Blue Iris Updates (64 bit)

Blue Iris Updates - Official Thread 5.2.4.4

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
32,201
Reaction score
11,273
The versioning is wrong. It should be 5.2.0.3. My 5.2.0.1 version wouldn't update automatically. Perhaps for good.
If you download it it will install 5.2.0.3. Earlier today it was available via automatic updates. He removed it. I would wait regardless.
 

pov2

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Sep 7, 2018
Messages
193
Reaction score
33
Location
Canada
He removed it. I would wait regardless.
That's what I am doing. Looks like there was a reason for what he did to prevent automatic updates. I don't do automatic updates. Only when I open BI and it offers an update and if I feel like doing it.
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2017
Messages
2,303
Reaction score
942
Location
USA
Do we need to update incrementally? Or does the latest update incorporate all the fixes from previous releases?
 

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
32,201
Reaction score
11,273
Do we need to update incrementally? Or does the latest update incorporate all the fixes from previous releases?
Simply run the latest update..there is an issue with this update. See thread.
 

m_listed

Young grasshopper
Joined
Jun 11, 2016
Messages
87
Reaction score
15
I’m subscribed to the bot’s updates download alerts. It screws up the numbers and always sends duplicate alerts, one with version 5.x.x.x, and then another with a fake version 5.0.x.x. I can see it’s happening in this thread too. I wonder why
 

pov2

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Sep 7, 2018
Messages
193
Reaction score
33
Location
Canada
I’m subscribed to the bot’s updates download alerts. It screws up the numbers and always sends duplicate alerts, one with version 5.x.x.x, and then another with a fake version 5.0.x.x. I can see it’s happening in this thread too. I wonder why
It's on purpose to prevent automatic updates to a faulty version. The next update will have a version higher than the second from end now.
 

m_listed

Young grasshopper
Joined
Jun 11, 2016
Messages
87
Reaction score
15
It's on purpose to prevent automatic updates to a faulty version. The next update will have a version higher than the second from end now.
How does it help with preventing automatic updates? I can’t wrap my mind around it
 

pov2

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Sep 7, 2018
Messages
193
Reaction score
33
Location
Canada
How does it help with preventing automatic updates? I can’t wrap my mind around it
If your BI version was 5.2.1.4 and a new version 5.2.2.0 becomes available, the automatic updater will update to it (or will ask you to update depending on settings) because 5.2.2.0 > 5.2.1.4. But if your version is 5.2.1.4 and a new version is 5.0.2.0, the automatic updater won't update or ask to update because 5.0.2.0 < 5.2.1.4. So, when the developer figures the new version is borked he changes the version number way back. You won't notice it unless you read this (or maybe others too) forum where the bot gets version info from the update server, I guess. It's not noticeable to BI users because the updater stays silent.
 

chewie

Getting the hang of it
Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
188
Reaction score
26
I didn't have it disable, my fault. Obviously they messed something up and are trying to patch/fix it so they are updating rapidly. Bottomline is now the software is broken. Posting here so other folks will know the issues as well, Common Sense.
Hello shdwkeeper I just received my camera same as yours and I am having the same problem, did you got it fix it with a different software version, if you did, which version corrects this problem? please let me know.
Regards.
Chewie
 

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
32,201
Reaction score
11,273
Hello shdwkeeper I just received my camera same as yours and I am having the same problem, did you got it fix it with a different software version, if you did, which version corrects this problem? please let me know.
Regards.
Chewie
Revert back. See download section. Stop updating the minute it’s released.
 
Top