New RCA HSDB2A 3MP Doorbell IP Camera

David L

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
1,997
Reaction score
2,251
Location
USA
Sorry for the delay...holidays and all. In the attached you can see the bounce off my brick wall that's resulting in almost nothing else being visible.
Definite washout. Remounting/Moving/Angling/Wedging the Doorbell it should fix issue. How does it look/do with the porch light on? I have a motion sensor porch light that when on, the IR of the Doorbell turn off and I get color video.

This looks like a good fix for those who like to leave their Porch Lights on all night but want to have the IR on to capture Black n White video. Not sure where our light sensor on the Doorbell is though.

Maybe the small hole is our light sensor:
1577577865530.png
 
Last edited:

Glen Mark

Young grasshopper
Joined
Nov 6, 2018
Messages
30
Reaction score
12
Location
New York/USA
Video play failed, error code:380356
So I get this when I click on the notification link on my phone. If I launch the App from my Apps list the error goes away. Even noticed this when I was using the LaView ONE App too at times, but I think a different error code.
David, thanks for your reply -- do you get this exact code? Do you think this means some kind of authentication error on the video encryption?

I did try an older V3.x version of EZVIZ that I had on my tablet (forgot I had it there) and I'm getting the same error. Even videos that I know worked a few days ago won't play.


Could this be a bad SD card or something? Should I reformat? Is this a known error code?
 

giomania

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Jun 1, 2017
Messages
768
Reaction score
520
Definite washout. Remounting/Moving/Angling/Wedging the Doorbell it should fix issue. How does it look/do with the porch light on? I have a motion sensor porch light that when on, the IR of the Doorbell turn off and I get color video.

This looks like a good fix for those who like to leave their Porch Lights on all night but want to have the IR on to capture Black n White video. Not sure where our light sensor on the Doorbell is though.

Maybe the small hole is our light sensor:
View attachment 52997
Great tip and thanks for the video link. I suspect that hole in the image is the microphone, as the light sensor would not require a penetration. I looked at the large center cover over the PIR sensor with a flashlight, but it is too dark to see through, so it would seem the light sensor would not be inside there.

Mark
 

giomania

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Jun 1, 2017
Messages
768
Reaction score
520
Ok guys, this might be interesting for some of you.
I was figuring out a way to get a notification in Home Assistant or whatever when the button is pushed.

In the end I used another small device to acomplish this:
Doorbell Modernizr

It worked perfectly with my oldschool doorbell, but with the Ezviz I got continously false triggers.
Soldered a 3K3 resistance between 3.3v and input and now it works! (Old resistor was 10K).

Just my 2 cents, I still hope someday the API of this doorbell can be found and used locally, right now the wiring is a mess!
I also have a ESP8266 powered relay in between, because we work nights so it is very convenient to switch off the gong when we're sleeping.
The doorbell itself still works, I just reroute the wiring to bypass the bell with my relay.
Nice!@ That is the same concept of the ELK-930 that I have been using for years with an Insteon I/O Linc to feed notifications into my automation hub (Universal Devices isy994i). I was using it with a standard doorbell to receive notifications when the doorbell was pressed, before I purchased my Skybell HD, and still used it for awhile until I installed a traditional IP camera on the porch (in corridor orientation / mode) to monitor the door and packages from the side. Blue Iris provided more sufficient notifications, so I stopped using it to send me messages that the doorbell was pressed.

Mark
 

Glen Mark

Young grasshopper
Joined
Nov 6, 2018
Messages
30
Reaction score
12
Location
New York/USA
Re: Video play failed, error code:380356
Error resolved by a reboot. :(

EZVIZ firmware V5.2.4 build 190708. Must be a memory leak, the doorbell was up since end of October when I updated to this firmware.
 
Last edited:

David L

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
1,997
Reaction score
2,251
Location
USA
David, thanks for your reply -- do you get this exact code? Do you think this means some kind of authentication error on the video encryption?

I did try an older V3.x version of EZVIZ that I had on my tablet (forgot I had it there) and I'm getting the same error. Even videos that I know worked a few days ago won't play.


