Setting up a surveillance system in a house thats tough to wire

TorontoJ

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi there,

I would like to install surveillance cameras in my house but running wires nicely is a problem and I want to avoid wifi. Wondering if this setup would work:

Poe hub/dvr connected to three cameras via cat 6 cable (these are the areas I could easily wire to)

Powerline adapter (hopefully with built in poe injector) to one camera

Cat 6 from hub/dvr to poe switch to three other cameras. or poe switch connected to home network to three other cameras.

Basically wondering if cameras need to be connected directly to poe dvr or if they can connect via network.

Sorry if my terminology is wrong as I am a noob when it comes to surveillance systems. Also, by all means recommend a different method for a hard to wire home.

Thanks,

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score
Hi there,

I would like to install surveillance cameras in my house but running wires nicely is a problem and I want to avoid wifi. Wondering if this setup would work:

Poe hub/dvr connected to three cameras via cat 6 cable (these are the areas I could easily wire to)

Powerline adapter (hopefully with built in poe injector) to one camera

Cat 6 from hub/dvr to poe switch to three other cameras. or poe switch connected to home network to three other cameras.

Basically wondering if cameras need to be connected directly to poe dvr or if they can connect via network.

Sorry if my terminology is wrong as I am a noob when it comes to surveillance systems. Also, by all means recommend a different method for a hard to wire home.

Thanks,
consult with a low voltage contractor - telephone and alarm guys are usually the best or an electrician, often times they can wire it up much better than you could with zero external runs....at 100-150 a run its not much more than powerline and the result will be much better..
ip cameras are network devices so they dont have to be homerun...

mat200

IPCT Contributor