IP Cam Talk

Welcome to the new IPCT! If you are having an issue logging in, please clear your cookies / cache.

Sweet! LTS is releasing an ONVIF compatible doorbell with SD card slot and 940nm IR

cdoublejj

n3wb
Joined
Apr 19, 2019
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
Location
MO
That was not the problem. The cameras/doorbells can all have the same ports since they have different ip addresses. Blue iris doesnt even use the media port (default 8000)
is this why BI barley pulls 1 FPS while the app on my phone is smooth as butter?
 

Optimus Prime

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Sep 29, 2014
Messages
197
Reaction score
12
I just received a RCA HSDB1. I'd like to test it before I try to install it. Is there anyway to safely step down AC voltage with home hobby gear so I can give it a try and configure before installing? I've got bread boards and DC power packs everywhere, but my understanding is this needs AC.
 

TimTech

n3wb
Joined
Apr 11, 2019
Messages
21
Reaction score
4
Location
Michigan
Yes, it needs AC. Chances are you will have to upgrade your doorbell transformer to something more powerful than the standard 10VA. That is the consensus in the forums. Do yourself a favor and test with a transformer with at least 20VA. I bought a 30VA and my system is working fine. Also, your WiFi proximity is key.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

aesterling

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Oct 9, 2017
Messages
116
Reaction score
64
Has any firmware revision corrected the horrible infrared on the camera?
Hey @Errand Wolfe, if you read back through this thread you'll see there's a lot of discussion about the IR. Unfortunately, there is no way in the software to disable the IR on this camera and the manufacturer said they cannot add that ability due to a hardware limitation. Some users just live with it, others have opened up the case and cleaned the inside for the plastic dome, and others (like me) have opened it up and physically unplugged the IR emitters. I personally didn't need the IR anyway because it's mounted near a door with a yard light illuminating the area. By unplugging the IR emitters it effectively solved the problem for me. Hope that helps!
 
Joined
Jul 7, 2018
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Location
Miami
Hey @Errand Wolfe, if you read back through this thread you'll see there's a lot of discussion about the IR. Unfortunately, there is no way in the software to disable the IR on this camera and the manufacturer said they cannot add that ability due to a hardware limitation. Some users just live with it, others have opened up the case and cleaned the inside for the plastic dome, and others (like me) have opened it up and physically unplugged the IR emitters. I personally didn't need the IR anyway because it's mounted near a door with a yard light illuminating the area. By unplugging the IR emitters it effectively solved the problem for me. Hope that helps!
It does, thank you very much. Would you be able to point me to the area discussing disconnecting the IR? 95 pages with no search function is a bit of a time consumer to get through.
 

aesterling

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Oct 9, 2017
Messages
116
Reaction score
64
It does, thank you very much. Would you be able to point me to the area discussing disconnecting the IR? 95 pages with no search function is a bit of a time consumer to get through.
Sure, no problem. There is a search feature but I also had trouble finding that particular post. Here's a link to the post where @drachen talked about it, including a photo of the two jumpers to unplug if you decide to disconnect the IR emitters: Sweet! LTS is releasing an ONVIF compatible doorbell with SD card slot and 940nm IR
 

wheelbirth

n3wb
Joined
Jun 20, 2019
Messages
6
Reaction score
3
Location
Las Vegas
Hi guys. Anyone here knows the default username and password for the RCA HSDB1 doorbell cam? I want to view the doorbell cam with Hikvision app or Blur Iris app. Thanks
 

wheelbirth

n3wb
Joined
Jun 20, 2019
Messages
6
Reaction score
3
Location
Las Vegas
Found the verification code but no luck in using it as a password. I contacted the support staff of RCA but they can't provide the username and password too. Any other ideas guys? Thanks.
 

RyanODan

IPCT Vendor
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
627
Reaction score
253
Location
Tulsa
did you put admin before the verification code? (Let's say verification code is ABCXYZ) Then the password would be adminABCXYZ, for example.
 

RyanODan

IPCT Vendor
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
627
Reaction score
253
Location
Tulsa
No problem at all. Next time I come to Vegas you can buy me a beer if you want! :lol:
 
Top