New RCA HSDB2A 3MP Doorbell IP Camera

pete_c

Getting comfortable
Joined
Jul 30, 2019
Messages
293
Reaction score
387
Location
Time
Is it possible to reposition the date / time on the DB1 so it's not on the default bottom of the picture?

It works for me using the Hikvision firmware that is in my signature. Mine is on the top. It did not work before using the Hikvision firmware.

timedate.jpg
 
Last edited:

DoorBellDummy

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Jul 9, 2020
Messages
52
Reaction score
55
Location
USA
Is it possible to reposition the date / time on the DB1 so it's not on the default bottom of the picture?

It works for me using the Hikvision firmware that is in my signature. Mine is on the top. It did not work before using the Hikvision firmware.

View attachment 67019
Interesting. I am on the EZVIZ firmware. Don't think I would want to flash it and do all that work to move it then. Thanks though.
 

s1myr

n3wb
Joined
Apr 14, 2018
Messages
13
Reaction score
15
Yes, you mentioned it, and it's normal that after a reset it goes in AP mode. But after you change SSID as per my guide, you shouldn't have weird issues like this.

That's why I ask you again: after the upgrade to hikvision's firmware, did you do the reset, reboot, and changed the SSID to EZVIZ_xxxxx as the guide indicates?

It seems like you upgraded and didn't reset. If so, that could lead to strange issues like the one you described.
Hi. Yes I did the reset, reboot, and changed the SSID to EZVIZ_xxxxx as the guide indicates but the EZVIZ_xxxxx wouldn't stick. It goes back to Softap_xxxxxx after a reboot. So I reloaded the Hikvision firmware last night followed the instructions and after the third attempt, it managed it to hold the EZVIZ_xxxxxx after reboot. it's now back up and running so will have to see if the Wifi settings hold after the next powercut. I'm wondering if when the power comes back on, the possible power surge is forcing the wifi reset. Here's hoping.....
 

alexdelprete

Getting comfortable
Joined
Jan 2, 2020
Messages
522
Reaction score
781
Location
Rome, Italy
Hi. Yes I did the reset, reboot, and changed the SSID to EZVIZ_xxxxx as the guide indicates but the EZVIZ_xxxxx wouldn't stick. It goes back to Softap_xxxxxx after a reboot. So I reloaded the Hikvision firmware last night followed the instructions and after the third attempt, it managed it to hold the EZVIZ_xxxxxx after reboot. it's now back up and running so will have to see if the Wifi settings hold after the next powercut. I'm wondering if when the power comes back on, the possible power surge is forcing the wifi reset. Here's hoping.....
Glad that now it seems to be working. You can simulate the power outage through the braker, turn off, wait 5 minutes and turn on and test if settings get lost. They shouldn't.
 

redturbo

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Feb 3, 2020
Messages
17
Reaction score
26
Location
Point Place, WI
i had the outside chime disabled for a while, but turned it back on. if from outside the person can hear the indoor chime then i think outside chime can be disabled. but if you cant hear any indoor chime from outside, someitmes tendency is to press the doorbell button more times. When outdoor chime is enabled it just confirms the press and dont need to press more than once.
i also enable that little tone when it detects motion so even before they press the doorbell. if someone dropping off a package or snooping, they know they are being watched
 

Pilot04

Pulling my weight
Joined
Aug 1, 2017
Messages
279
Reaction score
160
Do any of you in the US happen to have a wired Honeywell home security system? I’d like to see if it’s possible to integrate this db cam into Total Connect 2.0.
I couldn't get it to work with my Vista-20P system when I tried back 1.5yrs ago. I can't even get it to show live feed on my two Tuxedo Touch TUXWIFIW touchscreens.
 

David L

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
1,414
Reaction score
820
Location
USA
I couldn't get it to work with my Vista-20P system when I tried back 1.5yrs ago. I can't even get it to show live feed on my two Tuxedo Touch TUXWIFIW touchscreens.
If you ever want to make your Vista-20P Smart, Konnected is a great solution. I have a Vista system too, or did, I used the Gen1 Konnected Interface on the system, only problem I had was with Zone 1, which had something to do with it being a Smoke Detector Zone apparently, but all the other Zones worked great. I am sure the new Interface fixed that. I actually just replaced my Vista-15P with the Konnected system completely. Using the Interface allows you to keep your keypads, but since I installed ActionTiles on a Fire Tablet, no need for the old analog keypad anymore. Presently I have it connected to SmartThings. Really great setup, when my wife and I leave with our phones the system automatically arms, when we get back it unarms. No forgetting if you armed your system. Also, of course with SmartThings monitoring, we see if any windows/doors are open/closed and we get notification if their status changes. I ordered the new Konnected Pro board, once it arrives I plan to move to the system to Hubitat. Also, we have a First Alert Smoke system, that I will be adding a relay to and connecting it to our alarm system too. Will be replacing our Smoke Detectors with Smoke/Carbon Mon. Detectors too. One of many things on my ToDo list :)

Only thing about ActionTiles is it does not have a direct way to RTSP stream to it, but there are workaround solutions, you just need a Transcoder Server, like Blue Iris or tinyCam PRO to get your Doorbell/Cameras feed.

