Review: Dahua SD5A425XA-HNR 4MP 25x Starlight IR PTZ

EMPIRETECANDY

IPCT Vendor
Joined
Nov 8, 2016
Messages
4,957
Reaction score
10,937
Location
HONGKONG
latest new one just use a newer security baseline, no furhter upgrade from 2020-11-23, I just go to dahua GDP server,found they delete the July-2021 version. Maybe not stable, still need some working on it.
 

EMPIRETECANDY

IPCT Vendor
Joined
Nov 8, 2016
Messages
4,957
Reaction score
10,937
Location
HONGKONG
I use this one. Dahua RD team upload the LATEST New firmware here, and then web manager upload to the website, i watched the July firmware days ago, right now not on it.
Just show up this one. Better wait later when official release.
SD-Prometheus_MultiLang_PN_Stream3_V2.810.0000001.4.R.210708
1626102366109.png
1626101971340.png
 

ljw2k

Getting comfortable
Joined
Jun 9, 2014
Messages
982
Reaction score
1,130
Location
United Kingdom
Does anyone have ptz control delay? All my other ptz camera are instantaneous and smooth. But sd5a425 I have to hold control and wait 2 seconds and moving isnt predictable.
Did you sort the delay problem as mine is delayed also tried standard Onvif & Dahua settings in BI but same a few seconds delay unlike my SD49225XA-HNR which was pretty much instant.
The short delay also happens in the Web GUI also.

I am not using the Power Supply which came with the camera as I use the below and wondering if this is something to do with the lag?

Tenda PoE Switch 6-Port/100M Ethernet Network Switch,Hub,4 PoE Ports up to 30 W for each PoE Port and 67 W for all PoE Ports,Plug and Play: Amazon.co.uk: Computers & Accessories
 
Last edited:

genelit

Pulling my weight
Joined
Jan 4, 2018
Messages
128
Reaction score
135
Location
Sweden
Hi,

I'm powering my SD5A425 from a 24w(?) Injector and I think it's a bit low. I experience the camera to reboot when autotracking and especially when IR is activated (higher consumption).

I agree with the PTZ-stearing being a bit slow. I will connect the 24VAC power unit and see if this also will speed up the PTZ-handling. Will report back to you if I experience any difference.
 

lagvoid

Young grasshopper
Joined
Nov 19, 2014
Messages
49
Reaction score
12
I'm considering two SD5A425 or similar PTZ cameras with auto tracking to cover the front of a new home currently under construction. This would be my first PTZ camera, having only used turrets and bullets at previous homes. I saw recommendations to mount this camera higher than normal cameras so any help is appreciated with placement here.

-The front of the house is about 70 ft from the street
-Plan to have cameras mounted on left and right of home with default view zoomed out pointing across each other.

Front picture shows potential mounting points in red or green circles. Green circles approx 10 ft high. Red would be approx 20 ft high. Top view shows rough field of view at 60 degrees.
front-ptz.jpg top-ptz.jpg

-Mount higher at red location or lower at green?

I have an existing BI server (i7-4790s) running a mix of Hik and Dahua cameras (20 cameras averaging ~50% cpu usage). Would like to continue using this server but am open to upgrading if required. Appreciate any input.
 

wittaj

Known around here
Joined
Apr 28, 2019
Messages
5,213
Reaction score
6,954
Location
USA
PTZs tend to work better a little higher, so you could get by with the higher option. I have one on the 2nd story and one on the 1st floor and for the distance stuff it doesn't make much difference. Obviously the closer the subject gets to the camera, the lower the better, but for getting stuff at the street 70 feet away, the 20ft high would probably be ideal.

Keep in mind that the PTZ shouldn't replace fixed cams as they could be looking the wrong way. But in combination with fixed cams to act as spotter cams, you can have a very robust system where the fixed cam will tell the PTZ where to look, so if the PTZ is facing left and someone approaches from the right, you could have BI tell the PTZ to swing to a preset on the right.

That computer is older but still capable. I suspect you have not done EVERY optimization in the wiki? A member here was running 50 cameras on a 4th generation at 30% CPU. Are you running the substreams? Substreams, Direct-to-Disc, and less than 15FPS are tremendous CPU saver.

