Review - TOP-201 Super Mini 720P HD IP-Cam (The Cheapest IP Cam So Far !!)

Discussion in 'IP Cameras' started by lojix, Dec 13, 2014.

Share This Page

  1. ebaycam

    ebaycam Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2015
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    3
    i have the vmeyesuper app installed on android. And have 4 top201 ip camera. And the settings in vmeyesuper are on main stream. But it is slowly. And have real time on. When i use sub stream, no problem. I have a octa core s912 and 3gb ddr3 ram. The proccesor is on 98% 1.26ghz And that is only the vmeyesuper app.

    I want watch on MAIN stream and REAL TIME. what is the best app for that? on my i7 pc it goes smoothly with the CMS program.
     
  2. Kawboy12R

    Kawboy12R Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2014
    Messages:
    1,335
    Likes Received:
    323
    Try Tiny Cam. Much faster framerate than others I've used. I can't get full framerate on 1080p on my S4 but watching with another program was like watching someone flip pages slowly in a picturebook. 2fps maybe? 7-8 fps at 1080p on Tiny Cam with software decoding. Hardware decoding doesn't work on an S4.
     
  3. ebaycam

    ebaycam Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2015
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    3
    i have tested with tinycam too (see my other post from june) But i guess now what the problem is! i have synology servers that record the camera`s. And that is high quality. So i think you can only watch on 1 device high quality with RTSP, and on other devices you can only see sub stream (RTSP). If i use a android or ios device and watch main stream, after a while it reboots the camera. The synology use port 8899 for the camera to connect. I go tomorrow disconnect the camera`s from the synology, and use tinycam/vmeyesuper to watch in main stream. Maybe then it is solved. The cms program from the top201 works good. And that use different settings i guess to view the camera. No rtsp, i think it is http. If i know how they do that, i can make it work on my device too. I keep you updated when i figured it out. And you guys can always help me ofcourse :D


    UPDATE 21-12-2016: So if you want see it on mobile device, you can easily watch on sub stream,real time. And watch it with vmeye super, because if you use tinycam you can only view it with RTSP on 2 devices, the main and sub stream! my next thing to do is installing the camera`s on a wordpress website. So then you maybe not needed high cpu to watch. I want always view in high quality on every device :D

    UPDATE2 21-12-2016: I have said i have a synology that record camera right? That have build in SurveillanceStation. So i have setting up live view, and that is ofcourse using the rtsp main stream. And i can watch now the main stream on my own server. The rtsp main stream in synology is recording and watching. Inside the surveillancestation you have a plugin called: CMS. When you installed that, you can add a other synology server with surveillancestation and CMS installed, so you have the camera`s from the other server on 1 page! So then you have no problem with viewing on main stream. The cpu of the synology is only using then, and it is not much. so that is important. Your own device do not needed high cpu or gpu. They also have a app called DSCAM but that is 1fps or so.

    For now is my problem finally solved.
     
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2016
  4. chorizo

    chorizo n3wb

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    4
    I've read the manpage for BusyBox v1.16.1 but the version shipped on the IP camera seems to differ a bit (as the built-in help shows that command won't accept any argument).

    I've discovered the right command to start a non-crippled telnetd daemon listening on the default port (23) by trial and error (fourth attempt):
    Code:
    telnetd -f
    After having issued it from the crippled shell session on port 9527 you can open another connection to the new telnetd authenticating as:
    • Username: root
    • Password: xmhdipc
    Here's a gif recording which shows the whole process:

    [​IMG]

    I hope that this will be useful to you.

    Thanks everybody! (special thanks to cybermaus)
     
    Alexey and JoeShmo like this.
  5. cybermaus

    cybermaus n3wb

    Joined:
    May 26, 2016
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    6
    No prob. Thanks for doing proper write-down of what you did, rather than key-banging it and then not remembering the details, like I did.

    However, a small remark:

    While your animated console is very nifty to look at, I am not sure I like it.
    It means I have to wait and watch, rather than speed-read it. And even if I want to focus better, and I want to reread, I have to wait a cycle.
    Also I suspect it does not get indexed and thus search-ability is less.

    I am sort of hoping it will not become a trend. Can I at least suggest you *also* simply copy/paste the log into a code block?
     
    alastairstevenson likes this.
  6. JoeShmo

    JoeShmo n3wb

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2016
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    @chorizo, thanks for doing all the hard work for this...
    For anyone wondering, here is how to make this thing a DHCP client (all my cams are dhcp, and I setup reservations on my router)

    once logged into the telnet session, issue this command:
    echo 1 > /mnt/mtd/Config/dhcp.cfg
    the camera will IMMEDIATELY get and IP via dhcp. Also, this survives a reboot, so you only need to do this once.
    theres other interesting files in this directory (such as Account1 and Accoun2). I have not found an editor yet, but you can change values with sed (if you know how to use sed).

