Bullet Mic Review

Discussion in 'Accessories' started by nayr, Oct 3, 2016.

Share This Page

  1. looney2ns

    looney2ns Known around here

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    1,274
    Likes Received:
    618
    Location:
    Evansville, Indiana
  2. looney2ns

    looney2ns Known around here

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    1,274
    Likes Received:
    618
    Location:
    Evansville, Indiana
    I will take the picture tomorrow.
     
  3. nayr

    nayr Known around here

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    9,376
    Likes Received:
    4,951
    Location:
    Denver, CO
  4. JetG

    JetG Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2016
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    19
    I do understand how to use the 12V Splitter but that wouldn't work on a POE+ for the PTZ. Just curious to see how this one was hooked up, and might make me buy more Mics or just stay with the one. Was hoping to get at least one camera to record sound, but would be awesome if I could take that sound and make it universal for all the cameras by a setting in the NVR ?
     
  5. looney2ns

    looney2ns Known around here

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    1,274
    Likes Received:
    618
    Location:
    Evansville, Indiana
    I see @nayr fixed you up for the most part.
    My mic and camera is still on my test mount. But when it's installed, I will pull wire to power the mic from a wallwart in my garage. Not powered from POE+.
     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2017
  6. tangent

    tangent Known around here

    Joined:
    May 12, 2016
    Messages:
    1,430
    Likes Received:
    580
    Just a word of caution, when you power a mic with a power adapter that's farther away / farther from the camera's power source you increase your odds of picking up interference. If you experience significant interference the key is to minimize the area of the ground loop. It may work just fine, it's just something to be aware of.
     
    marku2 likes this.
  7. looney2ns

    looney2ns Known around here

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    1,274
    Likes Received:
    618
    Location:
    Evansville, Indiana
    Thanks @tangent I was not aware of that. When you say "to minimize the area of the ground loop", can you explain that please?

    I will be powering the camera from it's 24v ac transformer, not poe+. I see that an injector at the camera won't work, and I've not be able to find an 24v AC to 12vDC converter to put at the camera. Any other tips appreciated. Thanks.
     
    hmjgriffon likes this.
  8. tangent

    tangent Known around here

    Joined:
    May 12, 2016
    Messages:
    1,430
    Likes Received:
    580
    Ultimately for something like this it comes down to experimentation it may or may not be an issue with the devices and distances in play. In situations like this there's a ground loop between the 2 power supplies and devices. If you had 2 wires that created a loop and spread them far apart like a hula hoop the area of this loop would be relatively large. If the wires are close together as in a jacketed cable the area is much smaller but depends on the length of the cable (shielded cable helps). The twists in UTP cable also reduce loop area / parasitic inductance by introducing parasitic capacitance. The portion of the loop between the power supplies is probably the hardest to control.

    This mic has some internal filtering that may filter out a lot of the interference.

    Here are a couple links on the subject of ground loops:
    Ground loop (electricity) - Wikipedia
    http://web.mit.edu/~jhawk/tmp/p/EST016_Ground_Loops_handout.pdf

    Here's a 24vac to 12vdc adapter I found:
    Amazon.com: 24VAC To 12VDC Convertor For CCTV Security Camera Power Supply Adaptor: Home Audio & Theater
     
    looney2ns likes this.
  9. looney2ns

    looney2ns Known around here

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    1,274
    Likes Received:
    618
    Location:
    Evansville, Indiana
    Thank you @tangent. My search fu is weak it seems. I really appreciate the help.
    Part ordered! Thanks again!
     
  10. tangent

    tangent Known around here

    Joined:
    May 12, 2016
    Messages:
    1,430
    Likes Received:
    580
    looney2ns likes this.
  11. JetG

    JetG Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2016
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    19
    Wonder if this mic could be Poe powered by the splitter and run it back to mic in on NVR. If that was done would it play sound for all the cameras on the NVR. Have the mic and splitter and wondering if I am stuck buying one for each camera and have 2 PTZs that I will need to also put mic's on as well.
     
  12. nayr

    nayr Known around here

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    9,376
    Likes Received:
    4,951
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    no idea, kinda doubt it.. just play back both feeds in sync and turn the audio on the camera taht has audio.. if you really need to you can post edit it.

    all my cameas have there own mic's, even if they overlap.. provides better coverage
     
    hmjgriffon likes this.
  13. JetG

    JetG Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2016
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    19
    So on the PTZ how would be the best way to power the Mic since it is POE+.

