Blue Iris Compatible setup for Dahua HW5442TM-AS-LED

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by JHW, Jul 23, 2019.

Share This Page

  1. JHW

    JHW n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    West Virginia
    Just picked up a Dahua 5442 from EmpireAndy, and I'm using BI as my NVR. BI doesn't recognize the camera other than a generic ONVIF camera. Seems BI only has six models of Dahua. I have a bit of a video lag. Just wondering if there is a more compatible profile I could be using. So far the color and clarity on this camera are nice. I also had to switch out from .265 to .h264 because I was getting a 8 sec lag even though my Intel processor supposedly supports it. Now it's only about a 1-2 sec.
    I guess I also should say I'm pretty new to BI.
    I don't suppose there is a way that BI allows you access to write custom configuration files.

    Thanks
     
  2. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    31,033
    Likes Received:
    9,981
    You can use dahua rtsp...regardless, the delay is a result of a networking issue or a cpu consumption issue on your end. Ensure you are recording direct to disk.
     
    Storm Johnson likes this.
  3. JHW

    JHW n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    West Virginia
    Ok thanks, that's what I was using rtsp.. and I did set it up for record direct to disk. CPU is about 20%/memory 26%; 15%/15% respectively for just BI. I did a build with a used HP elite G3 running a i7-6700T and 16Gmem so it might be the networking. Clean build with Win10, and really nothing else on the computer, just BI. Right now it's just sitting on my desk going through two switches, a poe and then through an old linksys wrt54G using just the switching side not the router. Might also be something with the the video chip, intel hd 530. I noticed the .265 totally freezes up the picture.
    Thanks
     
  4. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    31,033
    Likes Received:
    9,981
    If the camera data passers your router that is the problem. Connect the pc to the same switch as the cameras or to a switch cascading from it. Dont let it pass through the router at all.
     
  5. JHW

    JHW n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    West Virginia
    Also just played a bit with the h.265. It works only if I put gpu acc to NO. and the picture is pretty responsive. But it's just about as responsive as h.264 and GPU to Intel. The difference is with NO GPU the CPU seems to be running more. Probably doesn't help that I'm pushing a 43inch display.
     
  6. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    31,033
    Likes Received:
    9,981
    blue iris does not support h.265 HA on intel. That is explained in the wiki.
     
  7. JHW

    JHW n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    West Virginia
    Fenderman,

    Thank you. My bad. I knew I read "h.265" and "Intel" in the same sentence, but must have mis-remembered those little details. Well at least I know it's working and configured the way it's supposed to be.
     
    fenderman likes this.
  8. JHW

    JHW n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    West Virginia
    I'm liking the quality of this camera. It seems to do pretty well in low light, and I've installed it three different times; first it was too high, the second time as you can see in the picture had the porch light glowing on it at night, so I moved it again so that the post was blocking the porch light. I figured it was best to be in the shadows for both inconspicuousness and better gain. Both pictures were taken a day apart at the same time roughly, but I noticed when I moved the camera to the shadow it somehow defaulted to black and white, but when the light was shinning on it, it was color. The color image seems to have better detail. I wonder if I can/should force it to always use color. I configured the LEDs to no turn on. Cam4.20190729_042535_2.jpg Cam4.20190729_042535_3.jpg
     
    aristobrat likes this.
  9. looney2ns

    looney2ns IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    7,534
    Likes Received:
    5,935
    Location:
    Evansville, Indiana
    Still shots don't tell the story. You need to test by walking through them to see how motion is handled without blur.
     
    aristobrat likes this.
  10. aristobrat

    aristobrat IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2016
    Messages:
    2,278
    Likes Received:
    2,010
    Video of motion with the least amount of blur is definitely what you’re after.

    I’m not sure what your design goals are, but I’d be inclined to use this Full Color model as an overview camera by moving it to the other side of the garage and point it so it covers the entire front yard, then use the IR version of this camera with a tighter lens (3.6mm or 6mm) to cover the porch.

    Video won’t be in color at night, but the IR light should help get video of people waking up to the door with less motion blur than the Full Color model. A 3.6mm lens gives you a tighter shot (a little less yard on the left will be in the shot) which will give more pixels on the porch and can also help ID someone better.

    Good job moving/adjusting the camera. Some folks install and never move them, even if they can make things better with just a little more work. If you go to do more cameras down the road, do a forum search for “test rig”. Easy way to test camera locations before doing an install!
     
  11. JHW

    JHW n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    West Virginia
    Thanks. Andy only had the 3.6 lens on this model, so that's what I picked up. I'm glad I didn't go for the 2.8mm, which was my original intent, but now I think that might have been too wide even on this small porch. Aristobrat, thanks for the advice on a test rig. I'll look that up. I do plan to gradually pick up between four and five more cameras to cover the driveway, back porch/yard pool area and inside garage. The reason I put the camera there was to cover the street, mailbox, up the driveway and the sidewalk to the front door. It's sitting at the end of the porch, and not much behind it but a bunch of bushes, so no view. But I would like to get the IR version and maybe swap them out or use them both on the porch. Looney2ns I'll have to do some test videos in different configs. Thanks
     
    aristobrat likes this.
  12. bp2008

    bp2008 Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    8,919
    Likes Received:
    6,057
    Your snapshots look very low-contrast. They aren't using color channel values above about 130 (the range is supposed to be 0-255!).

    How did you capture those? I assume it doesn't look that way in Blue Iris?
     
  13. bp2008

    bp2008 Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    8,919
    Likes Received:
    6,057
    You certainly can force the camera to stay in color mode. Look through the "Conditions" section of the web UI configuration.
     
  14. JHW

    JHW n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    West Virginia
    The pics came off BI's snapshop camera icon. They were about 930pm, so not sure that matters. From the Dahau camera setup it show 50% for all settings Bri/contrast/saturation/sharpness/gamma. Here's a daytime shot. Cam4.20190802_160237_1.jpg