Trying to decide between cameras for house

kur1j

n3wb
Reaction score
I’m a novice in this and would really like some feedback/suggestions. I have read the wiki here and the suggestions for cameras. While I would love to have the massive PTZ cameras all over the place my wife wouldn’t haha.

The cameras below interested me for their small(ish) size and the less obtrusive look over the bullet style. I understand the DORI, however, I don’t know the small nuisances between the cameras I’m looking at as they seem to be roughly the same.

Cameras I’m considering:
Dahua IPC-HDW5231R-ZE - ~160$ - I’m using this camera as a baseline.

Turret
Hikvision DS-2CD2H25FHWD-IZS -$239
Hikvision DS-2CD2H25FWD-IZS - $259

Dome
Hikvision DS-2CD2722FWD-IZS - $179
Hikvision DS-2CD2723G1-IZS - $199
Hikvision DS-2CD2722FWD-IZSB - $249
Hikvision DS-2CD2725FHWD-IZS - $249

Between the Dahua and Hikvision turret style I can’t really tell the difference. Even between the two turret style Hikvision units there is a 20$ difference and I don’t see why it cost any different.

As for the dome style cameras they seem to be more priced in line with the Dahua and seem to be about the same performance?

Is there any major differences in performance of their DORI? What would say the DS-2CD2723G1-IZS that’s $199 give over the the Dahua in performance/features? Same goes the DS-2CD2725FHWD-IZS what does it give feature/performance wise over the DS-2CD2723G1-IZS or the Dahua?

Is there some other cameras I should be considering? I’m mainly looking at the Hikvision because people have reported that the firmware in the Dahua can come with exploits/backdoors. Any truth to that?

Thanks for taking the time to read.

Reaction score
I’m a novice in this and would really like some feedback/suggestions. I have read the wiki here and the suggestions for cameras. While I would love to have the massive PTZ cameras all over the place my wife wouldn’t haha.