Possible to setup new NVR via PC over network connection?

Option

n3wb
Reaction score
Hello, I'm completely new to camera systems so my apologies if this is a ridiculous question. I was planning to buy one of those prepackaged NVR/IP camera systems and install the NVR in a hidden location in my home that is easy to route wire to but difficult to find/access if anyone is looking for it. I initially thought that I could run the cameras to the NVR and connect the NVR to my network allowing me to access and set it up via my PC in another room. However, I'm getting the impression that NVRs need to be directly connected to a display for initial setup and access to settings. Can anyone tell me if that is that correct? If so, can you tell me how people install NVRs in hidden locations away from TVs and PC monitors? Thank you!

mat200

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
Hello, I'm completely new to camera systems so my apologies if this is a ridiculous question. I was planning to buy one of those prepackaged NVR/IP camera systems and install the NVR in a hidden location in my home that is easy to route wire to but difficult to find/access if anyone is looking for it. I initially thought that I could run the cameras to the NVR and connect the NVR to my network allowing me to access and set it up via my PC in another room. However, I'm getting the impression that NVRs need to be directly connected to a display for initial setup and access to settings. Can anyone tell me if that is that correct? If so, can you tell me how people install NVRs in hidden locations away from TVs and PC monitors? Thank you!
Welcome Option,

The NVR can run headless - during setup I like to use a VGA monitor to configure it.

If you need to trouble shoot it, place it in such a way that you can attach a monitor and mouse to it.

Remember venting is good to help keep the temp from building up.

Option

n3wb
Reaction score