Could this be a bad SD card or something? Should I reformat? Is this a known error code?
No my code was different. I was getting a message saying unable to view video. This is only when I would click on the phone notification that launched the App. When I launch just the App I could view the motion recorded video. I did have to reformat my SD Card once, not sure if it just got full and could not longer write to it since it was no longer saving my videos. Seem like it was after a App update, not sure.
 

David L

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
1,997
Reaction score
2,251
Location
USA
Re: Video play failed, error code:380356

Tried connecting via the HIK tools, none of them could query it. So I rebooted.

Error resolved by a reboot. :(

EZVIZ firmware V5.2.4 build 190708. Must be a memory leak, the doorbell was up since end of October when I updated to this firmware.
Strange. So did you see any videos in the Batch Config. Tool?
Glad you got it back working...
 

acmonster

n3wb
Joined
Dec 29, 2019
Messages
2
Reaction score
3
Location
Michigan
I think I bricked my EZVIZ DB1. I successfully loaded the LA View firmware on it, but then had the RCA logo show up so I tried to revert back to the EZVIZ firmware. The device has hung up at that point and now has a solid red ring. I've tried holding the reset button for 10 seconds and turned power off/on to no avail. Any other tricks to try?

On another note, what is the process for upgrading from EZVIZ firmware to LA View firmware on the EZVIZ DB1 to ensure there is no RCA logo?
I appreciate the community here. While trying to upgrade the firmware on my RCA unit, i got this same solid red ring as COtto1984. 20191229_212519.jpg

Now the doorbell is unreachable and the reset button doesn't do anything. I tried loading the firmware file on the SD card and rebooting. nothing. held one and both buttons down for awhile. no change. I'm guessing I'm bricked. Tough luck. It was working well too. the upgrade bug finally bit me.

Any ideas? If i need a new one, can the EZViz model be upgraded to ONVIF? or should i get the LaView model for only $20 more and use the official firmware?
 

David L

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
1,997
Reaction score
2,251
Location
USA
I appreciate the community here. While trying to upgrade the firmware on my RCA unit, i got this same solid red ring as COtto1984. View attachment 53051

Now the doorbell is unreachable and the reset button doesn't do anything. I tried loading the firmware file on the SD card and rebooting. nothing. held one and both buttons down for awhile. no change. I'm guessing I'm bricked. Tough luck. It was working well too. the upgrade bug finally bit me.

Any ideas? If i need a new one, can the EZViz model be upgraded to ONVIF? or should i get the LaView model for only $20 more and use the official firmware?
Here is a success message, you may not be bricked:

\



Keep us informed of your results, if you get it working again, let us know before you try to upgrade your firmware again, we can help you through it. Will need to know your firmware you are upgrading from first.
 
Last edited:

David L

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
1,997
Reaction score
2,251
Location
USA
Great tip and thanks for the video link. I suspect that hole in the image is the microphone, as the light sensor would not require a penetration. I looked at the large center cover over the PIR sensor with a flashlight, but it is too dark to see through, so it would seem the light sensor would not be inside there.

Mark
Yeah I looked through the FCC pics but could not identify it.
 

Attachments

acmonster

n3wb
Joined
Dec 29, 2019
Messages
2
Reaction score
3
Location
Michigan
Here is a success message, you may not be bricked:

Keep us informed of your results, if you get it working again, let us know before you try to upgrade your firmware again, we can help you through it. Will need to know your firmware you are upgrading from first.
Thanks David. I have tried holding the reset button for a very long time (60s+) to no avail. Also i have had the unit powered down for hours and powered it back up, with no luck. It turns on with the solid red ring. No boot up or flashing. just solid red once powered. I reached out to EzViz and Nellys in case they know some trick that no one else does. I'll keep you informed if anything changes.
 

lekram

n3wb
Joined
Dec 30, 2019
Messages
6
Reaction score
8
Location
USA
I wanna report I have an EZVIZ DB1 with NSC-DB2 latest firmware because I wanted to integrate it with Synology Video Surveillance. Also I can confirm that the camera with this firmware can be integrated with Google Assistant. Wifi configuration was a little tricky since ezviz android app is targeting camera wifi ap with ssid: EZIVZ_XXXXX(cam serial no) and NSC-DB2 create wifi ap with ssid softap_XXXXX(cam serial no). Don't worry, password has same pattern than ezivz, which is EZVIZ_XXXXX(verification code) so, the password for nsc-db2 firmware will be softap_XXXXX(verification code). You should be able to connect to camera from a PC/Mac and then configure the network using batch configuration tool.

