Just downloaded 5.0 64 Bit Install - ERROR

Discussion in 'What's New' started by captainkaboom, May 31, 2019.

Share This Page

  1. pjhextall

    pjhextall n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ui3 not working for me also.
    When I go to URL http://xxxxxxxxxx:81/ui3.htm I get 404 not found.
     
  2. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    30,578
    Likes Received:
    9,589
    Yes you have been used because you dont have common sense.
    The developer does not care for your opinion and you have no say in whether the link will be removed or not. Dont like it? use another vms. There are plenty. Dont come up with excuses for not using your brain. This is a GREAT learning experience for you, not just for blue iris but every software and firmware update!
     
    Ssayer likes this.
  3. skiocink

    skiocink Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2018
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    3
    I give up, fan boys head is very hard.

    "normal" users will understand
     
  4. Ssayer

    Ssayer Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Messages:
    358
    Likes Received:
    135
    Location:
    SE Michigan USA
    Just call me Abby then. I'll never ever understand people like you...
     
  5. Tinman

    Tinman Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2015
    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    410
    Just dl the newest and install it. The installer fails to install it. bp2008/ui3
     
  6. skiocink

    skiocink Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2018
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    3
    "Do not install the latest OFFICIAL version! SURELY it will have problems. Have someone else install it"

    This is your philosophy. But if everyone followed your advice, it would make no sense to have a new version...an OFFICIAL version. Sure you believe in miracles
     
  7. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    30,578
    Likes Received:
    9,589
    Yes, they will understand to use common sense. You have two options ONLY thing you can do is switch over to another vms and hope for the best OR develop just a bit of will power.
    If you think issues with a new release are just a blue iris issue, you are sorely misinformed. Lets take milestone as an example
    XProtect Essential+ install - "Could not configure the server..."
    Unable to instal 2018 R3
    These are just two threads on this forum that doesnt have a large milestone following.
    You are to blame, but you cannot bring yourself to place any accountability on yourself. Lets think logically, had you waited an hour you would have seen posts with issues. You jumped the gun, big mistake. Ask yourself why it was sooo important to move to v5. What is it that could not wait a few weeks?
     
  8. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    30,578
    Likes Received:
    9,589
    Lots of folks have test systems like myself. Lots of folks wont follow that advice, so you can learn on their backs. That is what NORMAL people do. You suffer from an ailment that requires you to install an update 10 min after its release. You will now suffer the symptoms of that disease. Hopefully you have learned your lesson, though something tells me that is not the case. Same EXACT thing happened from v3-v4. You will never learn.
     
  9. P. Banks

    P. Banks n3wb

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Canada
    I must agree with skiocink. Once a new version is released, one can assume that this product has been tested thoroughly so you won't get any bugs anymore.
    For the end-user it doesn't matter if 1000 people have been working on this product...or just one. The user pays for the product and should get a "working" product.

    I feel happy to have an NVR :headbang:
     
    Sparkey and Trsbbs like this.
  10. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    30,578
    Likes Received:
    9,589
    Lol have you not seen the posts we're NVR get bricked or introduce devastating bugs? Even with official firmware? I'm glad you're happy to have an NVR where updates are very limited new features are introduced rarely and eventually after about two years they are placed on end of life and no further updates available. You can achieve the same thing with blueiris by simply not updating like a fool. Glad you're happy with your toy NVR, with limited functionality. You won't be as happy when you have an issue and it takes months if ever to get an update to resolve it.

    How ridiculous is the argument that I'm glad to have a device that doesn't offer updates and therefore I don't install them...

    I do agree the blueiris developer is to blame, he fail to include a very important minimum requirement for blueiris on the websites minimum requirement page. That is an IQ of above 80.

    I have over 20 blueiris systems then I'll put up against your NVR any day in terms of stability. If you use common sense you'll have no problem but it's sorely lacking.


    Next time you were NVR puts out it's yearly firmware update or your camera manufacturer puts out its release update that very same day, I dare you. If you had a half a brain you wouldn't, as we have seen these camera updates and NVR updates cause serious problems.
     
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2019
  11. IAmATeaf

    IAmATeaf Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2019
    Messages:
    487
    Likes Received:
    247
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    The issue here is that the software is so configurable and provides supports for a wide range makes and models of cams.

    Put this all together and you can quite easily see how it would be impossible for the developer to test each and every permutation.

    At the end of the day you did have the option to backup and regress back to v4?

    I have a VM setup for testing so I can export settings, then import and test, once I’m happy I’ll upgrade which I haven’t done yet.
     
  12. looney2ns

    looney2ns IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    7,052
    Likes Received:
    5,354
    Location:
    Evansville, Indiana
    Back in the day, long time ago, I too liked being on the bleeding edge. But after getting my ass bit a couple of times, I no longer have the bleeding edge desire....I just want it to work.
     
    105437, tech101 and NoloC like this.
  13. looney2ns

    looney2ns IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    7,052
    Likes Received:
    5,354
    Location:
    Evansville, Indiana
    tech101 likes this.
  14. Ssayer

    Ssayer Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Messages:
    358
    Likes Received:
    135
    Location:
    SE Michigan USA
    I totally agree. Back in the day I beta tested for anyone that gave me the chance. Nowadays, I'll leave it to everyone else to find any major bugs before I upgrade anything. Aside from Win10 forcing upgrades/updates on me (that for some unfortunate reason,, always seem to break something or another), that is... :p
     
    looney2ns likes this.
  15. Thisisacamera

    Thisisacamera n3wb

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2019
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Uk
    I installed it - had similar issues but I resolved them all. And now at last my motion detection seems to be working! Dunno why it stopped in version 4.

    Anyway - I see there is an update to version 5 already - I don't see a change log anywhere. I would like to see this before I update .....

    Is there one somewhere?
     
  16. chewie

    chewie Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    May 22, 2015
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    22
    I just try to install the new update and there is some errors, is not installing it, here are the messages:
    upload_2019-6-2_15-5-7.png
    upload_2019-6-2_15-6-14.png

    Anybody getting these errors?
    Regards.
    Chewie
     
  17. eeeeesh

    eeeeesh Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2017
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    15
    There is an old post with instructions on how to 'block' Blue Iris from contacting the validation servers. For people using Virtual Machines or people with access to another computer - perhaps this would be a way to play around with the upgrade without hosing your live installation

    BlueIris software as a "client viewer"
     
  18. pjhextall

    pjhextall n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks. That fixed my only V5 problem.
     
    Tinman likes this.
  19. R4nger

    R4nger n3wb

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    England
    I have posted in the migration thread but I will say it again. You need to install the x86 version of the Visual Studio files.
     
  20. skiocink

    skiocink Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2018
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yes, support resetted the locked serial and now I'm on 4.8.6.3

    Also cloned my NVME disk for a more quick restore...just in case