Blue Iris Tools - Weather Overlay, Watchdog & more!

Discussion in 'Blue Iris Tools' started by Mike, Mar 30, 2014.

Share This Page

  1. BassTeQ

    BassTeQ n3wb

    Joined:
    May 10, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    Could this be done? Surely other people would be having a similar issue with text truncation?
     
  2. looney2ns

    looney2ns Known around here

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    5,367
    Likes Received:
    3,328
    Location:
    Evansville, Indiana
    You would have to email support. The author does not visit here.
     
  3. BassTeQ

    BassTeQ n3wb

    Joined:
    May 10, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks, do you know the email address? Can't find it in the app.
     
    Last edited: May 28, 2018
  4. looney2ns

    looney2ns Known around here

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    5,367
    Likes Received:
    3,328
    Location:
    Evansville, Indiana
  5. BassTeQ

    BassTeQ n3wb

    Joined:
    May 10, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    I was asking for the feature request be made to BI Tools application, as it writes out the weather files, it shouldn't be too hard to add some line wrapping capability there.
     
  6. looney2ns

    looney2ns Known around here

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    5,367
    Likes Received:
    3,328
    Location:
    Evansville, Indiana
  7. looney2ns

    looney2ns Known around here

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    5,367
    Likes Received:
    3,328
    Location:
    Evansville, Indiana
    Hey Mike, I just found BIT using 25-30% of the CPU. It typically shows 0%.
    I shut down BIT and started backup that solved it for now.
     
    Mike likes this.
  8. IDLE

    IDLE Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    61
    How hard would it be to get a remote app for BI tools? Right now I use iStat View to see PC specs. I assume BI Tools could do the same thing.
     
  9. Mike

    Mike Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,333
    Likes Received:
    436
    Location:
    New York
    It's currently being built into BIT Cloud.
     
  10. Cgy-User

    Cgy-User n3wb

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    Hi Mike,

    I must be the only person running into this, as I don't see any other posts.
    I had been running 1.1.6, updates worked fine... yadda yadda, Then version 1.1.7 came out and I've been unable to get it to update.

    It downloads, says it's updating, then restarts, but it is still 1.1.6. So I uninstalled and reinstalled 1.1.2, did the install update thing, and it does the same thing, but won't upgrade past 1.1.2.