Old Pic:

1595688318894.png
 
Last edited:

Pilot04

Pulling my weight
Joined
Aug 1, 2017
Messages
279
Reaction score
160
If you ever want to make your Vista-20P Smart, Konnected is a great solution. I have a Vista system too, or did, I used the Gen1 Konnected Interface on the system, only problem I had was with Zone 1, which had something to do with it being a Smoke Detector Zone apparently, but all the other Zones worked great. I am sure the new Interface fixed that. I actually just replaced my Vista-15P with the Konnected system completely. Using the Interface allows you to keep your keypads, but since I installed ActionTiles on a Fire Tablet, no need for the old analog keypad anymore. Presently I have it connected to SmartThings. Really great setup, when my wife and I leave with our phones the system automatically arms, when we get back it unarms. No forgetting if you armed your system. Also, of course with SmartThings monitoring, we see if any windows/doors are open/closed and we get notification if their status changes. I ordered the new Konnected Pro board, once it arrives I plan to move to the system to Hubitat. Also, we have a First Alert Smoke system, that I will be adding a relay to and connecting it to our alarm system too. Will be replacing our Smoke Detectors with Smoke/Carbon Mon. Detectors too. One of many things on my ToDo list :)

Only thing about ActionTiles is it does not have a direct way to RTSP stream to it, but there are workaround solutions, you just need a Transcoder Server, like Blue Iris or tinyCam PRO to get your Doorbell/Cameras feed.
Yep, I've been running SmartThings with my Vista-20P system for 3.5yrs now using the Honeywell Vista 20P DTH via Envisalink EVL-4 IP module and use HousePanel for Home Automation dashboard as it allows to display RTSP streams for my HSDB2 doorbell and my other Dahua security cameras. I went that option instead of Konnected back then because wife didn't want to drop the Honeywell Tuxedo Touchscreens that we paid $300/ea for and I didn't have to change things on our Vista-20P system but still have all the access to home alarm system via SmartThings app and EyezOn app on our phones.

I trialed the initial versions of ActionTiles but chose not to upgrade from Beta as you can't customize like HousePanel dashboard but ActionTiles has grown since then and is a great dashboard for folks who likes quick and easy setup and don't need customization or viewing RTSP streams. As you've experienced with SmartThings, we use tons of automations via SmartThings Routines/SmartApps/webCoRE/Alexa/Google Home/etc and get push notifications for any of our things within SmartThings. I'm sure I'll have to move on to newer stuff if developer of the Honeywell DTH doesn't port over to future versions of SmartThings platform but will cross that bridge at that time.

If you're using Alexa Echo or Shows in your home, you will like Echo Speaks if you aren't already using it in SmartThings. It's our custom voice chime for our doorbell for the kids as they don't have Hikvision app on their phones.
 

Dewcal

n3wb
Joined
Oct 19, 2019
Messages
19
Reaction score
19
Location
Darlington
Wondering if anyone can advise please?
EZVIZ DB-1 running using EZVIZ firmware and mechanical chime operating off 24v transformer. This week I had to reset the bell as the SSID had changed. All seemed fine except that it will no longer ring the mechanical chime. None of the wiring was touched during the reset. Using EZVIZ app (ANdroid) v4.4.5.0713, I cannot see any option to select none, mechanical or electronic chime.
Am I missing something or do I need to delete bell from app, power down and add bell to app again?
 

David L

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
1,414
Reaction score
820
Location
USA
Wondering if anyone can advise please?
EZVIZ DB-1 running using EZVIZ firmware and mechanical chime operating off 24v transformer. This week I had to reset the bell as the SSID had changed. All seemed fine except that it will no longer ring the mechanical chime. None of the wiring was touched during the reset. Using EZVIZ app (ANdroid) v4.4.5.0713, I cannot see any option to select none, mechanical or electronic chime.
Am I missing something or do I need to delete bell from app, power down and add bell to app again?
I would try another App with the Chime option first. LaView ONE still has the option, also Guarding Vision I believe does too. Not sure about Hik-Connect. Possibly RCA App still does too.

⦁ Available Apps (Allows Remote Access):
iO/S: Hik-Connect, RCA Security, EZVIZ, LaView One, Guarding Vision
Android: Hik-Connect, RCA Security, EZVIZ, LaView ONE, Guarding Vision
 
Top