Speco N16NXP Camera Compatibility

reigndropz

n3wb
Reaction score
Hey all. Noob here. I had purchased a Zmodo setup years ago and the DVR started failing so I wound up buying a Speco N16NXP thinking I could just swap out the unit because it is PoE but the cameras do not work. I know this is probably obvious to most of you but can anyone recommend what type of cameras I need to buy for this unit? I've been Googling but there's so many different ones and I want to make sure I can buy a few that aren't super expensive and will still be compatible. Thanks in advance for any advice you can give.

mat200

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
Welcome @reigndropz

" I had purchased a Zmodo setup years ago and the DVR started failing so I wound up buying a Speco N16NXP thinking I could just swap out the unit because it is PoE but the cameras do not work. "

1) Indeed, many people get defrauded by Zmodo which has numerous times defrauded people with their "PoE" kits, which turn out to not be "PoE" by any meaningful PoE standards.

Zmodo / funlux are basically a bunch of scammers...

So, you know now that the zmodo cameras you have are NOT PoE cameras.

OK, so now for more bad news...

2) The zmodo "cat5e" cables suck. They're not good cables. You will need to replace them.

3) Good news, the Speco NVR you picked up, is a decent PoE standard Dahua OEM NVR.

Best to pair it with a Dahua OEM IP PoE camera(s) - do not get Chinese market models - look for international models, or USA models.

Look for member reviews of Dahua OEM cameras here, and see which cameras may work best for you.

reigndropz

n3wb
Reaction score
Welcome @reigndropz

" I had purchased a Zmodo setup years ago and the DVR started failing so I wound up buying a Speco N16NXP thinking I could just swap out the unit because it is PoE but the cameras do not work. "