 

lagvoid

Young grasshopper
Joined
Nov 19, 2014
Messages
49
Reaction score
12
PTZs tend to work better a little higher, so you could get by with the higher option. I have one on the 2nd story and one on the 1st floor and for the distance stuff it doesn't make much difference. Obviously the closer the subject gets to the camera, the lower the better, but for getting stuff at the street 70 feet away, the 20ft high would probably be ideal.

Keep in mind that the PTZ shouldn't replace fixed cams as they could be looking the wrong way. But in combination with fixed cams to act as spotter cams, you can have a very robust system where the fixed cam will tell the PTZ where to look, so if the PTZ is facing left and someone approaches from the right, you could have BI tell the PTZ to swing to a preset on the right.

That computer is older but still capable. I suspect you have not done EVERY optimization in the wiki? A member here was running 50 cameras on a 4th generation at 30% CPU. Are you running the substreams? Substreams, Direct-to-Disc, and less than 15FPS are tremendous CPU saver.

Thanks for the quick response. Yes, the plan would be to continue using fixed cameras with wide lenses to capture most while the PTZ could capture detailed activity for face ID and hopefully even plates.

I have done all the optimizations in the wiki except substreams. Will have to ensure all cameras are set for substreams for viewing. The system used to run in the 30s-40s, will have to investigate.

I'm still in early research, but would you opt for the SD5A425 or something else? Would like to avoid going with anything larger...
 

wittaj

Known around here
Joined
Apr 28, 2019
Messages
5,213
Reaction score
6,954
Location
USA
Substreams will take you down below 15% on that machine.

I would strongly consider then using the fixed cams as spotter cams to help make sure the PTZ is looking the right way!

That PTZ is a great one that has the larger sensor, but the 49225 PTZ if purchased from @EMPIRETECANDY has autotracking and is a very capable camera as well. Smaller and cheaper if size and cost are two factors. If not, then I would go with this one.
 

EMPIRETECANDY

IPCT Vendor
Joined
Nov 8, 2016
Messages
4,957
Reaction score
10,937
Location
HONGKONG
SD5a425XA-HNR use 1/1.8cmos, SD494245XB-HNR and SD49225XA-HNR use 1/2.7cmos. low light the SD5A425 is bit better than the SD49225XA, and more AI functions on the SD5A425 too.
If has good budget, the SD5A425XA-HNR is the best choice. If not use SD494245XB-HNR or SD49225XA-HNR , They are wonderful cams too.
 

lagvoid

Young grasshopper
Joined
Nov 19, 2014
Messages
49
Reaction score
12
I will compare those two PTZ units closely to see what works best for budget and existing lighting.

I'm stumped about PTZ activation. What spec am I looking for as a spotter camera to trigger the PTZ activation? Can this be done without a Dahua NVR using just Dahua PTZ and Dahua compatible spotter camera with new IVS firmware? I have a few IPC-HDW5231R-ZE and IPC-HFW8232E-Z cameras. They have IVS options but I don't see the PTZ activation option when I create IVS rules.
 

genelit

Pulling my weight
Joined
Jan 4, 2018
Messages
128
Reaction score
135
Location
Sweden
I will compare those two PTZ units closely to see what works best for budget and existing lighting.

I'm stumped about PTZ activation. What spec am I looking for as a spotter camera to trigger the PTZ activation? Can this be done without a Dahua NVR using just Dahua PTZ and Dahua compatible spotter camera with new IVS firmware? I have a few IPC-HDW5231R-ZE and IPC-HFW8232E-Z cameras. They have IVS options but I don't see the PTZ activation option when I create IVS rules.
You'll need a NVR to get the "PTZ Link". This is configured in the IVS settings in the NVR. You can use any camera as a spotter, as long as they support IVS.
 

lagvoid

Young grasshopper
Joined
Nov 19, 2014
Messages
49
Reaction score
12
You'll need a NVR to get the "PTZ Link". This is configured in the IVS settings in the NVR. You can use any camera as a spotter, as long as they support IVS.
Thank you! Spent the last couple hours trying to figure out what I needed without success. More things to look into now, but for a good cause.

For other's searching similar info: PTZ Activation setup
 
Last edited:
Top