NEW 1080P Wifi Video Doorbell!

Discussion in 'Nelly's Security' started by AJ47, Dec 11, 2017.

Share This Page

  1. Amgclk65

    Amgclk65 n3wb

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2018
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    2
    Spoke to RyanODan.
    Gave me the same advice to disconnect from
    blueirs and try it. It restored the function. Nice!

    @scn101,
    I need to test it again after adding it back to blueirs.
     
  2. Amgclk65

    Amgclk65 n3wb

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2018
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    2
    Quick update,
    It’s still functioning after adding it back to blueiris.
    @Ryan,
    Is there a gain feature to increase the speaker volume at the unit ? Besides the one is the app.
    It’s fairly low with the max setting on the app.
    Can’t hear the guest and vice versus.
     
  3. RyanODan

    RyanODan IPCT Vendor

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    544
    Likes Received:
    214
    Location:
    Tulsa
    @Amgclk65 Glad to hear it's working. Unfortunately nothing on the volume other than on the app or web interface (which are the same adjustments). However, a few weeks back I was inspecting the doorbell and found out it has a sticker over the speaker which muffles the sound somewhat. The speaker is located on the bottom, if you pull off that rubber sticker you'll see the speaker holes. Keep in mind I've never tested it without the sticker outdoors and I'm not sure if that cancels the "IP55" weatherproof rating. I doubt it will but worth mentioning.
    20180601_103017.jpg
     
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2018
  4. Sean Nelson

    Sean Nelson Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2016
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    119
    Location:
    Tulsa
  5. Paul Arthur

    Paul Arthur Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    13
  6. Sean Nelson

    Sean Nelson Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2016
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    119
    Location:
    Tulsa
    you bet. contact one of our agents with your direct mailing address and we can give you a quote. Shoot us an email or give us a call
    customerservice@nellyssecurity.com
    855-340-9999
     
    fenderman likes this.
  7. eh101

    eh101 n3wb

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hey everyone, does this camera still announce something like "subscriber not available" if you ignore the bell? seems like it has been a long while since the firmware was last updated and I don't think I'd buy this with that flaw still in place.
     
  8. scn101

    scn101 Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2015
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Yes, it still announces the subscriber not available message. And sadly we're still unable to turn off the IR. I'm worried HV has abandoned this product.
     
  9. eh101

    eh101 n3wb

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    I just read in the thread for the LTS version of this there's a new firmware for the European model so hopefully it isn't abandoned quite yet. The new firmware was uploaded to hik servers on 6/30.
     
    scn101 likes this.
  10. scn101

    scn101 Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2015
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Well I went ahead and tried the FW on the HV Europe site, "upgrading" from V.1.4.62 Build 171218 to V.1.4.62 Build 180515. By mistake I loaded the 6403 FW first. It worked but then I load the 6003 FW as I think that's what the Nelly NSC-DB1 really is. I'm not sure what the differences are between the two models but both FW seemed identical in operation. The process did take the doorbell offline in the GV app so I had to redo the on-boarding process (which isn't too terribly difficult).

    The subscriber is no longer available message is gone. I think the volumes are a bit improved. Still no way to turn off IR, but will see if it improved IR switch over so hopefully it will see my ambient lighting as sufficient. Though disabling IR altogether is what is needed.
     
    eh101 likes this.
  11. eh101

    eh101 n3wb

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    That is good to hear, I will have to pick one of these up to try. Thanks for the info.
     
  12. Sean Nelson

    Sean Nelson Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2016
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    119
    Location:
    Tulsa
    Here is the link to the Latest Firmware. A couple of changes are listed below but would like your feedback to see if you notice any improvements as we have had very few samplings to choose from:
    - no more "The subscriber is busy" notification at the doorbell if the person viewing the app doesnt answer
    - Better English during setup
    - Supposed to have better sound quality. Louder. I think I noticed this on my doorbell but I cant really compare it to the last one as I dont really remember. Please let me know if you noticed anything
    - some people have said there is better IR performance, Not sure how thats possible on a FW upgrade but looking forward to your feedback on this
    - Supposed to have better wifi connectivity. Please share your feedback.

    https://www.nellyssecurity.com/media/firmware/hikvision/ipcamera/GG/nsc-db1/180515/digicap.dav
     
  13. scn101

    scn101 Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2015
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    I ordered the wedge for the doorbell from Nelly's, it helps a bit with the view. Still wish I could disable IR.

    One issue, to install the wedge I had to disconnect the power to the doorbell. When it rebooted it connected to my WiFi and I could see it on my HV NVR. However, the Guarding Vision now shows the doorbell as "offline." The only way to get it back online was to reset the doorbell. There must be a better way! Resetting the doorbell upon each power failure can't be right.
     
  14. Pilot04

    Pilot04 Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    27
    I tried the Build 180515 on my RCA variant and it seemed to brick it. It got to almost 80% upgrade and then popped up failure message. No power/lights on unit and holding the reset button does nothing. Any others have any similar issue on their doorbell?
     
