Review of the Hikvision OEM model IPC-T2347G-LU 'ColorVu' IP CCTV camera.

aster1x

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Jul 8, 2014
Messages
399
Reaction score
83
Regarding motion, I don't disagree. However, I haven't seen much in the way of IR based cameras that are providing significantly better picture, most seem to show blown out faces due to the IR, for cars you won't get the license plates at night, etc. Curious what camera you guys are recommending right now that doesn't need additional spot lights to have good capture of video/motion at night?
All budget cameras (including HIK or dahua like cameras) have very poor software in handling the bright IR emitted from the cameras both in terms of intensity and also in terms of coverage. The best solution is to add additional and external lights to the camera. The external lights must be diffused and not spot like lights. The human eye has a very wide dynamic area in perceiving the high contrast spot lights. Even the so called wide dynamic range (120-140db) cameras are easily confused by bright spot light and "burn" anything in a distance of around 2-3 meters. I have found that the best external lighting comes from the diffused panels used in the offices ceilings of the size at least 120cmx30cm with around 4000Lm intensity (around 45 Watts consumption). They produce a very diffused lighting over a very wide area that does not blind the camera. The problem is that they can not be fitted in many cases outdoors.

With regards to license plates, you need special LPR cameras with 120 frames per second refresh rate and high contrast capable sensors. It is no wander why the LPR software functionality is only included in such camera and in no other model.
 

triumph202

Pulling my weight
Joined
Feb 5, 2017
Messages
354
Reaction score
133
Location
Australia
In the "Films and TV" app on my PC, it simply says incompatible format.
Hikvision have a playback program on their website called VSPlayer, that works fine in Windows and you can then avoid installing codec packs that can cause other issues. DOWNLOAD EU PORTAL

Curious what camera you guys are recommending right now that doesn't need additional spot lights to have good capture of video/motion at night?
The front of my place has 3 mains powered PIR motion sensor controlled LED flood lights (they can also be set to run at a low output at night), 3 x LED 12VDC flood lights (about 10W each that are solar powered and come on automatically after dusk) and five or so Arilux LED PIR solar lights on the gutters. It lights up like a christmas tree if there is any motion and there's enough light for my Hik 2335FWD-I cameras to stay in colour mode and give decent footage. That's running them at 1/25th though, some seem to switch to a higher speed when the sensor lights come on. I'd be interested to try one of the ColorVu cameras as it sounds like I would be able to run a much faster exposure.

I like the visible light over IR as you get colour footage and it also acts as a deterrent to anyone thinking about walking in for a look at night.
 
Last edited:

busterboy

n3wb
Joined
Jan 27, 2020
Messages
19
Reaction score
8
Location
Harrogate
Hikvision have a playback program on their website called VSPlayer, that works fine in Windows and you can then avoid installing codec packs that can cause other issues. DOWNLOAD EU PORTAL
Bizarre I tried the latest VSPlayer on two different laptops and and they both refused to play them.

Installed the K-Lite codec and they both saw and played the videos.

Whatever works for you I suppose.

I'm just happy I can now play them. ;)
 
Joined
May 25, 2020
Messages
5
Reaction score
1
Location
Australia
How do you access the inbuilt microphone on this camera, i've unscrewed the O ring that comes out so you can drill it in, but how do you get inside so you can wire it to the cable so you can wire it up to the NVR?

Also what cables would you need for this?

Kind Regards, MS
 

alastairstevenson

Staff member
Joined
Oct 28, 2014
Messages
13,031
Reaction score
4,427
Location
Scotland
There is no need for any physical access to the microphone.
The audio channel is supplied over the network along with the video. It's a digital system that the NVR uses directly.
 
Joined
May 25, 2020
Messages
5
Reaction score
1
Location
Australia
There is no need for any physical access to the microphone.
The audio channel is supplied over the network along with the video. It's a digital system that the NVR uses directly.
Thanks for the reply,

I've plugged a CAT 6 into the camera to the NVR and the video works well and a 12 volt DC Power Supply into the camera but no audio is getting picked up when i view playback from internet explorer Live view. do you have any ideas?, thanks heaps

Also just wondering if i need the 12 volt dc Power Supply alongside the POE for the Microphone to work? cheers
 
Joined
May 25, 2020
Messages
5
Reaction score
1
Location
Australia
In the camera Web GUI you needed to select the 'Video & Audio' stream as opposed to just Video in the Video/Audio configuration page.
I've had a look around in the GUI and only have Video/Audio, when selecting this, the video details come up fine, it's just the Audio is a no show / missing in my GUI?

1590386302788.png
 
Joined
May 15, 2020
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Location
Singapore
Does this camera now have event detection triggering the LEDs?


