Vimtag V-361 with Blue Iris

Mark7214

n3wb
Reaction score
I'm a newbie installing my first IP cameras. I started with a Vimtag V-361 and got it working wirelessly on my Windows 7 ASUS router system. I can view it live using either a web browser or a cell phone app. When I tried to install the camera under Blue Iris, I had no success. First, BI doesn't "see" the camera. Second, this camera is not on the camera selection drop down so I installed it as a Generic. After working with BI tech support, submitting my setup parameters including port forwarding and giving them access to the camera from the 'net, Ken responded that it looks like the camera is not compatible with BI. He made no reference to the Win 7 hardware acceleration issue. If anyone has contrary info, please advise. If not, maybe this will be useful to someone else.

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score
I'm a newbie installing my first IP cameras. I started with a Vimtag V-361 and got it working wirelessly on my Windows 7 ASUS router system. I can view it live using either a web browser or a cell phone app. When I tried to install the camera under Blue Iris, I had no success. First, BI doesn't "see" the camera. Second, this camera is not on the camera selection drop down so I installed it as a Generic. After working with BI tech support, submitting my setup parameters including port forwarding and giving them access to the camera from the 'net, Ken responded that it looks like the camera is not compatible with BI. He made no reference to the Win 7 hardware acceleration issue. If anyone has contrary info, please advise. If not, maybe this will be useful to someone else.
Welcome to the forum. Unfortunately the camera uses proprietary protocols so its not compatible with any third party VMS or third party apps. That is a bad sign and will only cause problems in the future. Send it back.

Mark7214

n3wb
Reaction score