Blue iris and CPU consumption as it relates to memory usage

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by fenderman, Oct 22, 2015.

Share This Page

  1. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    30,540
    Likes Received:
    9,568
    Try restarting
     
  2. Hound Dog 911

    Hound Dog 911 Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2017
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    246
  3. pfunk

    pfunk n3wb

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2017
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    1
    I've tried restarting multiple times. I checked the web interface now this morning and see this. This is what I've always been seeing.
    Right now I've got BI running as a service too, with the Intel graphics card and the client isn't even open.


    upload_2017-5-4_8-10-18.png
     
  4. Hound Dog 911

    Hound Dog 911 Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2017
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    246
    How is memory and cpu usage?
     
  5. pfunk

    pfunk n3wb

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2017
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    1
    Currently (via the Blue Iris phone app) it shows the server using 47% CPU & 4.3GB of RAM (out of 8GB)
     
  6. Hound Dog 911

    Hound Dog 911 Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2017
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    246
    Not bad for that many cams I would think.
     
  7. pfunk

    pfunk n3wb

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2017
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yeah that's what I thought too. But it's still crashing. :)
     
  8. Hound Dog 911

    Hound Dog 911 Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2017
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    246
    Have you messaged Ken from BI?
     
  9. pfunk

    pfunk n3wb

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2017
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    1
    Not on this issue yet, I should probably do that next.
     
  10. Hound Dog 911

    Hound Dog 911 Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2017
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    246
    I would. I shoot him messages every once in awhile and he's been pretty responsive to my little crap. Lol
     
  11. pfunk

    pfunk n3wb

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2017
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yeah, I used too as well but felt like I was bothering him too much. :)
     
    Hound Dog 911 likes this.
  12. Hound Dog 911

    Hound Dog 911 Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2017
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    246
  13. Hound Dog 911

    Hound Dog 911 Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2017
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    246
    Lowest I've seen my cpu percentage since going online. 2% with 5 Dahua Starlights and 8 gigs of ram.
     

    Attached Files:

    aristobrat likes this.
  14. jasong127

    jasong127 Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2014
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    6
    I have a question about the memory usage. Mine only gets to about 3.5 gb ram usage, but I have a lot more available for the app to use. I have 7 @ 4mp cameras.
     
  15. dgreene157

    dgreene157 n3wb

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2017
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    5
    All,

    I have followed the advice in this thread on reducing CPU utilization while running BlueIris and still my box averages 82 or higher when the BI Admin console is open (Averages 66-78% with just the BI service running in the background and no windows/browser/apps running)

    I have the following:
    Dell Optiplex 3020M with Intel i5-4590T @ 2.00 GHZ (dedicated to BI)
    8GB ram
    500GB HD
    Windows 7 Pro x64
    BlueIris 4.5.7.4 x64
    BITools 1.14
    5 Dahua HD IP/POE Dome cameras running software 2.400.0000.15.4 build 2015-09-12 (can't find exact model number right this second)
    Not Using Remote desktop or any other program - sitting at console directly.
    I am running Trend Micro AV on the box since it has a public IP bridged to my network.

    I've turned on hardware acceleration in BI, I've also set each camera to write to disc. Additionally i've changed the display frame rate to 15...while it did seem to reduce me from a constant 99-100%, it has not gotten me down to the 3-10% CPU utilization others are saying should be standard.

    When the BI Service is not running, my CPU averages 1-3%.

    Any Advice?

    Thanks!
     
  16. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    30,540
    Likes Received:
    9,568
    are you running a licensed version or demo?
    have you enabled direct to disk?
    hardware acceleration?
    excluded the blue iris program and storage folders from antivirus as indicated in the help file?
     
  17. dgreene157

    dgreene157 n3wb

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2017
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    5
    Licensed
    Yes, as stated in my post
    Yes, as stated in my post
    I believe so but I'll double check
    Also not recording 24x7 only on triggers with 30 seconds
    Any other suggestions?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  18. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    30,540
    Likes Received:
    9,568
    what are your camera resolutions? what is the res of the monitor it is connected to? what are your bitrates.
     
  19. dgreene157

    dgreene157 n3wb

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2017
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    5
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    BI is excluded from antivirus as well





    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  20. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    30,540
    Likes Received:
    9,568
    your problem is likely that you are using mjpeg with exteamly high bitrates for no reason.
    Switch to h.264, and lower the bitrate to 4096...use dahua rtsp from the dropdown or hit find inspect for onvif profile.