Is it possible to access IP cameras on LAN from NVR with different POE subnet?

Deadeye

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
I'm a newbie when it comes to IP cameras, and I just picked up a Hikvision DS-7716NI-SP / 16 NVR and I've also purchased two Hikvision dome cameras that connect to the NVR POE switches and they set up like a breeze and work just fine.

Now, I had heard that you can use other IP cameras on an NVR, so I was hoping that I could put a camera in my garage and connect it to a switch so that the NVR could see it. I can't run a line from the garage from the NVR to plug into one of the ports directly so a non-POE IP camera on a switch is my only option.

So to test it out, I just put the camera (it's a Foscam ONVIF, that I know works fine as I had it working using BlueIris) on the network with a static IP and tried to use a manual setup on the NVR, and I believe I have all the settings correct, but it says "The network is unreachable". I know the NVR is online because I can see it from my PC, and it is picking up a DHCP IP of 192.168.1.x from my router (and I can log into it, ect), but I noticed that the cameras that connect through the POE ports on the back are getting IP addresses 192.168.254.2 through 17. I was wondering if the NVR isn't able to add IP cameras that are outside the 254.x range that it uses? Is it actually possible to add ONVIF compatible IP cameras that are on the same network that the NVR connects to, but are assigned a different IP than 254.x? I hope it can and that I'm just missing something simple.