NEW 1080P Wifi Video Doorbell!

Discussion in 'Nelly's Security' started by AJ47, Dec 11, 2017.

Share This Page

  1. ldasilva

    ldasilva Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    238
  2. scn101

    scn101 Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2015
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    54
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    The doorbell comes with a resistor. Just remove one wire from one of the chime's terminals, transformer or front connection, doesn't matter, or remove both wires from the chime, just make sure you complete the circuit with the resistor instead of the chime completing the circuit. This way you're still limiting the current to the doorbell but since the chime is no longer in the circuit, it won't chime when the doorbell button is pressed. You can leave the chime installed on the wall so you can always go back to chimes ringing.
     
    RyanODan and giomania like this.
  3. David Dimit

    David Dimit n3wb

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    with your replacement chime do you get a ding dong or just ding?
     
  4. Sean Nelson

    Sean Nelson Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2016
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    75
    Location:
    Tulsa
    A very fast "Ding Dong"

    They relay opening is very quick on these.
     
  5. scn101

    scn101 Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2015
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    54
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Any word on when/if a new firmware will arrive that will allow one to disable the IR illumination?
     
  6. Sean Nelson

    Sean Nelson Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2016
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    75
    Location:
    Tulsa
    Ive been hounding them for it. I hounded pretty hard the other day. Im hoping they listen. This should be an easy thing for them to incorporate.
     
    giomania, ldasilva and fenderman like this.
  7. David Dimit

    David Dimit n3wb

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Has anyone tried the Diode Trick with electronic door bells? Mine had a diode across the button and I see ring/skybell include a diode as part of their install package
     
  8. scn101

    scn101 Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2015
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    54
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Ok, please keep us posted. Thanks!
     
  9. David Dimit

    David Dimit n3wb

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok Ive had this installed for a couple of days. I had to move one of my AP's to get better signal level -30-40 range. This seems to have improved the reliability for the Guarding Vision App but it looses connection to Blue Iris and wont reconnect. Not pingable or web interface access but Guarding Vision access still works. Running ONVIF detection in BI it does not reply. Power cycling the unit seems to bring it back for a few hours.
     
  10. RyanODan

    RyanODan IPCT Vendor

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    205
    Location:
    Tulsa
    If it's not pingable it's possible the IP address has changed. Install SADP or the Batch Config Tool to see if it detects it.

    -SADP

    -Batch Config Tool
     
  11. David Dimit

    David Dimit n3wb

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have it set up as a static dhcp from my router so its has not changed
     
  12. David Dimit

    David Dimit n3wb

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm on the fence if I'm going to return or not.

    On the plus side
    1. it integrated into my blue iris server easily.

    on the negative side ,
    1. The wifi radio is weak it expects signal -50dbm or better to work reliably.I had to move a AP closer for it to work
    2. The audio is extremely weak as compared to ring or other devices I live on a busy street and its hard for people at the door to hear you
    3. The Doorbell app isn't that mature. i have issues with it logging out on my phone getting the ring and not be able to pick up or having it drop the call.
    4. It will not work if you have a digital doorbell. You need the Ding/Dong mechanical doorbell.
    5. Running video to Blue Iris taxes the device. It make the web interface so slow its unusable. you have to stop the video feed to be able to web into it. I think this may also be whats causing issues with the APP as the processor is not robust enough to handle the video stream and handle the calling routines.
    6 Its running really warm even with the cosmetic cover on its very warm to the touch. Not confident on the long term reliability, Our summers can get to 105 degrees + on many days.

    I really, really wanted this to work. but I think its going back.
     
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2018
  13. jon102034050

    jon102034050 Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2015
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    4
    to be quite honest, this thing is sort of a piece of junk, but it seems to be the only option for what it is :(
     
  14. robertcj01

    robertcj01 n3wb

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    Is there a way to bench test and set up the doorbell before installations? I am going to have to make some modifications to my house where the doorbell will be installed and want to make sure I am happy with it before installation. I know I won't know for sure how I like it until it is fully installed but would like to bench test first.
     
