Dahua Starlight Varifocal Turret (IPC-HDW5231R-Z)

Discussion in 'Dahua' started by nayr, Nov 9, 2016.

Share This Page

  1. Bret_FL

    Bret_FL Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2017
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    5
    I just got this camera installed video and audio are working but unable to zoom. I tried both from the NVR and the ios App. Am i missing something? I am sure it's something simple I am overlooking.

    Thanks
     
  2. SquareEyes

    SquareEyes Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2015
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    57
    Three screen shots of three cameras that came in the same order. For some odd reason
    Guessing that you have tested directly from the camera interface?
     
    EMPIRETECANDY likes this.
  3. mordak

    mordak Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    May 9, 2017
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    10
    I ordered 3 cameras. I'm trying to figure out my positioning for them... any advice?

    The 2 red circles are locations that I think are good.
    The 2 blue circles I'm unsure of, I can only pick 1 of those locations.
    The purple lines are the field of view for the cameras, approximately

    Which would be better?

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

    EMPIRETECANDY likes this.
  4. EMPIRETECANDY

    EMPIRETECANDY Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2016
    Messages:
    827
    Likes Received:
    1,727
    Hey Guys,

    Today processed 50% of the orders, tomorrow do the 30% and Monday do the 20%.
    Can be shipped out the same day if make orders. If any guys have pending orders not fulfilled, need warranty support, just send email to me, that is the best way to find me.

    Have a nice weekend.
    Andy
     
    DavidDavid, hmjgriffon, ekaz and 3 others like this.
  5. hevnsnt

    hevnsnt n3wb

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    4
    Well, I bit the "bullet" and ordered three of these "turrets." I appreciate everyone's expertise in helping me make the decision!
     
  6. SquareEyes

    SquareEyes Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2015
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    57
    Get a plank of wood or jury rig any other temporary mount for one of the cams, power it up, connect to it, and trial and error. You will work it out.

    I on the other hand will drill holes into brick/concrete, try it out and if it doesn't work, rip it out and patch the holes.
     
    Flozen and AP-123 like this.
  7. HalfMoon

    HalfMoon Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2017
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    39
    I really think you will need to try them to see, based on distances and the images you get out of the camera in your placement and the zoom required.

    At the advice of some people here that know a hell of a lot more than I do, I put together this super cheap rig to test placement around my house. That's a 7' 4x4 post with a scrap board mounted on it in a gravel filled bucket and It is about 1 foot shorter than where I will end up mounting them, but I realized quickly that 5 of the 5231's was not going to be enough once you start zooming in to be able to actually ID things at a small distance. I now have another 8 cameras coming from @EMPIRETECANDY

    [​IMG]
     
  8. SquareEyes

    SquareEyes Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2015
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    57
    @HalfMoon, mate can I ask you are serious question?

    What kind of alarm control panel do you have and what kind of perimeter and external sensors are you using?

    13 cameras when you can see your neighbors' house is seriously hardcore.
     
  9. Bret_FL

    Bret_FL Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2017
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    5
    Guessing that you have tested directly from the camera inte[/QUOTE]

    No I.E. is giving me an issue viewing the video. Have to work that out before I can.
     
  10. SquareEyes

    SquareEyes Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2015
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    57
    IE while not a great browser, usually is the most friendly to IPTV gear.

    Is it asking you to install and allow plugins? If so, allow it.

    Kinda confused, was you network already on 192.168.1.XXX and you just got lucky or did you previously connect directly to the camera? In any case, if you just got lucky you should still log into the camera and change the default passwords to something of your own choosing.
     
  11. Bret_FL

    Bret_FL Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2017
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    5

    I used Chrome to change the IP address, and yes I use IE many times to setup camers but for some reason it's not wanting to let me past the pop up screen.
     
  12. randytsuch

    randytsuch Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2016
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    114
    No I.E. is giving me an issue viewing the video. Have to work that out before I can.[/QUOTE]
    I have used safari and chrome with NACL web plug in to view cam video.
     
  13. actran

    actran Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    11
    I agree with others that you will need to try with a real camera using temporary mount. For face ID, it's better to mount around 10-12ft up versus from 2nd story. Also, I can't tell the size of your house. If it's really large, it may be very hard to get a clear snapshot of face if camera is at 1 corner of house and perp is at other corner.

    You will also want to think about perp entry points. If the perp is walking towards camera, good chance of getting clear ID, if it's just a side shot, may not, especially from a distance.

    You also have a blindspot on the right side of your house. But don't worry about that yet. Try 1 or 2 cameras first. Then you will realize what you need after that.
     
  14. randytsuch

    randytsuch Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2016
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    114
    Great advice
    Based on the diagram, I think you may find you want cameras closer to the doors. Main entry points, and you want as close to a straight on front shot as possible for facial recognition.
     