The only missing piece I'd like to have, it's a tool to download recorded events from the camera, so I could trigger the download from synology using iftttt integration that ezviz has. I was playing a little with hikvision Linux SDK but after authentication successful, I got errors. The code I'm using isn't mine I just found this main.cpp. The main error, I believe, it's related to the line saying: Play back by name failed,err =110. As per official docs: 110: Load Playback component Failed. If there is someone familiar to this sdk, any suggestion will be appreciated.

Code:
has call Init 1 times
loop[2] find 2 mac and 0 ip
@@@@HCNetSDK V6.1.4.6
set Time success
[2019-12-30 00:51:49.458][INF] The COM:HCCoreBase ver is 1.0.0.3, 2019_10_29. Async:1.
[2019-12-30 00:51:49.458][INF] The COM:Core ver is 6.1.4.6, 2019_12_20. Async:1.
[2019-12-30 00:51:49.458][INF] This HCNetSDK ver is 6.1.4.6 Ver 2019_12_20.
[2019-12-30 00:51:49.459][INF] Login dev 192.168.1.48:8000.
[2019-12-30 00:51:49.459][ERR] Link_CreateLink, Start Failed, enumLinkType[0]
[2019-12-30 00:51:49.465][INF] LogonDev1 in[192.168.1.48:8000]
[2019-12-30 00:51:49.465][INF] CCoreGlobalCtrlBase::LoadDSo, HPR_LoadDSo Succ, Path[libcrypto.so], hHandleRet[-532965040]
[2019-12-30 00:51:49.466][INF] CCoreGlobalCtrlBase::LoadDSo, HPR_LoadDSo Succ, Path[libssl.so], hHandleRet[-532963456]
[2019-12-30 00:51:49.466][INF] SSLTRANSAPI::LoadAPI, libeay, Load Real Path[../lib/libcrypto.so]
[2019-12-30 00:51:49.466][INF] SSLTRANSAPI::LoadAPI, libssl, Load Real Path[../lib/libssl.so]
[2019-12-30 00:51:49.466][ERR] SSLTRANSAPI::IsAllAPILoaded, OpenSSL_version Unload
[2019-12-30 00:51:49.466][ERR] OpenSSL, Not All Function Loaded!
[2019-12-30 00:51:49.466][INF] SSLTRANSAPI::PrintVersion, SSLeay_version info [OpenSSL 1.0.2t  10 Sep 2019]
[2019-12-30 00:51:49.466][INF] CSSLTrans::SSLCtxInit, dwSSLVersion[0], m_fnClientMethodV23
[2019-12-30 00:51:49.466][ERR]  GetCAPath, Failed, Invalid pPath
[2019-12-30 00:51:49.507][INF] SSLTRANSAPI::LoadAPI, libeay, Load Real Path[../lib/libcrypto.so]
[2019-12-30 00:51:49.507][INF] SSLTRANSAPI::LoadAPI, libssl, Load Real Path[../lib/libssl.so]
[2019-12-30 00:51:49.507][ERR] SSLTRANSAPI::IsAllAPILoaded, OpenSSL_version Unload
[2019-12-30 00:51:49.507][ERR] OpenSSL, Not All Function Loaded!
[2019-12-30 00:51:49.507][INF] SSLTRANSAPI::PrintVersion, SSLeay_version info [OpenSSL 1.0.2t  10 Sep 2019]
[2019-12-30 00:51:49.507][ERR]  GetCAPath, Failed, Invalid pPath
[2019-12-30 00:51:49.667][INF] SSLTRANSAPI::LoadAPI, libeay, Load Real Path[../lib/libcrypto.so]
[2019-12-30 00:51:49.667][INF] SSLTRANSAPI::LoadAPI, libssl, Load Real Path[../lib/libssl.so]
[2019-12-30 00:51:49.667][ERR] SSLTRANSAPI::IsAllAPILoaded, OpenSSL_version Unload
[2019-12-30 00:51:49.667][ERR] OpenSSL, Not All Function Loaded!
[2019-12-30 00:51:49.667][INF] SSLTRANSAPI::PrintVersion, SSLeay_version info [OpenSSL 1.0.2t  10 Sep 2019]
[2019-12-30 00:51:49.667][ERR]  GetCAPath, Failed, Invalid pPath
[2019-12-30 00:51:49.668][INF] Login use RSA1024
@@@find file failed,last error 110
@@@ Find file filed
@@@Play back by name failed,err =110
@@@@ play back by name failed,err = 110
[2019-12-30 00:51:49.689][DBG] load full path[./HCNetSDKCom/libHCPlayBack.so] failed, system error: 115
[2019-12-30 00:51:49.689][ERR] load[libHCPlayBack.so] failed, system error: 115
[2019-12-30 00:51:49.689][ERR] Load COM:libHCPlayBack.so fail.
[2019-12-30 00:51:49.689][ERR] Load and Init Com Error, ErroCode:[110]
[2019-12-30 00:51:49.689][DBG] load full path[./HCNetSDKCom/libHCPlayBack.so] failed, system error: 115
[2019-12-30 00:51:49.689][ERR] load[libHCPlayBack.so] failed, system error: 115
[2019-12-30 00:51:49.689][ERR] Load COM:libHCPlayBack.so fail.
[2019-12-30 00:51:49.689][ERR] Load and Init Com Error, ErroCode:[110]
has call Uninit 1 times
[2019-12-30 00:51:59.690][INF] COM_Logout[0][1]
[2019-12-30 00:51:59.690][DBG] CUserMgr::UnRegisterHeartProxy[0]
[2019-12-30 00:51:59.696][ERR] Link_CreateLink, Start Failed, enumLinkType[0]
 

