Setting up new Blue Iris system

brazo

n3wb
Reaction score
Hello all,

I just found your site today. Looks like "the" forum for security camera knowledge. I'm new to this. As my initial system, I want to set up a single camera and be able to view it's output on my computer monitor. Here's where I'm at. I've ordered a Hikvision 4mp poe dome camera (DS-2CD2142FWD-I) with 2.8mm lens, english version. I plan to either download iVMS-4200 for OS X or buy the Blue Iris software for windows. I also have to buy ethernet cable and a poe ethernet switch.

Is that it? Am I missing something? Which poe switch should I get?

Should I try the Hikvision sw to start with or skip that and go straight to Blue Iris?

Ultimately I hope to have 10+ cameras covering my house and shop with recording, motion detection, alert messages, and iphone viewing.

Thanks!

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score
Hello all,

I just found your site today. Looks like "the" forum for security camera knowledge. I'm new to this. As my initial system, I want to set up a single camera and be able to view it's output on my computer monitor. Here's where I'm at. I've ordered a Hikvision 4mp poe dome camera (DS-2CD2142FWD-I) with 2.8mm lens, english version. I plan to either download iVMS-4200 for OS X or buy the Blue Iris software for windows. I also have to buy ethernet cable and a poe ethernet switch.

Is that it? Am I missing something? Which poe switch should I get?

Should I try the Hikvision sw to start with or skip that and go straight to Blue Iris?

Ultimately I hope to have 10+ cameras covering my house and shop with recording, motion detection, alert messages, and iphone viewing.

Thanks!
Welcome to the forum...the 4mp is not a good choice...I would start reading the forum before spending any more money on cams...there are much better options...

brazo

n3wb
Reaction score
Reading the forum is why I chose the 4mp as an initial camera. What should I be looking at?

fenderman

Staff member