IP Cam Talk

Welcome to the new IPCT! If you are having an issue logging in, please clear your cookies / cache.

YooSee SD-M5 doorbell: 1080p, PoE, RTSP, Onvif, only $66

vandyman

Young grasshopper
Joined
Jul 24, 2018
Messages
52
Reaction score
21
Location
US
I read it all.. and "thought" I updated my post. Forget the POE switch.. would love some more input from other owners on their thoughts. Really a shame we cant use a standard POE switch on this. Might be perfect.

Vandy.. and video clips?

day and night?
I agree, but 48 volts will smoke it.
You can try asking this question on the Yoosee forum and see what they say..
 

Cinnman

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Jul 23, 2019
Messages
33
Reaction score
26
Location
SC
Hello all. Finally traveled back to where the cam is and did a little more wiring. It has been up and running good for quite some time now. I now have it connected to a POE switch, although I did use an inline device from Ubiquity that steps voltage down from 48v to 24v just to be sure the smoke stays in. I'll post a couple picture .
 

Cinnman

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Jul 23, 2019
Messages
33
Reaction score
26
Location
SC
Ok put pics of install in media area. Had not cleaned up the cabling and labels yet, but will finish up today. The doorbell cam hasn't been off since my posts a few weeks ago and has worked flawlessly. I will probably move the cam location and play around with it later today.
 

SecuritySeeker

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Oct 5, 2018
Messages
140
Reaction score
60
Location
Netherlands
I did use an inline device from Ubiquity that steps voltage down from 48v to 24v just to be sure the smoke stays in.
Nice, didn't even know those existed. Might end up using that myself, seems neater than using the YooSee wallwart and injector and it takes up one mains AC outlet less.

Also good to see someone caring about labeling things properly.

Just one thing: I just noticed this is outdoors. Does it never freeze where you live? The converter you chose is not rated for subzero degrees. They have an outdoor version as well which might be more suitable for your application as it's good to minus 20 degrees celsius (-4 degrees Fahrenheit).
 

flynreelow

Pulling my weight
Joined
Dec 12, 2016
Messages
374
Reaction score
116
Love the step down adapter from ubiquiti. Where did u purchase and how much.

Looks like a clean set up. Great job on labeling.
 

Cinnman

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Jul 23, 2019
Messages
33
Reaction score
26
Location
SC
Thanks, Found online--Amazon I think for about $17--I'll check when I get back. Not sure since I had my son order some things for me.

Securityseeker, it does freeze where they live, but figured for that little $ I'd try it. (I actually had a couple buck stepdown transformers in the garage at home and would have used one of those if I had remembered it---they were only $6.80 for two decent quality adjustable ones on Amazon).

I had just one drop to that area and no other power easily available so I wanted to try inline switch. It draws power from POE switch and then feeds both the doorbell and another cam that is af/at POE. Everything is enclosed in a weatherproof security box in a pretty protected area from harsh weather. I'll see how it holds up.
No snow where I live and heading back there now---walking the beach tomorrow :) Of course, our trade off is we have to keep an eye on the hurricanes.
I'm more interested in the indoor chime and electronic unlocking module now and may have to order some items and experiment. Probably going to use to control access thru that gate the cam is now pointing at.
 

Cinnman

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Jul 23, 2019
Messages
33
Reaction score
26
Location
SC
I also took some new day and night video with the new mounting location and will post later this week.
 

Fd80

n3wb
Joined
Jan 1, 2018
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Hi all, just wondering what sounds it outputs at the doorbell after the press. I’ve seen a video where it does a ding dong and then a ringing sound. If you don’t answer does it talk back like the Hikvision one which says something along the lines of “no one is available to take your call”?

I much prefer the way the DoorBird operates which is a short whistle upon press and then silence. Is there any option in the settings to silence the ringing?
 

flynreelow

Pulling my weight
Joined
Dec 12, 2016
Messages
374
Reaction score
116
Last edited:

MnM

Young grasshopper
Joined
May 14, 2014
Messages
60
Reaction score
7
Hi all, just wondering what sounds it outputs at the doorbell after the press. I’ve seen a video where it does a ding dong and then a ringing sound. If you don’t answer does it talk back like the Hikvision one which says something along the lines of “no one is available to take your call”?

I much prefer the way the DoorBird operates which is a short whistle upon press and then silence. Is there any option in the settings to silence the ringing?
I makes a ding-dong sound and then it starts making a ring-ring type of sound. The ring-ring goes for a few cycles. The ding-dong is only once.
 

Cinnman

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Jul 23, 2019
Messages
33
Reaction score
26
Location
SC
I believe this is the Ubiquiti adapter which should safely power this unit via a Proper POE switch with this in line.
But, should this be placed closer to the POE switch, or closer to the Doorbell? Does it even matter?


https://www.amazon.com/Ubiquiti-INS-3AF-I-G-Indoor-Gigabit-Adapter/dp/B01N9MJL91/ref=sr_1_5?keywords=ubiquiti+48+to+24&qid=1568591902&s=gateway&sr=8-5#customerReviews

Thanks!
Doesn't seem to matter. I tested it right next to POE switch first before installing. It is now in a junction box about 1/3 of the way in the run (maybe 30 ft out of 90 ft.
 

vandyman

Young grasshopper
Joined
Jul 24, 2018
Messages
52
Reaction score
21
Location
US
Just to add, I do not use a poe switch.
What I use is a BIG 12 volt power supply to a panel with 10 fuse blocks.
 

SecuritySeeker

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Oct 5, 2018
Messages
140
Reaction score
60
Location
Netherlands
Hurray, received mine today: two doorbells (one black, one white) and two chimes.

As it happens we received the key to our newly built home just a week ago so I'm terribly busy at the moment. Not sure when I will have the time to install or even try them.
 

johnnyletrois

Young grasshopper
Joined
Feb 13, 2017
Messages
41
Reaction score
7
Anybody try to read doorbell presses for integration with home automation? I think the usb chime is 433mhz so I guess you could sniff that. I wonder if there’s an API.
 

SecuritySeeker

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Oct 5, 2018
Messages
140
Reaction score
60
Location
Netherlands
Anybody try to read doorbell presses for integration with home automation? I think the usb chime is 433mhz so I guess you could sniff that. I wonder if there’s an API.
Yes, it's 433MHz. I mentioned the possibility of sniffing it earlier in this thread, along with two other possible methods of detecting a doorbell press which involve hacking the usb chime, see my earlier posts. You could also sniff the Ethernet or WiFi connection and see if there is something that can be used to uniquely and reliably detect a doorbell press.
 

silencery

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Oct 6, 2015
Messages
87
Reaction score
32
If it operates like the other doorbell cams, you can install a relay directly on the power lines to read the voltage drop when the doorbell button is pressed. The relay can then be used to trigger a home automation device.

This is a good alternative if the doorbell isn't sending button presses through ONVIF events
 
Top