  15. RyanODan

    RyanODan IPCT Vendor

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    544
    Likes Received:
    214
    Location:
    Tulsa
    It sounds like it's not getting any power if there aren't any lights. I would flip the breaker to see if you start getting any light activity.
     
  16. Pilot04

    Pilot04 Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    27
    Yeah, it is dead. I checked with voltmeter last night and has 19V to the doorbell. Resetting breaker this morning did nothing. My chime dings when I disconnect and reconnect the RCA(hikvision) doorbell so continuity seems to be fine.

    Also, took it off to test on my bench with a different new transformer but still produced no lights. Any other ideas on unbricking this doorbell?
     
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2018
  17. RyanODan

    RyanODan IPCT Vendor

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    544
    Likes Received:
    214
    Location:
    Tulsa
    Unfortunately not, contact whoever you got it from to see about a replacement.
     
  18. wpiman

    wpiman n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2018
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    massachusetts
    So I just installed mine and got it up and working... almost...

    It works pretty well, but when I go to view the live video on a phone or browser: the door bell chimes eventually and I think the door bell reboots.

    When I installed it: I saw the voltage being around 15.5 VAC on the terminals on the DB1. I saw someone say it need to be at least 16. Maybe when it goes under load it is rebooting. My 15.5 was probably before it was on....

    Where is the input voltages speced out? I might want to put a second one on my other door and I believe they share the same transformer. Want to make sure I put a beefy one in there but nothing too potent..
     
  19. wpiman

    wpiman n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2018
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    massachusetts
    So another thing I noticed: I walked by the chime and the chime is humming. I took the cover off and shot this video-- the striker is in the halfway position and if you look at the video carefully-- it is moving slightly up and down. The one on the left is hooked up to the DB1. The right is a regular doorbell.

    My guess is this thing is stealing current and maybe when it uses more it is causing the chime to strike in my case.

     
  20. Sean Nelson

    Sean Nelson Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2016
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    119
    Location:
    Tulsa

    You will need a stronger transformer. The doorbell requires between 16 and 24 vac. As far as the hum, this should help:
    H Series Doorbell Camera Quickstart Guide - Nelly's Security
     
    mat200 likes this.
  21. wpiman

    wpiman n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2018
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    massachusetts
  22. LM2032

    LM2032 n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Ohio
    mat200 and RyanODan like this.
  23. Freshmaker

    Freshmaker n3wb

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I definitely love that the "subscriber is busy" audio is gone, however it seems like the video feed is glitchier. I use Zoneminder as my capture tool and I get a lot more false alarms on my motion detectors due to video glitches (usually a horizontal strip of pixels somewhere in the frame that glitch out for a couple of seconds).
     
  24. wpiman

    wpiman n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2018
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    massachusetts
    God granted mine is pretty far from my access point, but the video is kind of choppy. I think a POE doorbell might make more sense for me.
     
  25. RyanODan

    RyanODan IPCT Vendor

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    544
    Likes Received:
    214
    Location:
    Tulsa
    @wpiman Is it choppy on wifi and cellular? What's your upload speed at the location?
     
  26. wpiman

    wpiman n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2018
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    massachusetts
    It is choppy even when I am on the LAN accessing from a wired PC. My WAP is a Ubiquiti AP PRO located at the center of the house. The door is unfortunately about as far from the access point as you can get. My phone can get about 200 mbits over the wifi using iperf to my server in the basement when the phone is next to the access point; but at the location of the doorbell that falls to about 4 mbits/sec.

    I run continuous pings to the doorbell; and I will get low pings, then will get delays of up to a second, and then it will fail.
     
  27. Chuck Connors

    Chuck Connors n3wb

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Louisiana
    I purchased this doorbell and installed it this weekend. I've noticed that the delay from pressing the doorbell to the time that my phone rings is a bit long. Is this normal?

    Also, I noticed some using Guarding Vision app while others use Hik-Connect. Is one better than the other? Is there any other alternatives?
     
  28. RyanODan

    RyanODan IPCT Vendor

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    544
    Likes Received:
    214
    Location:
    Tulsa
    Hey @Chuck Connors, about how long does it take to ring your phone after pressing the button?

    Personally I like Hik-Connect the best. Also, can you grab me the firmware version you are running on the doorbell? It should be listed at the bottom of the DB settings on the app.
     
  29. Bob NWI

    Bob NWI Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2018
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Northwest Indiana
    I've had mine installed a couple of weeks now and it works great. Recording 24/7 to an Amcrest NVR but only video/audio record works. Any recommendations on alternate NVR that will allow full time record and motion detection with snap shot?
     
  30. scn101

    scn101 Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2015
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    The doorbell is made by Hikvision and supports the Hikvision protocol. I'm using the Hikvision DS-7616NI-E2 NVR and it records only on motion.