  15. HalfMoon

    HalfMoon Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2017
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    39
    This is a work in progress, recently a couple of my neighbors decided to rent their houses out and the new renters are....... RENTERS. One of them tried to rip me off for $980 on a repair job and was a nightmare, so I want to keep an eye on what happens on and around my property.

    Also, I live on a corner, so there are a lot of angles and windows/doors to cover. I want to be able to ID someone that is on my property, or attempts a break-in. I don't think that an alarm call to the police and video from a 2.8mm lens from 40 feet away will be much good after all is said and done.


    I can't wait until I can retire and move to where my nearest neighbor needs to get in a car to be seen. :)
     
  16. Bret_FL

    Bret_FL Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2017
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    5

    Yes, got the plug in to load and it does work on the web interface, must be setting issue in NVR
     
  17. SquareEyes

    SquareEyes Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2015
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    57
    Great. Set the zoom there and should be good to go.

    The only reason I am still up and working is my first experience with a Dahua NVR is driving me nuts. I do believe that zoom can be set in the NVR but can't tell you where because I am playing with an alpha or beta firmware and it is not the same as the standard one from the Dahua site that I spent 10+ hours playing with today.
     
  18. JSec

    JSec n3wb

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2017
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Nebraska
    I got my cameras wednesday. You are awesome! thanks Andy!
     
  19. Mufasa

    Mufasa n3wb

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2017
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    6
    @EMPIRETECANDY Andy. PMing you and you asked me to use email to contact you, Email you and you told me there is way to replace, but did not give detail steps despite further repeated inquiry.

    Almost 3 weeks had passed since my first question in PM and I am still waiting for instruction on how to start warranty process after 8 inquiries from the forum post, PM and Email. Even though I know you are granted to be busy, but it should not take that long to provide an instruction.

    If you would honor warranty, could you provide a straight detailed answer on how to proceed?
    Or should I assume the warranty label are more for decoration only?
     
  20. Bret_FL

    Bret_FL Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2017
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    5

    I've got regular PTZ camera on another anVR with POE+ with no issues
     
  21. SquareEyes

    SquareEyes Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2015
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    57
    I am sure you have and it would work with no worries with the NVR's PTZ controller.

    The thing is you are trying to control a vari-focal camera with a PTZ controller. Different comunication protocols.

    Pretty sure that through the latest full releases of the Dahua NVR software that I was playing with today, under the image settings (the one you would use to set up a camera) that I could adjust the zoom and focus.

    The vari-focal is a vari-focal and not a PTZ, even though they both can zoom.
     
    aristobrat likes this.
  22. Bret_FL

    Bret_FL Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2017
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    5
    Great to know. Thanks
     
  23. aristobrat

    aristobrat Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2016
    Messages:
    707
    Likes Received:
    374
    On the test firmware Andy floated on one of the NVR threads a week or so ago, you could right-click on a camera <when you're viewing it> and zoom/focus from there.
     
    weigle2 likes this.
  24. Gilles0181

    Gilles0181 Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2017
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Eindhoven
    I need my pfb203w to be mounten a bit further from my wall so that my camera view isnt ubstructed by a rainpipe. Will the PFA122 do the trick?
     
  25. Crazykiller

    Crazykiller Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2017
    Messages:
    377
    Likes Received:
    207
    Location:
    Germany
    Is it a round rainpipe? So you may find the PFA152 or PFA152-E interesting. With these it should possible to mount the PFB203W to your rainpipe. I'm waiting for my brackets to arrive to test this. But I'm pretty sure it's gonna work.
     
  26. Gilles0181

    Gilles0181 Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2017
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Eindhoven
    Yeah i know but it is an old rainpipe and i already drilled the wall ;)
     
  27. EMPIRETECANDY

    EMPIRETECANDY Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2016
    Messages:
    827
    Likes Received:
    1,727
    Today dahua engineer release the new ftp to me for all dahua, but can't open to publics, but I can send any firmware or materials to all members here.
    Always keep you guys in my mind.


    upload_2017-5-20_22-44-42.png
     
    japjoe7, hmjgriffon, redfive and 5 others like this.
  28. SquareEyes

    SquareEyes Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2015
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    57
    Hi Andy,

    Can you open the Product_Firmware(DH&General) folder and post a screenshot?

    Cheers.
     
  29. ingeborgdot

    ingeborgdot Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    May 7, 2017
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Scott City, KS
    Alright, I'm a believer. After 2 solid days of sitting in front of this dang screen, I finished this topic. Do I remember it all, probably not, but I am a going to get some of these. I am going to email Andy to setup an order but I need to make sure I'm sending it to the right place. Is this his email for sure kingsecurity2014@163.com I also have to make sure he doesn't ship it out too soon though because I'm going to be leaving in several days to go to St. Maarten and won't be back until June 20. Thanks to everyone for your great research on this.
     
    Last edited: May 21, 2017
  30. SquareEyes

    SquareEyes Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2015
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    57
    Sweet. The most fun airport in the world.