  15. jon102034050

    jon102034050 Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2015
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    4
    just buy a whole bunch of bell wire and run it from your ding dong dealio to your bell location for a temporary setup?
     
    RyanODan and giomania like this.
  16. Amgclk65

    Amgclk65 n3wb

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2018
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hello
    After updating my firmware. The app stoped sending doorbell rings/notifications to my phone. I’ve looked over the setup option and don’t see anything that’s changed.
    Anyone run into this?
     
  17. RyanODan

    RyanODan IPCT Vendor

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    205
    Location:
    Tulsa
    Which firmware did you update to?
     
  18. Amgclk65

    Amgclk65 n3wb

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2018
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    2
    The latest one I believe. I used Nelly’s guide with the link to the firmware. 1.4.62 build 172201. According to the guarding app.
     
  19. Amgclk65

    Amgclk65 n3wb

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2018
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    2
    It connectes better to my WiFi now. But it’s uselless as a doorbell. The door rings at the unit. Never alerts my iPhone. After a bit the doorbell states the subscriber is not available.
     
  20. RyanODan

    RyanODan IPCT Vendor

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    205
    Location:
    Tulsa
    Oh wow, are you sure you didn't downgrade? That's not the newest. Here's the newest version 171218. (12-18-2017 build date): Box
     
  21. Amgclk65

    Amgclk65 n3wb

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2018
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    2
    Let me update it and try again. ill let you know here shortly if it fixes the issue. thanks for responding.
     
  22. Amgclk65

    Amgclk65 n3wb

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2018
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    2
    No luck. Same issue. Verified the new firmware.
     
  23. Amgclk65

    Amgclk65 n3wb

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2018
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    2
    Maybe I’ll contact tech support at Nelly’s. I’ve ran out of ideas to restore the function.
     
  24. tibimakai

    tibimakai Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    May 8, 2017
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    36
    Even a Ring Pro, is not perfect.
     
  25. Amgclk65

    Amgclk65 n3wb

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2018
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    2
    True,
    The main reason for a doorbell camera is to alert me when someone rings the doorbell. The feature has stopped working all together. Rma I guess now.
     
  26. tibimakai

    tibimakai Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    May 8, 2017
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    36
    I had to RMA my Ring as well, because the audio it was so noisy "windy", that I could not bear listening to. The second one, it's just OK.
    Audio, is cutting in and out as well.
    I guess, doorbells are not there yet.
     
  27. RyanODan

    RyanODan IPCT Vendor

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    205
    Location:
    Tulsa
    fenderman likes this.
  28. scn101

    scn101 Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2015
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    54
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    I'm having the same issue. Using Hik-Connect I can get notifications but after a day or two the doorbell goes "offline" yet my HV NVR and the doorbell's web interface all work fine, the camera is working and sending video. So I switched to Guarding Vision but it doesn't notify me of doorbell button pushes but it does notify me of motion. So basically useless as a remote alert doorbell. I did notice that the GV app no longer has a "Message Push Notification" https://www.nellyssecurity.com/quickstart/src/img/guides/doorbell/motion-2.jpg screen entry. I do have notifications on under my iPhones settings.
     
  29. Amgclk65

    Amgclk65 n3wb

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2018
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    2
    I’ve gone through all the steps you’ve stated.
    As well as creating a second account.
    Still no luck. I’ve had it running with blueiris
    From the get go. I let blueiris send motion notifications vs the app. I only use the app for doorbell functions.
     
  30. scn101

    scn101 Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2015
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    54
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Quick update. I removed my doorbell from my NVR and the GV app is now notifying me. I re-added the doorbell to my hikvision NVR and the notifications continue to work on GV. Go figure. Thanks @RyanODan for the help.
     
    RyanODan likes this.