Important!!IVS failed and Triangle warnning issue Solutions for 4MP AI models

guykuo

Pulling my weight
Joined
Jul 7, 2018
Messages
215
Reaction score
192
Location
Sammamish, WA
Going through this now with Andy. I tested installing the config tool in English and Chinese.
I installed both versions and compared the resultant dat files.
Produces the identical dat file whether run in Chinese or English.
Was much easier to understand the tool settings in English for me.

I specified a search IP range of only my camera.
 

2MuchTech

n3wb
Joined
Jun 7, 2016
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Thank goodness there's now an English language version of the license tool! I just received a brand new 5442 camera (via Amazon) today and it has the dreaded license problem. I originally tried following the Chinese language steps, and it was a nightmare (in hindsight, probably because the .EXE file that's now up there has different on-screen layout than the Word document shows, so clicking on the things shown in the Word document doesn't work anymore). Anyway, it was MUCH easier to get the .DAT file once I reinstalled the utility as an English language install.

BTW, I have several of these 5442 cameras, and this is the only one with the license problem, but my other 5442s don't appear to have any of the IVS functions. Do any of you know if this is also a license issue that needs to be resolved with this license tool? My latest 5442 that has the license issue gives me access to all of the IVS functions, but the ones I bought a few weeks ago do not.
 

guykuo

Pulling my weight
Joined
Jul 7, 2018
Messages
215
Reaction score
192
Location
Sammamish, WA
Of my the two Loryta IPC-HDW5541H-AS-PV from Andy. One suffers this issue while the other does not. The English license tool made getting the dat file much easier. I agree, the Chinese tool's screen layout does not match the Word document instructions very well. You end up blindly guessing which button to click.

Process isn't a quick for getting a new license. Andy has to submit the data to Dahua, get a new license file from them.
Mine has taken nearing a week and still no license file.
 

tigerwillow1

Known around here
Joined
Jul 18, 2016
Messages
1,087
Reaction score
620
IVS wouldn't work on my 5442 until I fixed the license issue. Agree that using the chinese tool was a nightmare. Did you remember to select IVS on the Smart Plan tab on the other cameras?
 

2MuchTech

n3wb
Joined
Jun 7, 2016
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
I guess I don't know what the Smart Plan tab is. On the newest 5442 that I just got today, when I click on Event on the left side menu in Settings, it just shows me all of the IVS functions. I didn't have to do anything to enable them. The ones that are a few weeks older don't show anything beyond the basic Video Detection, Audio Detection, and Abnormality.

One other difference I've noticed is that my latest one allows Flipping the image in 90 degree increments, whereas my slightly older ones only offer 0 and 180 degrees.

It seems as if Dahua has a mess of different firmware versions within a relatively short production timeframe.
 

2MuchTech

n3wb
Joined
Jun 7, 2016
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
That's the problem... there is no Smart Plan option under the Event menu on one of my 5442 cameras (I thought 2 of them were without IVS, but it turns out it's only this one 5442).

I did notice that the camera that doesn't give me any of the advanced IVS / Smart Plan options has a slightly different model number on the box. It's a 1.0.01.04.30032. My other 2 that work are 1.0.01.04.30031. But I'm not convinced that this is the reason, because I have 5 of the 2431 cameras, and within that group of 5 there are 3 different model numbers! And I've purchased all of these cameras within the last month or two. It's a little crazy how many variants of model number and firmware revision I have within these supposedly same model cameras.
 

tigerwillow1

Known around here
Joined
Jul 18, 2016
Messages
1,087
Reaction score
620
What's the firmware version of the camera without smart plan? The part number of mine is 1.0.01.04.30033. Focal length is 6mm, which probably has something to do with it.
 

2MuchTech

n3wb
Joined
Jun 7, 2016
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
I agree, but when I try to use the auto-update function in the camera it tells me it’s the latest version. I guess I’m going to have to ask Andy for the file and perform a manual update (and hope it doesn’t create the license error condition). Do you know what has to happen to allow the camera’s auto-update function to realize there’s a newer firmware available? Since I know there’s one at least as new as November, it seems as if that would be enough newer to trigger the auto-update.
 

bigredfish

Known around here
Joined
Sep 5, 2016
Messages
3,307
Reaction score
3,705
Location
Florida USA
I’ve never seen the auto-update work. Not that I would want it to....
I update firmware only when there is a known major security issue or new feature set that you just can’t live without.
 

guykuo

Pulling my weight
Joined
Jul 7, 2018
Messages
215
Reaction score
192
Location
Sammamish, WA
I can now attest that the license zip file from Andy installed correctly via the English version of the Dahua config tool.

BTW, this was also doing it using VMware on a Mac.

I also never let the cameras autoupdate. Actually, they are all on an isolated LAN (not a VLAN, but a real separate LAN) that prevents the cameras from all access to the outside world.
 

2MuchTech

n3wb
Joined
Jun 7, 2016
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Just got back from a trip and I upgraded to the latest firmware (V2.800.0000000.10.R, Build Date: 2019-11-18). The camera now has the advanced intelligent functions, but it also has the red triangle problem. So 2 of my 3 5442 cameras have had this license file issue. I sent files to Andy today and am waiting for the patched license file for both of my problematic cameras. I'm guessing it may be several weeks based on prior comments from other posters, and the fact that the Chinese new year will likely delay things. At least the cameras still work in their basic modes!
 
Top