Attachments

Last edited:

tommyd75

Young grasshopper
Joined
Jan 30, 2016
Messages
39
Reaction score
6
Here’s something I’ve noticed with this doorbell camera. I’m using the EZVIZ app and if I’m not connecting via WiFi from inside the house my live view connects but then freezes the image.
If I turn on my VPN the video connects right away. I’m using a Ubiquiti Gateway 3P and Ubiquiti AP-AC-PRO pro series access point. It’s weird at first I thought it was my WiFi but I’ve confirmed it. I don’t have any port forwarding enabled or UPnP enabled. I noticed that it’s an option I can turn on the camera if I connect with iVMS and check the settings. Has anyone else noticed this behavior ?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

David L

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
1,997
Reaction score
2,251
Location
USA
Thanks David. I have tried holding the reset button for a very long time (60s+) to no avail. Also i have had the unit powered down for hours and powered it back up, with no luck. It turns on with the solid red ring. No boot up or flashing. just solid red once powered. I reached out to EzViz and Nellys in case they know some trick that no one else does. I'll keep you informed if anything changes.
Ok, please do, thank you. Sorry you are going through this. If you could provide everything you remember doing that got you to this point so we can help others prevent this. What is very helpful is which firmware version upgraded from/to on your RCA DB.
 
Last edited:

David L

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
1,997
Reaction score
2,251
Location
USA
I wanna report I have an EZVIZ DB1 with NSC-DB2 latest firmware because I wanted to integrate it with Synology Video Surveillance. Also I can confirm that the camera with this firmware can be integrated with Google Assistant. Wifi configuration was a little tricky since ezviz android app is targeting camera wifi ap with ssid: EZIVZ_XXXXX(cam serial no) and NSC-DB2 create wifi ap with ssid softap_XXXXX(cam serial no). Don't worry, password has same pattern than ezivz, which is EZVIZ_XXXXX(verification code) so, the password for nsc-db2 firmware will be softap_XXXXX(verification code). You should be able to connect to camera from a PC/Mac and then configure the network using batch configuration tool.