    As per cybermaus's remark, here are the instructions without having to watch that animated gif:
    telnet 192.168.1.10 9527 (might have to hit enter twice, as I didnt get a login prompt immediately)
    login as admin
    hit enter for password
    shell (after hitting enter, you'll just be on a blank line.. dont know what this is all about)
    telnetd -f
    open another window, and telnet to 192.168.1.10 (default port; 23)
    login: root
    password: xmhdipc

    get your MAC address:
    ip a
    (look for "link/ether") or you could do "ip a | grep ether"
    then to enable dhcp:
    echo 1 > /mnt/mtd/Config/dhcp.cfg

    you'll then lose your connection when you get a new IP. simply hit ctrl-] then type quite to get out of telnet

    in BlueIris, put the IP in, and select Empire for make, and model is ESC-IPC1 port 34567
    I hear the stream is at:
    /user=admin&password=test123&channel=1&stream=0.sdp?real_stream--rtp-caching=100
    but I was unable to get that to work, so I set it up as an Empire, and that works...
     
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2016
  7. bcd

    bcd n3wb

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have the similar camera with blocked account 'admin'. i don't know how this can be possible, but any software to this camera (includes web) reports 'The user is in blacklist' and does nothing.

    I have an access to the telnet (thanks to chorizo). so how can I clear the blacklist or to make full camera reset? some Internet resources recommend to clear /mnt/mtd/* but it has files such as 'SerialNumber'. is it safe to delete them?
     
  8. JoeShmo

    JoeShmo n3wb

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2016
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    @bcd; try ls -alrt /mnt/mtd/Config which will sort files by date (newest on bottom), and see if theres any sort of recent "blacklist" type of file, or a file updated that may have blacklist info. Also, just type date to see what the camera thinks the current date is, so you can compare against the files listed from previous step.
    On mine, the SerialNumber (and some other files) have the date of the last boot, so I'm GUESSING that they get re-created on boot. But in the Config directory, Account1, Account2, uboot_env_lang_video and libvideo_initdata.bat all have a date from 2 months prior (I just got the cam 3 days ago), so not sure if they would get recreated, or should be deleted.
    I'd have a good look around before wiping out the whole tree.
     
  9. Tehnicni

    Tehnicni Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2016
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    Few days ago I get TOP-308 camera They have IR filter in front of lens and work fine.
    Today I install tinyCam Monitor (on Android tablet), which found Mirai botnet vulnerability on my old camera JSK-720 (I'm writeing about it ) with password. tinyCam Monitor found JSK-720 camera without entering password and video stream work.

    On new camera there is no password and no vulnerability.
    How to solve vulnerability.
     
  10. ebaycam

    ebaycam Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2015
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    3
    i think new firmware, but it still is china camera`s. So i always say: do not connect to internet. Or block open ports to internet
     
  11. user503

    user503 n3wb

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Purchase one from AliExpress with microphone. The microphone works in IE browser but I can't get audio to work on blueiris. Any suggestions?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  12. Tehnicni

    Tehnicni Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2016
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    Today I remember, that I opened port 544 to the camera. After removing that and restarting both router and camera, vulnerability is still ther. Is these mean, that vulnerability is in flash, so updateing firmware could solve problem.

    Both camera have same firmware V4.02.R12.00006510.10010.142300..ONVIF 2.4
     
  13. cybermaus

    cybermaus n3wb

    Joined:
    May 26, 2016
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    6
    To have any meaning, you need to look at/report the build date for the firmware.

    And there are many links in this thread pointing to firmware downloads. Show you are willing to put in some effort.
    Even if you are unsure and want to get confirmation, say something like "i found this firmware link, please tell me if you think it is the right one" : It shows you were willing to search rather then only ask.
     
  14. Tehnicni

    Tehnicni Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2016
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm asking what to do, not which FW to uploud.
     
  15. Tehnicni

    Tehnicni Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2016
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    @chorizo There is something about Mirai vulnarability in my post
    Today I want to login to my cameras, I can login on JSK-720 with root/xmhdipc. TOP-308 didn't accept telnet.
    How to change password, "passwd" not working.

    It would be fine to open new thread about vulnerability of such camera.
     
