Hikvision camera admin password reset tool

Discussion in 'Hikvision' started by bp2008, Mar 11, 2015.

Share This Page

  1. Pierrick

    Pierrick n3wb

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    FRANCE
    Hi Guys,

    I can not reset my IPC password.
    Can someone help me?
    DS-2CD2185FWD-I
    V7.3 build 180717
    DS-2CD2185FWD-I20180412AAWRC15260212

    Thanks for your help...
     
  2. alastairstevenson

    alastairstevenson Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Messages:
    10,888
    Likes Received:
    3,415
    Location:
    Scotland
    What's the firmware version - shows in SADP?

    Doesn't that model have a reset button on the circuit board?
    If so - power off, press the reset button, power on, hold the button for about 20 seconds.
    Then find the camera with SADP to 'Activate' it.
     
  3. Pierrick

    Pierrick n3wb

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    FRANCE
    The version is V5.5.61build 180718(shown in sadp tool)
    The Ipc is already ceil mounted and it's difficult for me to reach it...
    Any other way than trying the reset button if existing?
     
  4. alastairstevenson

    alastairstevenson Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Messages:
    10,888
    Likes Received:
    3,415
    Location:
    Scotland
    OK, so that's too new to use the 'Hikvision backdoor' method of reset.

    Depending on where it was purchased from - you could try the 'forgot password' function of SADP with Hikvision Tech Support.
     
  5. Ballistic

    Ballistic n3wb

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    Just wanted to say thanks for this, had a friend who wanted to switch from a hikvision NVR to a QNAP and did not know the passwords to anything and was a lot faster than going to each camera and resetting.
     
    alastairstevenson likes this.
  6. pcmcg

    pcmcg Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2014
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    9
    I have a bunch of DS-2CD3332-I cameras running V5.4.5 170123 all activated.
    I updated the firmware in 2018 but have forgotten the password.
    What steps can I take to recover?

    1. Reflash? Is this safe safe without knowing the password?
    2. Reset button by pulling down and opening each one up?
    3. Something else?
     
  7. pcmcg

    pcmcg Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2014
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    9
    SOVLED:
    So I went with 1 and got my cameras back working.
    Since I had already run the brickfixV2 upgrade. All I need to do was change ip to 192.0.0.128, start the hikvision tftp server, and restart each camera to re-download the 5.4.5 firmware.
     
    alastairstevenson likes this.
  8. blue66

    blue66 n3wb

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Victoria, Australia
    I'm new at this. Forgot password. 5x HikVision camera setup. Using a just downloaded SADP application v3.0.1.7 build20190422. Tried the online password reset tool and it wasn't successful - even tried copy and paste the serial number directly from SADP.
    Device type DS-2CD2342WD-I
    Firmware: V5.4.1 build 170314 (1 camera)
    Firmware: V5.3.8 build 160428 (4 cameras)
    SADP returns the error "Failed to reset password. Device denied" or "Failed to reset password. Timed out" for a different camera.

    I also tried the "HikvisionPasswordResetHelper" application being sure to copy the IPv4 address from ADP without any luck. Error "unable to connect to the remote server"

    Any ideas?
     
  9. alastairstevenson

    alastairstevenson Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Messages:
    10,888
    Likes Received:
    3,415
    Location:
    Scotland
    The firmware on both those cameras is vulnerable to the 'Hikvision backdoor' on which the updated password reset tool depends.

    If the cameras have been hacked (port forwarding ...) try 1111aaaa and asdf1234
    If that does not work - use this URL to pull a copy of the configuration files, zip them up and attach here and I will decrypt and decode them for you and extract the passwords.
    Change the camera IP address as needed -

    http://<camera_IP_address>/System/configurationFile?auth=YWRtaW46MTEK
     
    blue66 likes this.
  10. blue66

    blue66 n3wb

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Victoria, Australia
    Wow quick response. I tried each of those passwords for each camera in the SADP application - entering into the admin password field. Error message "timed out". Then I tried your URL above and substituted the IP address (from SADP tool "IPv4 Address" field). Did not work.

    Jim
     
  11. tradertim

    tradertim Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2015
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    18
    Hi Alastair.
    How are you?

    I thought 5.4.1 was an okay release for the backdoor fix? Or am I wrong is it only for the gmail TLS fix?

    I thought 5.5 was a bad release and many people were trying to get back as much was broken.

    My comments are in relation to 2142 4Mp domes and 2432 3Mp cubes.. hope those models are correct. Thats the kit I'm running. The R0 and the other.

    cheers
     
  12. alastairstevenson

    alastairstevenson Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Messages:
    10,888
    Likes Received:
    3,415
    Location:
    Scotland
    That should work OK based on the firmware versions quoted.

    But it does need the PC and cameras to be on the same IP address range.
    So the dumb questions, for which apologies -
    What IP addresses did SADP show for the cameras?
    And what is the IP address of the PC?

    And what was the response in the browser from using that URL?
    What was the URL as used?
     
  13. alastairstevenson

    alastairstevenson Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Messages:
    10,888
    Likes Received:
    3,415
    Location:
    Scotland
    I'm good, thanks. Really enjoying the spring weather up here in Scotland.

    I don't believe so - though it may vary with the specific model - 5.4.41 is the one Hikvision put out as the fix version.
     
  14. blue66

    blue66 n3wb

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Victoria, Australia
    That would be the problem
    SADP showed the cameras as 192.0.0.x
    PC IP is 192.168.86.y
    Used this URL "http://192.0.0.4/System/configurationFile?auth=YWRtaW46MTEK"
    And response was site can't be reached, took too long to respond.

    I was able to successfully export the .XML key request files from SADP.
     
  15. alastairstevenson

    alastairstevenson Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Messages:
    10,888
    Likes Received:
    3,415
    Location:
    Scotland
    You need to temporarily change the PC IP address to match the range that the cameras are on.
    SADP works across IP address ranges - browser access does not.

    So change the PC IP address to, say, 192.0.0.128
    and re-try the URL.
    You will probably need to change the name of each configurationFile as it is extracted to keep them unique.
    Then change the PC back to how it was, zip up the files and attach here.
     
  16. blue66

    blue66 n3wb

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Victoria, Australia
    OK that worked for 4 out of 5 cameras. The camera with V5.4.1 asked me for a password.
     
  17. alastairstevenson

    alastairstevenson Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Messages:
    10,888
    Likes Received:
    3,415
    Location:
    Scotland
    And the passwords for the 4 cameras are extracted for you in our 'conversation'.
    Maybe the 5.4.1 camera is 5.4.41 ? If so, the backdoor is fixed on the version of firmware.
     
  18. blue66

    blue66 n3wb

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Victoria, Australia
    Thanks a bunch Alastair. Once I switched to IE and installed the plugin everything fell into place. Cheers, Jim


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
     
  19. alastairstevenson

    alastairstevenson Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Messages:
    10,888
    Likes Received:
    3,415
    Location:
    Scotland
  20. b5bb

    b5bb n3wb

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2019
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    London, UK
    Have come across a DS-7216HGHI-SH at a client's site, happily recording away, yet no-one knows the password :sigh:

    Software version is V3.3.2build 151123 according to iVMS4200

    The serial is DS-7216HGHI-SH162015xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxWCVU but I'm not clear which bit I remove before pasting the rest into the reset password code generator page. Just take off the initial DS-7216HGHI-SH or is there more to it than that? I tried a power-cycle, checked the start date & time was today according to SADP, but the code generated just gave me a "device rejected" error when I try to sign in at SADP

    Thanks for any tips!