    The tftp updater is here - easy enough to use. TFTPServ
     
  14. James Knight

    James Knight n3wb

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Greater London
    I cannot thank you enough. Not only for the TIP of the button but for your quick response time to my request. I literally went up the ladder took apart the unit and straight away saw the reset button beside the microSD card slot. So I can confirm that the DS-2CD2143G0-IS does have such a reset button.

    I seriously cannot believe that Hikvision UK support could not even advise me of this. Especially considering that I presented them with all the information. I am thankful once again for technical forums and such individuals as yourself. I also now reserve the right to remove the mention of a Network Professional :'(

    Thank you again @alastairstevenson
     
    alastairstevenson likes this.
  15. James Knight

    James Knight n3wb

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Greater London
    I can also further call my self a few names and contained within the Hikvision DataSheet it states under interfaces that it has a reset button. Something I also overlooked.

    https://www.hikvision.com/uploadfil...XX3PDFSpecofDS2CD2143G0I(S)V5.5.220171019.pdf
     
    alastairstevenson likes this.
  16. mugur

    mugur n3wb

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    romania
    can get password from this file?
    ths a lot
     

    Attached Files:

  17. alastairstevenson

    alastairstevenson Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Messages:
    10,075
    Likes Received:
    3,048
    Location:
    Scotland
    No.
    What device and firmware version is it from?
     
  18. mugur

    mugur n3wb

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    romania
    system date is 1970 - 01 -01
     

    Attached Files:

  19. alastairstevenson

    alastairstevenson Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Messages:
    10,075
    Likes Received:
    3,048
    Location:
    Scotland
    Sorry - but I do not know how to process that type of export.
     
  20. mugur

    mugur n3wb

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    romania
    thx a lot for looking at it