Needing Budget Friendly and Effective Outdoor Setup

Reaction score
Hello All,

I'm a newbie here and looking for some advice for a new outdoor cam setup that is budget friendly. Before we get into details, yes I've read the newbie post that outlines the ideal things you want in a system. With that being said, I need some opinions on outdoor cams. We're currently in the process of buying a house. We are moving from an apartment into a house so I'm focused on outdoor cams as we already have a indoor cam setup and use Blue Iris and a NAS to record on. I really like the idea of the all wireless cams but know those come with a bunch of implications and are heavily frowned upon here. However, they seem to be budget friendly and don't require running of wiring across a house which is a huge plus for being budget friendly. Here is an outline of what I need/want:

1. Minimum of 4 Outdoor Cams - 1 on front, 1 in backyard, 1 on side near deck, 1 in garage
  2. Weatherproof - We have 4 seasons in Illinois and it gets pretty cold (-10 F) and pretty hot (100+ F) at times and rains a decent amount
  3. 1080P preferably
  4. Night Vision is a must
  5. Want to be able to integrate with Blue Iris so I can view live feed at anytime and record 24/7 (so I don't have to worry about tripping a sensor and missing a few seconds of recording)
  6. Preferably at or under $400 total for 4 cams and some way to wire them up - This is mission critical as we have a lot of first time home buyer expenses to worry about
  7. Prefer to not have to use conduit or to drill into the vinyl siding - What options are there for a near wireless setup that can handle 4 cameras and cover a good distance but can also be taken to go when we the sell the house? Power over ethernet somehow?
Any help you can all lend is greatly appreciated. Please be gentle on me. Thanks in advance.

sebastiantombs

Known around here
Reaction score