    Here are the logs:
    6/06/2018 10:11:41 PM Weather Updated [ICALGARY81] - CPU Usage: 42.5%
    06/06/2018 10:16:18 PM Blue Iris Tools closed - CPU Usage: 37.3%
    06/06/2018 10:20:56 PM Blue Iris Tools started
    06/06/2018 10:20:57 PM Weather Updated [ICALGARY81]
    06/06/2018 10:21:06 PM BIT update available! Version 1.1.7 - CPU Usage: 39.8%
    06/06/2018 10:21:53 PM BIT settings backed up - CPU Usage: 33.0%
    06/06/2018 10:22:33 PM Blue Iris Tools closed - CPU Usage: 36.0%
    06/06/2018 10:24:35 PM Blue Iris Tools started
    06/06/2018 10:24:36 PM Weather Updated [ICALGARY81] - CPU Usage: 66.3%
    06/06/2018 10:24:57 PM Blue Iris Tools closed - CPU Usage: 68.0%
    06/06/2018 10:28:21 PM Blue Iris Tools started
    06/06/2018 10:28:21 PM Weather Updated [ICALGARY81] - CPU Usage: 46.8%
    06/06/2018 10:28:39 PM BIT update available! Version 1.1.7 - CPU Usage: 45.5%
    06/06/2018 10:29:05 PM Blue Iris Tools Updated! - CPU Usage: 31.6%
    06/06/2018 10:29:11 PM Blue Iris Tools started
    06/06/2018 10:29:12 PM Weather Updated [ICALGARY81] - CPU Usage: 35.3%
    06/06/2018 10:29:13 PM [Watchdog] Program - Blue Iris not detected - closed then launched - CPU Usage: 35.3%
    06/06/2018 10:29:14 PM [Watchdog] error sending e-mail - CPU Usage: 14.0%
    06/06/2018 10:29:50 PM Blue Iris Tools closed - CPU Usage: 41.4%
    06/06/2018 10:30:34 PM Blue Iris Tools started
    06/06/2018 10:30:34 PM Weather Updated [ICALGARY81] - CPU Usage: 22.0%
    06/06/2018 10:30:35 PM [Watchdog] Program - Blue Iris not detected - closed then launched - CPU Usage: 22.0%
    06/06/2018 10:30:36 PM [Watchdog] error sending e-mail - CPU Usage: 22.0%
    06/06/2018 10:30:55 PM [Watchdog] Program - Blue Iris not detected - closed then launched - CPU Usage: 18.1%
    06/06/2018 10:35:17 PM Blue Iris Tools started
    06/06/2018 10:35:17 PM Weather Updated [ICALGARY81] - CPU Usage: 14.3%
    06/06/2018 10:35:18 PM [Watchdog] Program - Blue Iris not detected - closed then launched - CPU Usage: 14.3%
    06/06/2018 10:35:19 PM [Watchdog] error sending e-mail - CPU Usage: 15.5%
    06/06/2018 10:36:27 PM [Watchdog] Program - Disabled - CPU Usage: 24.6%
    06/06/2018 10:36:54 PM BIT update available! Version 1.1.7 - CPU Usage: 9.1%
    06/06/2018 10:37:25 PM Blue Iris Tools Updated! - CPU Usage: 13.3%
    06/06/2018 10:37:32 PM Blue Iris Tools started
    06/06/2018 10:37:33 PM Weather Updated [ICALGARY81] - CPU Usage: 9.0%
    06/06/2018 10:38:09 PM BIT update available! Version 1.1.7 - CPU Usage: 17.1%
    06/06/2018 10:39:01 PM Blue Iris Tools Updated! - CPU Usage: 9.6%
    06/06/2018 10:39:07 PM Blue Iris Tools started
    06/06/2018 10:39:08 PM Weather Updated [ICALGARY81] - CPU Usage: 51.0%
    06/06/2018 10:42:02 PM Blue Iris Tools closed - CPU Usage: 3.9%
    06/06/2018 10:45:34 PM Blue Iris Tools started
    06/06/2018 10:45:34 PM Weather Updated [ICALGARY81] - CPU Usage: 14.3%
    06/06/2018 10:45:57 PM Blue Iris Tools closed - CPU Usage: 0.4%
    06/06/2018 10:48:34 PM Blue Iris Tools started
    06/06/2018 10:48:34 PM Weather Updated [ICALGARY81] - CPU Usage: 30.8%
    06/06/2018 10:49:03 PM BIT update available! Version 1.1.7 - CPU Usage: 11.4%
    06/06/2018 10:49:29 PM Blue Iris Tools Updated! - CPU Usage: 23.5%
    06/06/2018 10:49:36 PM Blue Iris Tools started
    06/06/2018 10:49:37 PM Weather Updated [ICALGARY81] - CPU Usage: 35.0%
    06/06/2018 10:52:13 PM Blue Iris Tools started
    06/06/2018 10:52:14 PM Weather Updated [ICALGARY81] - CPU Usage: 35.0%
    06/06/2018 10:52:27 PM BIT update available! Version 1.1.7 - CPU Usage: 14.4%
    06/06/2018 10:52:53 PM Blue Iris Tools Updated! - CPU Usage: 16.0%
    06/06/2018 10:53:00 PM Blue Iris Tools started
    06/06/2018 10:53:01 PM Weather Updated [ICALGARY81] - CPU Usage: 48.0%
    06/06/2018 10:55:25 PM Disabled minimized on startup - CPU Usage: 1.0%
    06/06/2018 11:00:35 PM BIT update available! Version 1.1.7 - CPU Usage: 2.6%
     
  11. Mike

    Mike Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,333
    Likes Received:
    436
    Location:
    New York
    That's weird. Shoot me a PM and I'll send you 1.1.7
     
    Xicaque likes this.
  12. Mike

    Mike Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,333
    Likes Received:
    436
    Location:
    New York
    What exactly do you mean?
     
  13. BassTeQ

    BassTeQ n3wb

    Joined:
    May 10, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    When you use a "text overlay" within BI, it reads the contents of a text file created by BI tools.
    The overlay doesnt "wrap" text, so it displays truncated, see example below "Wind Desc"


    truncation.png
     
  14. Mike

    Mike Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,333
    Likes Received:
    436
    Location:
    New York
    Hmm, the macro on my BI seems to change size according to the description.
     
  15. BassTeQ

    BassTeQ n3wb

    Joined:
    May 10, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    Change the size of the area displayed? Or change the font size?
    If it's the latter I don't want to reduce the font size as it will not be legible.
     
  16. Mike

    Mike Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,333
    Likes Received:
    436
    Location:
    New York
    It looks like the font but I'm not positive, the description hasn't changed much since I started monitoring it.
     
  17. Don Couchman

    Don Couchman Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2017
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    11
    Mike,
    There was a message on my server this morning that the BIT update required admin privileges. I am the admin, with full control. The update then quit. Now when I try to run BIT, it's a very old version that launches. It properly notifies me that 1.1.7 is current and asks me if I want to download. I do, launch BIT, and the exact same thing starts again. This will continue without a variation in the behavior.
     
  18. PJSp

    PJSp n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Alberta
    I am trying to find the Blue Iris tools download but nothing, please tell me where I can get it?

    Thank you in adavnce

    Peter

     
  19. Don Couchman

    Don Couchman Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2017
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    11
    Go to Forums and select Blue Iris Tools. It's the first posting.
     
