Blue Iris Tools - Weather Overlay, Watchdog & more!

Discussion in 'Blue Iris Tools' started by Mike, Mar 30, 2014.

Share This Page

  1. Krotiz

    Krotiz n3wb

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    As many others have pointed out non-ssl email isnt supported.

    Would this be a lot of work to implement?

    Reason being I want to set up the tool to email a local email server rather than google/etc.. but the email software I'm using doesnt support ssl.
     
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2017
  2. Gilles0181

    Gilles0181 Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2017
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Eindhoven
    @Mike since BIT is free, is it by any chance also open source so we can contribute if we want?
     
  3. Matt L.

    Matt L. n3wb

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    BI has a "black screen" camera type - I have used one since getting BIT.
     
  4. Matt L.

    Matt L. n3wb

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just wish the IP address in the Watchdog would not revert to localhost. I want it to watch another BI pc.
     
  5. Mike

    Mike Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,455
    Likes Received:
    559
    Location:
    New York
    No it's not open source, but feel free to suggest features.

    It can do that, just disable auto IP
     
    godfree1963, fenderman and Matt L. like this.
  6. Shan

    Shan Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2017
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    1
    Is there any way to inlay tidal data? High tides low tides.. Or a graphical representation?
     
  7. Mike

    Mike Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,455
    Likes Received:
    559
    Location:
    New York
    Wunderground doesn't support that
     
  8. ratna.aksoy

    ratna.aksoy n3wb

    Joined:
    May 20, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Earth
    This is a great utility. I was using something else to show the weather on my cams but it was unreliable... so far this is working great. Thanks.
     
  9. Mike.in.Minnesota

    Mike.in.Minnesota Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2017
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    11

    This is how I've done this.... Basically add a camera, and use 'Black-out'...

    1. Copy a camera.
    2. Go to... Trigger/Motion Sensor/ Configure...
    3. Check the box 'Black-out masked areas'.
    4. Check 'Use zones and hot spots', and click 'Edit'.
    5. Click the 'Clear' button to clear and green areas.
    6. Click 'OK' 3 times until you exit.
    7. The camera display should be black.
    8. Setup Overlay.

    Now you can setup 24/7 recording with overlays on a black background. CPU is minimal for the copied camera. Overlay is extra!

    Update:
    Further testing I discovered that the 'Black-out' area is not entirely black. The image shows thru just a bit.
    I instead added a black image I downloaded from google images, and stretched it to fit the screen.
    Do thing this you'll find you' will need to continually push this image to the back to work on the other overlays, and, finally to see all overlays.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 14, 2017
    LightnLar likes this.
  10. Debbie

    Debbie n3wb

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0

    I'm a newby and have searched the forums but am not finding an answer, so I apologize in advance if I need to be pointed in the correct direction. I set up BIT and the weather overlay looks great on my camera! My question is yesterday it was raining off and on all day and I was expecting to see an accumulation of precipitation but BIT kept displaying different varying amounts through the day, then at the end of the day it displayed 0. Is there something I can do to change the BIT display to read the daily total throughout the day? WU displays a total of .35 for the day. Thanks so much!!!
     
  11. peter334b

    peter334b n3wb

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Firstly, I want to say that I've been an avid user of Blue Iris Tools for the past 3 years on 7 various cameras using Wunderground (KMNEDINA21). Unfortunately, I have noticed that recently Wunderground has removed the Indoor Temp from their call (http://stationdata.wunderground.com/cgi-bin/stationlookup?station=KMNEDINA21) and wanted to know if it's possible to get this and Indoor Humidity added to the BIT Overlay? If this topic has already been posted, please feel free to point me in the right direction. TIA.
     

    Attached Files:

  12. looney2ns

    looney2ns Known around here

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    1,734
    Likes Received:
    822
    Location:
    Evansville, Indiana
    @Debbie I believe WU is reporting the hourly rainfall, not the total from midnight.
     
    Debbie likes this.
  13. Rodney McKay

    Rodney McKay n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm a new user of Blue Iris, and am running the most recent 64-bit version (4.5.8.5) under Windows 10 Pro. I got interested in BIT after reading about it here, but unfortunately after I install it Blue Iris crashes every time it is launched. I then have to uninstall both BIT and BI, and reinstall BI (major pain...) to get it to work again. I've tried it three times with the same results. Without BIT, I have no problems with BI.

    Anyone else having a similar problem?
     
  14. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    19,929
    Likes Received:
    4,154
    I have not seen this issue..@mike should be able to help you when he has time....
    side note, reinstalling blue iris takes exactly 3-5 minuets depending on your system..not sure I would classify that as a major pain...
     
  15. Rodney McKay

    Rodney McKay n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's a major pain to reinstall your cameras, especially if they're Nest Cams as mine are (bought before I knew about Blue Iris, alas).
     