The only missing piece I'd like to have, it's a tool to download recorded events from the camera, so I could trigger the download from synology using iftttt integration that ezviz has. I was playing a little with hikvision Linux SDK but after authentication successful, I got errors. The code I'm using isn't mine I just found this main.cpp. The main error, I believe, it's related to the line saying: Play back by name failed,err =110. As per official docs: 110: Load Playback component Failed. If there is someone familiar to this sdk, any suggestion will be appreciated.

Code:
has call Init 1 times
loop[2] find 2 mac and 0 ip
@@@@HCNetSDK V6.1.4.6
set Time success
[2019-12-30 00:51:49.458][INF] The COM:HCCoreBase ver is 1.0.0.3, 2019_10_29. Async:1.
[2019-12-30 00:51:49.458][INF] The COM:Core ver is 6.1.4.6, 2019_12_20. Async:1.
[2019-12-30 00:51:49.458][INF] This HCNetSDK ver is 6.1.4.6 Ver 2019_12_20.
[2019-12-30 00:51:49.459][INF] Login dev 192.168.1.48:8000.
[2019-12-30 00:51:49.459][ERR] Link_CreateLink, Start Failed, enumLinkType[0]
[2019-12-30 00:51:49.465][INF] LogonDev1 in[192.168.1.48:8000]
[2019-12-30 00:51:49.465][INF] CCoreGlobalCtrlBase::LoadDSo, HPR_LoadDSo Succ, Path[libcrypto.so], hHandleRet[-532965040]
[2019-12-30 00:51:49.466][INF] CCoreGlobalCtrlBase::LoadDSo, HPR_LoadDSo Succ, Path[libssl.so], hHandleRet[-532963456]
[2019-12-30 00:51:49.466][INF] SSLTRANSAPI::LoadAPI, libeay, Load Real Path[../lib/libcrypto.so]
[2019-12-30 00:51:49.466][INF] SSLTRANSAPI::LoadAPI, libssl, Load Real Path[../lib/libssl.so]
[2019-12-30 00:51:49.466][ERR] SSLTRANSAPI::IsAllAPILoaded, OpenSSL_version Unload
[2019-12-30 00:51:49.466][ERR] OpenSSL, Not All Function Loaded!
[2019-12-30 00:51:49.466][INF] SSLTRANSAPI::PrintVersion, SSLeay_version info [OpenSSL 1.0.2t  10 Sep 2019]
[2019-12-30 00:51:49.466][INF] CSSLTrans::SSLCtxInit, dwSSLVersion[0], m_fnClientMethodV23
[2019-12-30 00:51:49.466][ERR]  GetCAPath, Failed, Invalid pPath
[2019-12-30 00:51:49.507][INF] SSLTRANSAPI::LoadAPI, libeay, Load Real Path[../lib/libcrypto.so]
[2019-12-30 00:51:49.507][INF] SSLTRANSAPI::LoadAPI, libssl, Load Real Path[../lib/libssl.so]
[2019-12-30 00:51:49.507][ERR] SSLTRANSAPI::IsAllAPILoaded, OpenSSL_version Unload
[2019-12-30 00:51:49.507][ERR] OpenSSL, Not All Function Loaded!
[2019-12-30 00:51:49.507][INF] SSLTRANSAPI::PrintVersion, SSLeay_version info [OpenSSL 1.0.2t  10 Sep 2019]
[2019-12-30 00:51:49.507][ERR]  GetCAPath, Failed, Invalid pPath
[2019-12-30 00:51:49.667][INF] SSLTRANSAPI::LoadAPI, libeay, Load Real Path[../lib/libcrypto.so]
[2019-12-30 00:51:49.667][INF] SSLTRANSAPI::LoadAPI, libssl, Load Real Path[../lib/libssl.so]
[2019-12-30 00:51:49.667][ERR] SSLTRANSAPI::IsAllAPILoaded, OpenSSL_version Unload
[2019-12-30 00:51:49.667][ERR] OpenSSL, Not All Function Loaded!
[2019-12-30 00:51:49.667][INF] SSLTRANSAPI::PrintVersion, SSLeay_version info [OpenSSL 1.0.2t  10 Sep 2019]
[2019-12-30 00:51:49.667][ERR]  GetCAPath, Failed, Invalid pPath
[2019-12-30 00:51:49.668][INF] Login use RSA1024
@@@find file failed,last error 110
@@@ Find file filed
@@@Play back by name failed,err =110
@@@@ play back by name failed,err = 110
[2019-12-30 00:51:49.689][DBG] load full path[./HCNetSDKCom/libHCPlayBack.so] failed, system error: 115
[2019-12-30 00:51:49.689][ERR] load[libHCPlayBack.so] failed, system error: 115
[2019-12-30 00:51:49.689][ERR] Load COM:libHCPlayBack.so fail.
[2019-12-30 00:51:49.689][ERR] Load and Init Com Error, ErroCode:[110]
[2019-12-30 00:51:49.689][DBG] load full path[./HCNetSDKCom/libHCPlayBack.so] failed, system error: 115
[2019-12-30 00:51:49.689][ERR] load[libHCPlayBack.so] failed, system error: 115
[2019-12-30 00:51:49.689][ERR] Load COM:libHCPlayBack.so fail.
[2019-12-30 00:51:49.689][ERR] Load and Init Com Error, ErroCode:[110]
has call Uninit 1 times
[2019-12-30 00:51:59.690][INF] COM_Logout[0][1]
[2019-12-30 00:51:59.690][DBG] CUserMgr::UnRegisterHeartProxy[0]
[2019-12-30 00:51:59.696][ERR] Link_CreateLink, Start Failed, enumLinkType[0]
Great information, thanks. Are those screenshots from Synology? So you are running Nelly's 190625 firmware on your EZVIZ DB and have EZVIZ linked to Google Assistant (Does EZVIZ show up in your linked services/devices in Google Home?). What devices are you able to view your DB on? Google Hub? Chromecast? TV?