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2017
  16. Tehnicni

    Tehnicni Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2016
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    I tried to connect the camera to tinyCam Pro and then to ChromeCast2. Video on Android tablet is OK for a few minutes to half an hour, then more and more frame are lost and video shuts down. On Chromecast, the picture is switched off much earlier.
    With Galaxy S3 with IP Webcam apk video na tablet and chromeCast is stable.
    I also noticed that video encoding on the camera douring the day running more and more slowly with an increasing number of missing frames. After reseting camera, everything is OK for a while.
    These camera is realy crap
     
  17. Kawboy12R

    Kawboy12R Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2014
    Messages:
    1,335
    Likes Received:
    323
    Could be your viewing hardware overheating and crapping out. Try viewing "real" cameras and see how long the viewing lasts before you get the same symptoms. If you do then the hardware is overheating, stepping down the CPU to try and save itself, and eventually shutting down. Try viewing substream instead and maybe putting TinyCam in power save mode.
     
  18. Tehnicni

    Tehnicni Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2016
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    One of the camera is outside at - few °C and both produce same efects. Viewing HW (tablet) is not the problem, situation is the same with 2 HD camera running or only 1 SD camera and tablet is cold.
    Most crapy is chromecast2, after an hour or so, also camera from Galaxy S3 stop. So HTPC and iSpy is my second option.
     
  19. bcd

    bcd n3wb

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    took a chance and remove all files from /mnt/mtd

    rm -rf /mnt/mtd/*

    after reboot it has made successfull camera reset
     
  20. Tehnicni

    Tehnicni Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2016
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have 2 different camera with same FW, both are without WiFi
    JSK-720 V4.02.R12.00006510.10010.142300.ONVIF 2.4
    TOP-308 V4.02.R12.00006510.10010.142300..ONVIF 2.4

    Is these FW right ones.
    "https://pan.sohu.net/f/MTY2NzYsaGRkaWQ.htm"
    Which is the best method to change FW, IE with CMS?
     
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2017
  21. bcd

    bcd n3wb

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    I always used IE. don't foget to switch language to english before downloading the firmware.

    I have several IP-cameras based on the 50H10L modules with specified FW (6510.1). in my IP-cameras last versions of FW have a bug. it appears between day mode (colored) and night mode (b/w) it is the 3rd unstable mode with pink picture. in my case last stable version is 'General_HZXM_IPC_HI3518E_50H10L_S38_V4.02.R12.20150910_ALL'
     
  22. Tehnicni

    Tehnicni Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2016
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
  23. bcd

    bcd n3wb

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    i used to download them from your link and save them to my archive. The Chinese have deleted the previous FW from their site.

    try to make your update to last FW (from your link). if it has a pink picture in twilight I'll upload old firmware to the Google drive.
     
  24. nayr

    nayr Known around here

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    9,017
    Likes Received:
    4,369
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    pink picture is from lack of IR Cut filter
     
  25. Tehnicni

    Tehnicni Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2016
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    Name of these FW is strange, I'm afraid to brick camera?
     
  26. bcd

    bcd n3wb

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes, my cameras are without IR-filter. day colors have some specific distortions, but it is not pink. see attachment. I think camera turns off IR-correction software but does not turn to b/w mode at twilight. Anyway a rollout to the old FW will fix it.
    054501-7002.jpg

    I used to have these cameras for year and a half.

    some different name formats were on this link: 搜狐企业网盘 - 文件链接
    General_HZXM_IPC_HI3518E_50H10L_S38_RT3070_V4.02.R12.20150317_ALL.bin
    General_HZXM_IPC_HI3518E_50H10L_S38_V4.02.R12.20150518_ALL.bin
    General_HZXM_IPC_HI3518E_50H10L_S38_V4.02.R12.20150910_ALL.bin
    General_HZXM_IPC_HI3518E_50H10L_S38_V4.02.R12.Nat.OnvifS.20160304_ALL.bin
    General_HZXM_IPC_HI3518E_50H10L_S38_V4.02.R12.Nat.OnvifS.20160615_ALL.bin

    if you are not sure why you need it don't do it :)
     
  27. Oleglevsha

    Oleglevsha Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2015
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    18
    configure the mode switching IR-filter synchronously with the backlight
     
  28. bcd

    bcd n3wb

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    are you talk about "IR Synchronous Switch" ?
    cam_1-2_.png

    this mode for external IR-filters which control camera's color mode. my cameras have no any IR-filters.
     
  29. Oleglevsha

    Oleglevsha Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2015
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    18
  30. Oleglevsha

    Oleglevsha Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2015
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    18
    the filter must be, shut photodiode and listen to after a short time, the sound of a closing flap