    On the fixed it is easy, as just use the POE splitter, but the PTZ's not sure about ?
     
  14. nayr

    nayr Known around here

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    9,376
    Likes Received:
    4,951
    Location:
    Denver, CO
  15. itservice

    itservice Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2017
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Northern Ilinois
  16. nayr

    nayr Known around here

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    9,376
    Likes Received:
    4,951
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    PTZ uses PoE+ and ~22-23W; the PoE to 12V Splitter does not passthrough PoE.. it splits out 12W of 12V and its not enough to power a PTZ let alone the Mic + PTZ.
     
  17. itservice

    itservice Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2017
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Northern Ilinois
    Got it now thanks
     
  18. looney2ns

    looney2ns Known around here

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    1,274
    Likes Received:
    618
    Location:
    Evansville, Indiana
  19. itservice

    itservice Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2017
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Northern Ilinois
  20. nayr

    nayr Known around here

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    9,376
    Likes Received:
    4,951
    Location:
    Denver, CO
  21. tangent

    tangent Known around here

    Joined:
    May 12, 2016
    Messages:
    1,430
    Likes Received:
    580
    It's pretty easy...
    -Connect the 24 VAC power cable and the power adapter inputs to the power terminals on the camera
    -Connect the 12VDC out to the power connector on the microphone, if they're different sizes an adapter or some splicing will be required. Verify matching polarity
    -Connect the audio out from the mic to the camera, from the pics @looney2ns posted this camera doesn't have an RCA connector on the input so you have to splice something together. Something like this being the easiest option: Amazon.com: UHPPOTE 5 Pairs Phono RCA Female + Male Plug AV Screw Terminal Connector Video AV Balun: Home Audio & Theater
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2017
    atw likes this.
  22. itservice

    itservice Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2017
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Northern Ilinois
    I was going to use PoE+ for the PTZ
     
  23. nayr

    nayr Known around here

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    9,376
    Likes Received:
    4,951
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    then you'll have to find another way to supply 12v power to the microphone..
     
  24. nayr

    nayr Known around here

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    9,376
    Likes Received:
    4,951
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Bought another one of these to replace a failed cheapo microphone, wanted to add some wind protection to em both so I got a pack of these: Amazon.com: Tetra-Teknica XFFZ5P-BLK Lapel & Headset Microphone Windscreen, Color Black, 5-Pack: Musical Instruments

    it was a tight fit, but it works :)
    IMAG0739.jpg
    wont come off easily but leave a lil slack on the end so there is a dead space infront of the pickup, you dont want to stretch that part at all.. mine are installed protected from most of the weather.

    I find giving the microphone a downard tilt usually helps avoid the direct wind, it rarely comes from the ground level.. I dont expect this alone to completely cure wind noise, but it should dramatically reduce it without looking funky.. I dont live in a windy environment so it wont take much to make me happy.
     
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2017
    looney2ns and itservice like this.
  25. itservice

    itservice Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2017
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Northern Ilinois
    Thanks
     
  26. looney2ns

    looney2ns Known around here

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    1,274
    Likes Received:
    618
    Location:
    Evansville, Indiana
    Any noticable difference in voice pickup? We have lots of wind.
     
  27. nayr

    nayr Known around here

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    9,376
    Likes Received:
    4,951
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    nope, I put one on the Ultra tonight and I cannot tell any difference in pickup.. its pretty still tonight so no functional testing to speak of yet, but ive used these before with good results, works better than styrofoam and there is no way around it.
     
    looney2ns likes this.
  28. nayr

    nayr Known around here

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    9,376
    Likes Received:
    4,951
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    follow up: we've had a few windy days since I put those foam mic overs up and I've noticed no wind noise issues what so ever, these seem to be doing a fantastic job..

    now to get another one of these mic's for the new front door ptz
     
    looney2ns likes this.
  29. JetG

    JetG Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2016
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    19
    Not sure but I cant seem to get this to work right..

    I did the Ethernet to the PoE splitter used the power splitter cord that came with the Mic to power the mic and the camera then the RCA coupler to Audio out on the Mic. When doing this I don't get power to the camera. Is it suppose to be POE splitter and use the splitter cord on the power side of the mic ?
     
  30. nayr

    nayr Known around here

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    9,376
    Likes Received:
    4,951
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    you got to use the splitter to power both the camera and the microphone.. the PoE Splitter does not pass through PoE out its network out.
     
    hmjgriffon likes this.