[tool] [tutorial] Free AI Person Detection for Blue Iris

contactcr

n3wb
Joined
Mar 15, 2021
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Location
TX
Can someone help me iron out this issue i'm having? I get these 0s flags pretty often. I'm sure it's setting related but I cant figure out which combination of settings doesn't line up correctly.

I suspect it is finding a different amount of relevant objects in that time period and re-triggers so maybe I dont understand dynamic masking?

bi.png

If I look at the same clip in UI3 web version it's a 10s clip that overlaps the previous one:

ui3.png

Relevant info:

In BI i'm doing continuous recording, 1 camera method.

Settings In BI:

Trigger tab: 8.0s break time
JPEG every 1.0s
7.0s pre-trigger

Settings in AI Tool:

dynamic masking w/ detail settings checked

0.3minute cooldown

Triggers URLs:


Cancel URL:



aitool.png
 
Last edited:

bluehawk

n3wb
Joined
Feb 25, 2017
Messages
4
Reaction score
2
Location
Maple Ridge, BC, Canada
You can adjust your cooldown period for triggering BI and for sending alerts within AiTool. For the dog you can schedule when you want to trigger for dogs.

I send my triggers to HomeSeer via MQTT but I thought about sending to Node-Red as my first Node-Red project. What I do that my be helpful for you is I have devices created in HomeSeer for each object I am interested in (vehicles, animals, person). I group the objects by camera. I then create events to limit the false notifications such as ignore the dogs during the daytime only alerting when an animal is detected at night or only send out an alert every 15 minutes when a vehicle is detected. I have different criteria for when to trigger BI to record and when to send out a text or push notification.
Thank you for this I did not see that setting before.
My "cooldown"s are all set to zero, so hopefully that will fix it.
Should I use any of the BI settings as well? ie under:
Alert/Timer
- Minimum time between alerts -
- Min/max time between trigers?
Mine are all turned off.

Your HomeSeer ideas are interesting have to think about doing something like that in Node-Red.
I use Hubitat for my H.A. backend. I did not like the Hubitat "Rule Machine" app so I switched to using Node-red recently for more complex routines. I now love Node-red. It opens up a whole new wold of possibilities for me. It is also fun to use. Not sure how useful it would be to HomeSeer users though.
 

Inshakoor

n3wb
Joined
May 22, 2020
Messages
6
Reaction score
2
Location
Nevada
Thank you for this I did not see that setting before.
My "cooldown"s are all set to zero, so hopefully that will fix it.
Should I use any of the BI settings as well? ie under:
Alert/Timer
- Minimum time between alerts -
- Min/max time between trigers?
Mine are all turned off.

Your HomeSeer ideas are interesting have to think about doing something like that in Node-Red.
I use Hubitat for my H.A. backend. I did not like the Hubitat "Rule Machine" app so I switched to using Node-red recently for more complex routines. I now love Node-red. It opens up a whole new wold of possibilities for me. It is also fun to use. Not sure how useful it would be to HomeSeer users though.
I have HomeSeer and use Node-Red almost exclusively to control my HomeSeer devices. I do it via MQTT (If you're not familiar with it, read up on it. Not too hard to install a "server" for it. It's a simple message queue system). There is a free plugin for HomeSeer called mcsMQTT which allows you to associate devices in HomeSeer with MQTT messaging. I control everything using MQTT via Node-Red. It works very well. If anyone would like more details, just let me know.
 
Last edited:

bluehawk

n3wb
Joined
Feb 25, 2017
Messages
4
Reaction score
2
Location
Maple Ridge, BC, Canada
Yes, I am using MQTT to trigger my routines in Node-Red.
Also, for ease of setup. Node-Red has a built in MQTT broker called Aedes which works well for my needs.
 
Last edited:

jz3082

Young grasshopper
Joined
Dec 13, 2019
Messages
78
Reaction score
22
Location
Oklahoma, US
Thank you for this I did not see that setting before.
My "cooldown"s are all set to zero, so hopefully that will fix it.
Should I use any of the BI settings as well? ie under:
Alert/Timer
- Minimum time between alerts -
- Min/max time between trigers?
Mine are all turned off.

Your HomeSeer ideas are interesting have to think about doing something like that in Node-Red.
I use Hubitat for my H.A. backend. I did not like the Hubitat "Rule Machine" app so I switched to using Node-red recently for more complex routines. I now love Node-red. It opens up a whole new wold of possibilities for me. It is also fun to use. Not sure how useful it would be to HomeSeer users though.
I don't use those settings in BI but I believe you could use the first setting to control how long to wait after an alert after an alert is sent (AiTool Cooldown should do same). The min/max time between triggers controls alert between multiple cameras.
 

mayop

n3wb
Joined
Jul 20, 2020
Messages
28
Reaction score
22
Location
Canada
New BI has support for Deepstack

5.4.0 - March 31, 2021 Support for DeepStack integration (without the separate AI Tools package) via new Settings AI page. DeepStack may be used for object classification to confirm alerts containing persons, vehicles, pets, and more.
bi ai.jpg
 
Last edited:

TRAVMO.

n3wb
Joined
Mar 5, 2020
Messages
4
Reaction score
6
Location
Sacramento
Is this AITOOLS built-in to BI or a completely new implementation?
I started experimenting with it last night and while it is nice to have direct integration, its still limited compared to AI Tools. Its the first release, so i'm hopeful we'll see more features/refinements over time, but its a great start. Finally something that doesn't add another subscription, yet brings value.
 

wittaj

Known around here
Joined
Apr 28, 2019
Messages
5,228
Reaction score
6,983
Location
USA
Keep in mind that AI Tools and many of these other AI platforms are based off of the Deepstack engine.