Wonder how the Batch Config. Tool is accessing the SD Card, since you can manually download files (date/time range) there?

1577793430201.png

Thank You,
David
 

David L

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
1,997
Reaction score
2,251
Location
USA
Here’s something I’ve noticed with this doorbell camera. I’m using the EZVIZ app and if I’m not connecting via WiFi from inside the house my live view connects but then freezes the image.
If I turn on my VPN the video connects right away. I’m using a Ubiquiti Gateway 3P and Ubiquiti AP-AC-PRO pro series access point. It’s weird at first I thought it was my WiFi but I’ve confirmed it. I don’t have any port forwarding enabled or UPnP enabled. I noticed that it’s an option I can turn on the camera if I connect with iVMS and check the settings. Has anyone else noticed this behavior ?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Do you have a local VPN server you are running or are you going through an outside service VPN?
 

David L

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
1,997
Reaction score
2,251
Location
USA
I appreciate the community here. While trying to upgrade the firmware on my RCA unit, i got this same solid red ring as COtto1984. View attachment 53051

Now the doorbell is unreachable and the reset button doesn't do anything. I tried loading the firmware file on the SD card and rebooting. nothing. held one and both buttons down for awhile. no change. I'm guessing I'm bricked. Tough luck. It was working well too. the upgrade bug finally bit me.

Any ideas? If i need a new one, can the EZViz model be upgraded to ONVIF? or should i get the LaView model for only $20 more and use the official firmware?
Going back on the messages I missed your questions. In order to get ONVIF support, presently, on a EZVIZ DB you will have to upgrade it to LaView or Nelly's latest firmware.
To answer your second question, how important is ONVIF support to you? Do you have a NVR or NAS? One good thing, you should have extra face plates with your RCA that would work on the EZVIZ or LaView, if color matters to you. I have a RCA face plate on my LaView.
 
Top