Review-Dahua DB-11 Video Door Bell

Bitslizer

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Nov 23, 2017
Messages
179
Reaction score
36
I will fire it back up and check for a firmware update.
@EMPIRETECANDY do you know of an update?
Also the PIR on this would be a god send, I just have another partly cloudy and windy day, the sunny/cloudy shadow + trees branches shadows is setting off my Hikvision 6003 MD like crazy!
 

elitef

Getting the hang of it
Joined
May 25, 2015
Messages
121
Reaction score
14
Looney, how would you compare the DB1 from Hikvision to the DB11 from Dahua? Which is better/worse and why?
 

dudemaar

Pulling my weight
Joined
Aug 18, 2018
Messages
203
Reaction score
173
Location
Canada
I am also interested in this, if its reliable. I am installing 4 dahua cameras /w (4801-4k)NVR and this guy wants a door bell cam that connects to the nvr with the motion alert push notification via gDMSS app. I was reading a thread here about the VTO2111D-WP Dahua VTO2111D-WP Information and Hacking and it sounds like it does work with the NVR and app, but what about the motion alerts? any tips on a product that would work is much appreciated, Thanks.
 

catcamstar

Known around here
Joined
Jan 28, 2018
Messages
1,097
Reaction score
695
I am also interested in this, if its reliable. I am installing 4 dahua cameras /w (4801-4k)NVR and this guy wants a door bell cam that connects to the nvr with the motion alert push notification via gDMSS app. I was reading a thread here about the VTO2111D-WP Dahua VTO2111D-WP Information and Hacking and it sounds like it does work with the NVR and app, but what about the motion alerts? any tips on a product that would work is much appreciated, Thanks.
Hi, cannot answer for this VTO2111D-WP in particular, but for the VTO2000A (see [Review] VTO2000A & VTH1550CH & VTNS1060A Intercom Kit) I got the official answer from DAHUA that extented capabilities (like IVS etc) are not possible with these cams, however if you are willing to stream 24/7 from VTO to your NVR, then the latter can do basic motion detection. But beware, especially with "battery" VTO's, it will drain batteries fast, and consume bandwidth from VTO to your NVR. I have, for reasons of physical security, separated this physical network from my home network.

Hope this helps.
CC
 

looney2ns

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Sep 25, 2016
Messages
8,371
Reaction score
6,970
Location
Evansville, In. USA
Sorry for the delay, no new firmware....but the Lechange app has updated. Things are looking up.

With the door bell in line of sight of the router, all functions are now working.

The only issue out of 20 door bell test press's was that three times the phone took over 2 minutes to receive the call.
Once, the app didn't give me anyway to answer.

I also received a notification in the Lechange app that on or about Oct23,
They wiil do a major app update and change the name of it again.

I will test outside at the front door in a day or two.
 

giomania

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Jun 1, 2017
Messages
754
Reaction score
492
Maybe they will rename it to “LeBell”!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
 

looney2ns

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Sep 25, 2016
Messages
8,371
Reaction score
6,970
Location
Evansville, In. USA
Had this outdoors now at the front door for two days.
All features are now working with the latest Lechange app.
The only fault I can find with it, is the audio coming from the DB11, is very low. So low, that I can't hear it on my LG-G3 cell phone, but on my wifes MotoG4 Plus, it's low but acceptable.
The audio from the DB11 to BI is low but useable.
It's been stable in BI for 48hrs.
Here's a couple of videos.
By the way, there is a button in Lechange that is suppose to allow you to download the video from the cam, but it remains grayed out, and not usable.

Solicitors: NOTE Audio in this video is coming from a Microseven hooked to another cam on the porch just to the right of the DB11. This is recorded in BI.
Be sure to choose 1080p playback.


Listening to the audio on the Lechange app for this scene, with the audio from the DB11, you can catch one or two very low volume words.


In the end, other than the low audio volume, the DB11 is now working. Only other issue, is there is NO room in the back of the doorbell it's self for wiring. If you don't have a fair sized hole to shove the wires back into, your out of luck. We will see what happens with the new upcoming overhaul of the Lechange app.

@EMPIRETECANDY
 

Tom Lorek

n3wb
Joined
Aug 17, 2017
Messages
18
Reaction score
13
Location
Central Indiana
Here’s a question I haven’t seen asked:

If all I want is a doorbell cam that can integrate with BI for both audio and video and I don’t care about real time listening or installing another app on my phone (other than for setup) then would this be a good choice? It’s beginning to sound like the answer is “yes”.
 
Last edited:

looney2ns

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Sep 25, 2016
Messages
8,371
Reaction score
6,970
Location
Evansville, In. USA
Here’s a question I haven’t seen asked:

If all I want is a doorbell cam that can integrate with BI for both audio and video and I don’t care about real time listening or installing another app on my phone (other than for setup) then would this be a good choice? It’s beginning to sound like the answer is “yes”.
Yes sir.
 

flynreelow

Pulling my weight
Joined
Dec 12, 2016
Messages
389
Reaction score
133
quality looks pretty damn good. looks like the main drawback is that its just WiFI (non POE) and the audio is a bit low

Any other cons we should be concerned about? If we dont want to use the lechange app, will we get notified via the blue iris app when there is motion , or ring?
 

looney2ns

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Sep 25, 2016
Messages
8,371
Reaction score
6,970
Location
Evansville, In. USA
quality looks pretty damn good. looks like the main drawback is that its just WiFI (non POE) and the audio is a bit low

Any other cons we should be concerned about? If we dont want to use the lechange app, will we get notified via the blue iris app when there is motion , or ring?
Sure, you can setup motion or zone crossing in Bi and push notifications based on that.
 

105437

BIT Beta Team
Joined
Jun 8, 2015
Messages
732
Reaction score
115
So how do you get power to this device? I don't have access to run wiring to the front door. Can it use the existing transformer wires for the traditional doorbell I have? Thanks
 

flynreelow

Pulling my weight
Joined
Dec 12, 2016
Messages
389
Reaction score
133
So how do you get power to this device? I don't have access to run wiring to the front door. Can it use the existing transformer wires for the traditional doorbell I have? Thanks
yes, comes with the doorbell kit that will attach to your current doorbell transformer
 

105437

BIT Beta Team
Joined
Jun 8, 2015
Messages
732
Reaction score
115
yes, comes with the doorbell kit that will attach to your current doorbell transformer
So the existing doorbell wires can be used? I wouldn't be able to run different wires to the transformer. Thanks
 
Top