Review- EmpireTech IPC-T54IR-ZE-S3 4mp Varifocal Turret

alekk

Pulling my weight
Joined
Aug 13, 2018
Messages
133
Reaction score
166
Location
Republic of Boulder
FYI FWIW that I uploaded Andy's software and here are some random comments - TL;DR is to echo what others said, it was uneventful and all seems to be working well.


I use Edge on a Win11 desktop with the camera on the same LAN, so I opted to just "do" the upgrade rather than reset to factory defaults ... and the two step process (there are two .Bin's) appeared to work fine. Note that while the latest "official" release has "Empiretech" at the start of the filename, this test firmware has "General" instead - Andy (who is super responsive!) said that's a non-issue.

I didn't notice any visual difference in the images (nor would I expect any) but I'll check tonight in more challenging low-light just to be sure.

Using Edge, I still get the annoying "WebSocketServer23450.exe" popup before login ... and then the "To use this function, please download and install the plug-in" at the bottom once I'm logged in. As mentioned, be nice to have some method of disabling that since I seem to be able to do most everything with out it. Notable exception is the ability to download multiple files at once which isn't a show-stopper.

BTW, when downloading a single video file, there still seems to be some goofy limit of 10Mbps as it runs right at that speed ... even though the switch/cable is GigE (tested!) to the camera which is 100Mbps.

Menu's look very similar ... there's a new "Maintenance Center" which consolidates some things from other areas (logging, updates, etc.) and it has a new "One-click diagnostic" which checks some network stuff and "Checks if the power is being normally supplied" - the later had some errors back in February, but I think those are software vestiges rather than actual events that happened.

Clicking on System Info, I saw the following before/after - BOLDING shows the changes after the upgrade:
Device: IPC-T54IR-ZE-S3 SAME
SN: 9F0EA64P####### SAME
ONVIF: 22.12 (V3.1.0.1403710) 23.12(V3.1.0.1734191)
System Version: 3.100.15OG000.0.R Build Date:2023-11-27 V3.142.0000000.0.R, Build Date: 2024-05-16
Web Version: V5.01.0.15332205 V5.01.0.1879124
Algorithm Version: V3.5.26.0 V4.5.9.0
Security Baseline Version: V2.3 V2.4
These are NEW:
Security Baseline Version V2.4
H5Player Version V3.01.1


Everything seems to be working same as before. TBD on the tracking (which I don't use much) as so far, it has only (correctly) flagged me walking outside to get the trash bin.

Good timing since a neighbor posted this picture yesterday on our private FB group. Bears are very unusual in our neighborhood - LOL if it flags/captures one! ;-)

2024_06_06_bear.jpg
 
Last edited:

Iemand91

Pulling my weight
Joined
Aug 12, 2016
Messages
258
Reaction score
206
Location
Netherlands
Just installed the firmware on 2 camera's. I can verify it against animal detection on one since it right above a 5231. The other is at the back.
Night here has begun so that's when I most see animals so now we'll wait...

EDIT: when the camera's came back online after reboot, they were in color mode for a short time. Probably useless for usable video when something's happening, but wow.
It's pretty dark outside and they were still showing a great color image.
 
Last edited:

105437

BIT Beta Team
Joined
Jun 8, 2015
Messages
2,104
Reaction score
984
Andy sent me the V3.142.0000000.0.R, Build Date: 2024-05-16 firmware to test last week. I installed it on two cameras with no issues. I was really forward to using the Animal detection for IVS rules. It's working out great! Right now, I use IVS rules on each of my 11 54IRs to make a snapshot image for each IVS trigger. It's working extremely well and I'm really tempted to forego the use of CPAI and just use IVS triggers to trigger BI. Couple of questions...
1) Has anyone seen a guide for setting up IVS triggers in BI. I've tried it before and I just keep missing something that prevents it from working.
2) With the new firmware, do animal triggers that are sent to BI contain the type of animal?