Right now BI only brings us Deepstack implementation. In time it may bring over AI Tools or another one, or BI may create their own set of tools to run native to BI, or it may say this is sufficient for the majority of the users...
 

Eastwood

n3wb
Joined
Mar 14, 2018
Messages
21
Reaction score
0
I started experimenting with it last night and while it is nice to have direct integration, its still limited compared to AI Tools. Its the first release, so i'm hopeful we'll see more features/refinements over time, but its a great start. Finally something that doesn't add another subscription, yet brings value.
Working on reading this thread.. what are the big things AI Tools does that BI's implementation doesn't? Is it possible to have it ignore my cars??
 

jz3082

Young grasshopper
Joined
Dec 13, 2019
Messages
78
Reaction score
22
Location
Oklahoma, US
Working on reading this thread.. what are the big things AI Tools does that BI's implementation doesn't? Is it possible to have it ignore my cars??
AiTools offers these main features.

Options for the program to dynamically mask out cars once parked until moved.

You can create a static mask for an area to ignore certain objects. Both types of masks have scheduling capabilities.

You can set detection thresholds for each object type.

MQTT topic and payload customization.

Thresholds can be different for for each type of alert. Detection thresholds can also be schedule based.

Can use other AI analysis services other than DeepStack or in combination with DeepStack.
 

OgRoar

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Apr 1, 2021
Messages
14
Reaction score
28
Location
US
Hello!

Very happy to have this resource. I've been working on it for a few days and can't seem to get past this point. Seems Python is giving an error at startup. I can't find that file it's looking for either. Did I miss a setup step for Python?

Thank you

Debug: DeepStack>> Init: File "../init.py", line 9, in <module>
DeepStack>> C:\DeepStack\interpreter\python.exe: can't open file '../intelligence.py': [Errno 2] No such file or directory
 
Joined
Jun 7, 2019
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Location
USA
I'm sorry you seldomly hear things from my end and thankfull VorlonCD is doing such a great job! Today, I got myself a Jetson Nano running too and I'm sharing the install process to help everyone who hasn't yet become friends with linux terminal entirely ;).

Guide to set up Deepstack on the Nvidia Jetson Nano 2GB
Thanks for the tutorial! I was able to set it up using your instructions. I'm using the 4GB Jetson and it took 10 seconds for the first analysis and 700 to 800 ms for the rest. Are you also getting similar speeds?
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2021
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Location
south africa
Hello!

Very happy to have this resource. I've been working on it for a few days and can't seem to get past this point. Seems Python is giving an error at startup. I can't find that file it's looking for either. Did I miss a setup step for Python?

Thank you

Debug: DeepStack>> Init: File "../init.py", line 9, in <module>
DeepStack>> C:\DeepStack\interpreter\python.exe: can't open file '../intelligence.py': [Errno 2] No such file or directory
Im having the exact same problem, so please let me know if you have figured it out.
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2020
Messages
8
Reaction score
6
Location
UK
I'm sorry you seldomly hear things from my end and thankfull VorlonCD is doing such a great job! Today, I got myself a Jetson Nano running too and I'm sharing the install process to help everyone who hasn't yet become friends with linux terminal entirely ;).

Guide to set up Deepstack on the Nvidia Jetson Nano 2GB

1. Getting Started with Jetson Nano 2GB Developer Kit
2. Getting Started with Jetson Nano 2GB Developer Kit
-> install in headless mode
Thank for this excellent guide to setting up the Jetson Nano. I purchased one to take some of the load off my BI server PC but it works so well that I have removed deepstack from my BI server completely! I have 15 cameras of mixed makes most of which are 1080. JPG quality for AITool is set to 90%. Typically I'm getting deepstack timings of 400ms in "high" mode. (It's connected via ethernet)

Hopefully, the inclusion of currently limited support in BI for deepstack won't put VorlonCD off further development. Having the ability to tailor our setups with the huge variety of options and settings will never be included in an program like BI and if it was it would probably be an extra subscription!

Thank you GentlePumpkin and VorlonCD for a brilliant program.
 

cryppie

n3wb
Joined
Nov 12, 2017
Messages
3
Reaction score
1
Hello!

Very happy to have this resource. I've been working on it for a few days and can't seem to get past this point. Seems Python is giving an error at startup. I can't find that file it's looking for either. Did I miss a setup step for Python?

Thank you

Debug: DeepStack>> Init: File "../init.py", line 9, in <module>
DeepStack>> C:\DeepStack\interpreter\python.exe: can't open file '../intelligence.py': [Errno 2] No such file or directory
Im having the exact same problem, so please let me know if you have figured it out.
I have the same problem. For a workaround you can run DeepStack prior to opening AITool.

deepstack.exe --VISION-SCENE=False --VISION-DETECTION=True --VISION-FACE=False --PORT 81
 

OgRoar

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Apr 1, 2021
Messages
14
Reaction score
28
Location
US
I ended up fixing the python error by delete the file sin this cache folder. I did on a whim. Seemed like my error message was pulling from a dead/corrupt DB.

I cleared the files that were inside: C:\DeepStack\windows_packages\pycache
 
Top