This Australian youtube channel suggests that it does.
 

alastairstevenson

Staff member
Joined
Oct 28, 2014
Messages
13,031
Reaction score
4,427
Location
Scotland
Does this camera now have event detection triggering the LEDs?
Not on the IPC-T2347G-LU I have with what I believe is the current 5.6.5 firmware from here :

@EMPIRETECANDY indicated that Hikvision were considering adding an event trigger to turn on the white light LEDs but so far we've seen no evidence of would be a useful enhancement.

This Australian youtube channel suggests that it does.
Yes, it does, demonstrated at around the 5min point.
intriguing!
Worth some investigation.
 

alastairstevenson

Staff member
Joined
Oct 28, 2014
Messages
13,031
Reaction score
4,427
Location
Scotland
I noticed that too, Firmware might be newer than V5.6.5 that we are running.
I think you are right.
Hopefully won't be too long before the public download sites get updated.
I wonder if they have added an Auto option to the Day/Night switch?
Not something I'd use though, as the location I have it has enough light for 24/7 day mode.
 
Joined
May 25, 2020
Messages
5
Reaction score
1
Location
Australia
1590678265968.png

I was looking to spray paint this particular camera to fit better on the property.

I was wondering if you cover the camera lens, the microphone, and the IR

Would then spray painting the inner black part around these cause any issues with the camera? or should it be the okay, as i think it's just the the cosmetic look of the camera?

I just wanted to be safe.
 

jpowell79

n3wb
Joined
May 16, 2020
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Location
London
Hi all, have just purchased two of the 4mp IP turrets DS-2CD2347G1-L(U) alongside a couple of the recommended junction boxes DS-1280ZJ-DM21 as per the Hikvision website....


Now I could just be being a complete numpty, but the screw holes on the junction box do not line up with the three screw holes on the bottom of the turret?

Am I missing something here, or has Hikvision provided the wrong info on their website, and I’ve basically bought the wrong junction boxes??

if so, what ones do I need for my cameras?

I basically just want to wall mount them but contain the tails inside the junction box and mount the turret directly to the junction box.

cheers guys
 

coney27

Pulling my weight
Joined
Jan 6, 2019
Messages
312
Reaction score
215
Location
USA
View attachment 62600

I was looking to spray paint this particular camera to fit better on the property.

I was wondering if you cover the camera lens, the microphone, and the IR

Would then spray painting the inner black part around these cause any issues with the camera? or should it be the okay, as i think it's just the the cosmetic look of the camera?

I just wanted to be safe.
I would refrain from spraying the face of the camera entirely. Spray the white body of the cam and thats it. I also would think paint wouldn't stick to the black face of the camera either too well.
 

eckhart

n3wb
Joined
Jun 18, 2015
Messages
15
Reaction score
2
Hi all, have just purchased two of the 4mp IP turrets DS-2CD2347G1-L(U) alongside a couple of the recommended junction boxes DS-1280ZJ-DM21 as per the Hikvision website....


Now I could just be being a complete numpty, but the screw holes on the junction box do not line up with the three screw holes on the bottom of the turret?

Am I missing something here, or has Hikvision provided the wrong info on their website, and I’ve basically bought the wrong junction boxes??

if so, what ones do I need for my cameras?

I basically just want to wall mount them but contain the tails inside the junction box and mount the turret directly to the junction box.

cheers guys
If yours is like mine, you use the 4 holes in the junction box and the 4 holes in the camera bracket. You have to loosen the set screw which holds the bracket to the camera in order to separate the camera from its bracket. Then, mount the bracket to the junction box with 4 machine screws and then reconnect the camera to its bracket. FYI, my bracket did not come with the 4 machine screws, but I had some left over from an old camera that I was able to use.
Ed E
 

jpowell79

n3wb
Joined
May 16, 2020
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Location
London
If yours is like mine, you use the 4 holes in the junction box and the 4 holes in the camera bracket. You have to loosen the set screw which holds the bracket to the camera in order to separate the camera from its bracket. Then, mount the bracket to the junction box with 4 machine screws and then reconnect the camera to its bracket. FYI, my bracket did not come with the 4 machine screws, but I had some left over from an old camera that I was able to use.
Ed E
Cheers, I managed to figure it out in the end from a post I found on another forum.

The next challenge is creating a waterproof seal around my CAT6 cable using the gland on the junction box. The diameter of the hole in the rubber washer is way too big to grab the cable. I’ve been looking around for 3/4 bsp glands to fit this junction box with a smaller hole but haven’t found any. I’ll probably resort to wrapping loads of insulation tape around the cable to increase its diameter, which should hopefully allow the gland to grab it.
 
Top