Much appreciated!
 

rdxny

Pulling my weight
Joined
Oct 15, 2022
Messages
160
Reaction score
115
Location
ny
Andy sent me the V3.142.0000000.0.R, Build Date: 2024-05-16 firmware to test last week. I installed it on two cameras with no issues. I was really forward to using the Animal detection for IVS rules. It's working out great! Right now, I use IVS rules on each of my 11 54IRs to make a snapshot image for each IVS trigger. It's working extremely well and I'm really tempted to forego the use of CPAI and just use IVS triggers to trigger BI. Couple of questions...
1) Has anyone seen a guide for setting up IVS triggers in BI. I've tried it before and I just keep missing something that prevents it from working.

You set the ivs rules in the camera Gui, not bi...

2) With the new firmware, do animal triggers that are sent to BI contain the type of animal

Nope..

Much appreciated!
 

CCTVCam

Known around here
Joined
Sep 25, 2017
Messages
2,707
Reaction score
3,565
Anyone with one of these and a 4kt who might do a side by side colour night comparison?

I'm interested to see how the 4kt and the 2 versions of this stack up at night time low light colour.
 

alekk

Pulling my weight
Joined
Aug 13, 2018
Messages
133
Reaction score
166
Location
Republic of Boulder
Anyone with one of these and a 4kt who might do a side by side colour night comparison?
I'm interested to see how the 4kt and the 2 versions of this stack up at night time low light colour.
Ditto on the comparison ... and to be clear, the S3 version of the 5442/54IR - not the "original"
I don't think there is an "S3 upgrade" on the 4KT - right?
 
Last edited:

bigredfish

Known around here
Joined
Sep 5, 2016
Messages
18,148
Reaction score
50,453
Location
Floriduh
No
And I believe that the S3 is “tweener” upgrade. Not big enough to give it a new model# but different enough to call it out. .
 

105437

BIT Beta Team
Joined
Jun 8, 2015
Messages
2,104
Reaction score
984
Thanks, I'm familiar with setting IVS rules in the camera. I already have that set up for saving snapshots. What I'm trying to do is to get the camera IVS to trigger BI.
 

actran

Getting comfortable
Joined
May 8, 2016
Messages
819
Reaction score
749
Thanks, I'm familiar with setting IVS rules in the camera. I already have that set up for saving snapshots. What I'm trying to do is to get the camera IVS to trigger BI.
@105437 See 5.7.5 - April 20, 2023 - Onvif updates

@wittaj also had some excellent posts on this topic.

ONVIF support/configurability/visibility in BI5 has improved dramatically in last 12 months, make sure you are on 2024 version of BI5 for best results.
 

wittaj

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Apr 28, 2019
Messages
25,717
Reaction score
50,203
Location
USA
To bring the camera AI triggers into BI, go into the camera and set up smart plan with IVS, then go to the IVS screen and draw IVS rules (tripwire or intrusion box) and then select the AI you want it to trigger on (human or vehicle).

Then in BI, there are a few places you need to set this up in BI (assuming you already set up the IVS rules in the camera GUI):

In Camera configure setting check the box "Get ONVIF triggers" or ONVIF/Camera events depending on your BI version..

Hit Find/Inspect on the camera setting to pull the coding for the triggers.

Go into Motion Setting and select the "Cameras digital input" box.

On the Alerts tab uncheck the Motions Zones tab (those are alerting you to any BI motion in those areas in Zones A thru H)

On the alerts tab set up how to be notified.
 

105437

BIT Beta Team
Joined
Jun 8, 2015
Messages
2,104
Reaction score
984
@actran and @wittaj I appreciate the replies. I just tested and have camera IVS triggering BI. Like I said, I'd like to forego CPAI, but I don't think I'll be able to completely. Currently with CPAI, I can confirm an alert in my overnight profile so I can use the CRITICAL alerts for iOS for when CPAI detects a person or vehicle on my property. This type of alert will break through my Do Not Disturb setting on my iPhone.
 

wittaj

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Apr 28, 2019
Messages
25,717
Reaction score
50,203
Location
USA
You can set it up with IVS as well to do what you are doing.
 

105437

BIT Beta Team
Joined
Jun 8, 2015
Messages
2,104
Reaction score
984
You can set it up with IVS as well to do what you are doing.
So if my IVS rules have human, vehicle and animal as targets, I'll get critical alerts overnight for animals which I don't want.
 
Top