    Mike likes this.
  20. Mike

    Mike Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,333
    Likes Received:
    436
    Location:
    New York
    That's weird. Try updating or reinstalling (but keep important BIT files).
     
  21. Don Couchman

    Don Couchman Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2017
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    11
    Mike, I've tried updating. That's where this behavior comes from. Are you saying I should uninstall & reinstall and then upgrade?
     
  22. IDLE

    IDLE Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    61
    When is this going to be available?
     
  23. Mike

    Mike Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,333
    Likes Received:
    436
    Location:
    New York
    I would like to see this for myself, can you message me with Teamviewer or Ultraviewer credentials, please?

    Not sure to be honest. there's a lot being built into it, I'm trying to roll out many features at once. I'll update the thread when possible
     
    IDLE likes this.
  24. Mike

    Mike Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,333
    Likes Received:
    436
    Location:
    New York
    Just wanted to let you know that I am in the final stages of building this, with multiple ways to remotely connect, including a BIT web server and the ability to connect to a BIT install from another. I will be releasing the update this coming week.
     
    anijet, looney2ns and awsum140 like this.
  25. awsum140

    awsum140 Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    718
    Likes Received:
    468
    Location:
    Southern NJ
    I have a problem with BIT. I use it and always forget to stop it when I want to reboot my machine. I shut down BI first but BIT always restarts it. How come BT doesn't know it's me shutting down BI? JK :wave:
     
    Mike likes this.
  26. Mike

    Mike Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,333
    Likes Received:
    436
    Location:
    New York
    This is due to weak mouse clicking. You need to workout your pointer finger to build up the finger muscle a bit, then you won't have anymore issues
     
    looney2ns and awsum140 like this.
  27. awsum140

    awsum140 Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    718
    Likes Received:
    468
    Location:
    Southern NJ
    I'm doing finger curls with a paperweight right now.
     
    looney2ns and Mike like this.
  28. IDLE

    IDLE Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    61
    Awesome. Great work. I can not wait.
     
    Mike likes this.
  29. Mike

    Mike Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,333
    Likes Received:
    436
    Location:
    New York
    * MAJOR BIT UPDATE *

    Aug 1, 2018 - Version 1.2.2

    • BIT's biggest update yet! Introducing BIT Cloud!
    • Connect to your BIT remotely to gain control, view stats & more
    • BIT Web Server creates a website for you to visit to view and control your BIT
    • Update to BIT 1.2.2 and click Options -> BIT Cloud
    • Misc fixes & tweaks
    bit-cloud.jpg
    bit-cloud2.jpg
    bi-watchdog.jpg
    webserver.jpg
    web-server-screen.jpg
    remote-cpu.jpg
    update-manager.jpg
    weather-settings.jpg
    chat.jpg
    cloud-alerts.jpg

    Notes about BIT Cloud
    I still have to create the help info for it but here's a quick run down. The UI is a bit confusing, I'll try to clean it up a little bit. Also, make sure to click the ? bubbles for help.

    BIT Cloud is the name of all of the remote / cloud features. Under BIT Cloud is several things....

    BIT Cloud Remote - This is a client / server application that will allow you to use Blue Iris Tools to connect to a remote Blue Iris Tools. You set one as a "Server" and one as a "Client" and you connect to the server via the client. You can do this either locally or over the internet if you port forward or use a VPN. Some features with the Cloud Remote are restarting Blue Iris, getting BI status (if it's running, web server is running, local IP, port, global IP, etc.), get CPU performance, view / install previous versions of BI, view weather details, adjust multiple settings and much more. You can try it out locally first using the same install of BIT, just use the local IP address or 127.0.0.1 and the same port on the Server and Client.

    BI Watchdog - This is similar to the regular Web Server Watchdog in the sense that it will monitor the web server portion of Blue Iris. However, this is designed to monitor a Blue Iris install outside of your network. This is good for power outages, network failures, if someone closes BIT / BI on the remote computer, etc. It's another layer of protection and if BI is not detected then your Watchdog alerts will trigger.

    BIT Web Server - This will create a homepage / website for you to visit, showing your BIT stats, settings, log, cpu performance and more. Soon you will be able to send commands to BIT from the web server. Visit IP:pORT (of the web server) in any browser.

    BIT Cloud opens up endless possibilities and I have a lot of really good ideas. I personally manage several BIT installations in various locations so BIT Cloud has already come in handy for me.

    Coming Soon
    -Send commands via BIT Cloud Web Server pages
    -More info & controls from BIT Cloud Web Server and BIT Cloud Remote
    -"My BIT Cloud" - Personal storage space to backup BIT, BI & more.
    -BIT Cloud API
    -Add custom CSS and HTML to the web server pages
     
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2018
    bob2701, zeoclang, looney2ns and 4 others like this.
  30. Mike

    Mike Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,333
    Likes Received:
    436
    Location:
    New York
    For those who are running v1.2.0 please update to v1.2.2 via BIT.
     
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2018
    bob2701, awsum140 and fenderman like this.