  16. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    19,929
    Likes Received:
    4,154
    you dont have to reinstall anything...blue iris has and export and import function that will cover ALL settings except for the license key. Blue iris options>about
     
    Rodney McKay likes this.
  17. Mike

    Mike Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,455
    Likes Received:
    559
    Location:
    New York
    @Rodney McKay BIT should not have any affect on your Blue Iris. It seems like you may have some settings on BIT that might be causing this. Send me your Ultraviewer.net login credentials so I can check it out.
     
  18. djmt99

    djmt99 Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    3
    I'm having a hard time getting the weather overlay to work. I'm on BI 4.5.9.2, BIT 1.1.4. I've followed all of the instructions to set up the wx overlay in BIT and have populated all of the macros. In BI, I type in %1, and nothing appears.
     

    Attached Files:

  19. tspicer

    tspicer n3wb

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2016
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Central IL
    Seems I had the same Issue a few days back and Once I went into Blue Iris tools options and hit the Detect version button at the top center, it repopulated the directories properly and made magic happen..
    You might give that try.
     
  20. djmt99

    djmt99 Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    3
    That did work, although I had to tick BI3 then detect, and then it started showing up.
     
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2017
  21. tspicer

    tspicer n3wb

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2016
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Central IL
    Did you set an update time frame?
     
  22. Mike.in.Minnesota

    Mike.in.Minnesota Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2017
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    11
    I've found a better way to add a blank camera. It has been mentioned, but I thought I'd correct my previous post.
    Basically, add a new camera as 'Screen Capture' with 'Blackness', at 1fps. It will use much less resources and produce a much smaller bvr file.

    1. Click 'Add Camera"
    2. Specify the Full & Short name.
    3. Select 'USB, Analog, other'.
    4. Uncheck the option 'Enable motion detection'.
    5. Click 'OK'. The Properties window will appear.
    6. In the Video tab, select 'Screen Capture', then, in the drop down select 'Blackness'.
    7. In 'Image Format' set the size of the display. I set this to 1280x960. It matches my other cameras. Setting it higher will give better resolution if you also use radar or other images. However, if your only going to use the BIT overlays, set this low, like 640x480.
    8. Set the fps to 1. You don't need it any higher. If you don't have a time overlay with seconds, this can be every 5, 10, 15 seconds...
    9. Enable 'Text and Graphic Overlays', and add your BIT overlays. (This can be done last after you complete these steps)
    10. Click the 'Record Tab'.
    11. Select 'Continuous'.
    12. Pre trigger should be unchecked.
    13. Check 'Combine or cut video', and select a duration. I use 6 hrs to match my cameras.
    14. Click the 'Video file format and compression' box.
    15. File Format: Make sure 'Blue Iris DVR' is selected.
    16. Video Compression: Select 'Re-encode with settings'. Use the default settings. This is required to record the overlays.
    17. Click 'OK' a few times to exit back to the camera.
    18. Make sure you export the camera, and BI settings.
    19. Adjust your BIT overlays as needed.

    With the BIT text overlays, and 3 image overlays - one being the NWS local radar image, the bvr file size per 6 hrs is only between 473-500meg, or, about 979meg a day. This would be much less at a lower resolution like 640x480, but I found that the image overlays are almost unreadable.
     
  23. djmt99

    djmt99 Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    3
    How are you doing the NWS radar overlay?
     
  24. looney2ns

    looney2ns Known around here

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    1,734
    Likes Received:
    822
    Location:
    Evansville, Indiana
  25. Mike.in.Minnesota

    Mike.in.Minnesota Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2017
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    11
    Here is the link to my post: Weather Example

    I'm using SiteShoter by NirSoft. Web2Img is very similar. SiteShoter also allows one to crop a section out of the web page.

    The 4 sections on the left are taken from WeatherBug. The large radar image is taken from the National Weather Service.
     
  26. carlopaul

    carlopaul n3wb

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    2
    thank you it works perfect....
     

    Attached Files:

    • 01wu.jpg
      01wu.jpg
      File size:
      416.1 KB
      Views:
      50
    DDN13 and Mike like this.
  27. DDN13

    DDN13 n3wb

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for all the postings about adding weather stuff like radar to BI, and the blank screen thing.

    One of my BI setups is on the Navajo Rez, along with the only Wunderground station for miles. So the PC here uploads the data from Acurite to Wunderground ... and then BIT downloads the data ... on the same PC.

    Kinda humorous to me, and I'm sure others do the same thing. Not asking for a fix or a direct link (what a pain that would be to support), just sharing thanks and a smile.
     
  28. Keyth21

    Keyth21 n3wb

    Joined:
    May 24, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Is there any case in the backlog to implement multiple station IDs? Would be helpful if I could choose between multiple stations as the cameras I monitor in BI are not all located in the same area.
     
  29. Mike

    Mike Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,455
    Likes Received:
    559
    Location:
    New York
    Multiple location updates will be available in the next update.