Blue Iris Tools - Weather Overlay, Watchdog & more!

Discussion in 'Blue Iris Tools' started by Mike, Mar 30, 2014.

Share This Page

  1. BassTeQ

    BassTeQ n3wb

    Joined:
    May 10, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    Could this be done? Surely other people would be having a similar issue with text truncation?
     
  2. looney2ns

    looney2ns Known around here

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    4,384
    Likes Received:
    2,646
    Location:
    Evansville, Indiana
    You would have to email support. The author does not visit here.
     
  3. BassTeQ

    BassTeQ n3wb

    Joined:
    May 10, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks, do you know the email address? Can't find it in the app.
     
    Last edited: May 28, 2018
  4. looney2ns

    looney2ns Known around here

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    4,384
    Likes Received:
    2,646
    Location:
    Evansville, Indiana
  5. BassTeQ

    BassTeQ n3wb

    Joined:
    May 10, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    I was asking for the feature request be made to BI Tools application, as it writes out the weather files, it shouldn't be too hard to add some line wrapping capability there.
     
  6. looney2ns

    looney2ns Known around here

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    4,384
    Likes Received:
    2,646
    Location:
    Evansville, Indiana
  7. looney2ns

    looney2ns Known around here

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    4,384
    Likes Received:
    2,646
    Location:
    Evansville, Indiana
    Hey Mike, I just found BIT using 25-30% of the CPU. It typically shows 0%.
    I shut down BIT and started backup that solved it for now.
     
    Mike likes this.
  8. IDLE

    IDLE Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    49
    How hard would it be to get a remote app for BI tools? Right now I use iStat View to see PC specs. I assume BI Tools could do the same thing.
     
  9. Mike

    Mike Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,597
    Likes Received:
    772
    Location:
    New York
    It's currently being built into BIT Cloud.
     
  10. Cgy-User

    Cgy-User n3wb

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    Hi Mike,

    I must be the only person running into this, as I don't see any other posts.
    I had been running 1.1.6, updates worked fine... yadda yadda, Then version 1.1.7 came out and I've been unable to get it to update.

    It downloads, says it's updating, then restarts, but it is still 1.1.6. So I uninstalled and reinstalled 1.1.2, did the install update thing, and it does the same thing, but won't upgrade past 1.1.2.

    Here are the logs:
    6/06/2018 10:11:41 PM Weather Updated [ICALGARY81] - CPU Usage: 42.5%
    06/06/2018 10:16:18 PM Blue Iris Tools closed - CPU Usage: 37.3%
    06/06/2018 10:20:56 PM Blue Iris Tools started
    06/06/2018 10:20:57 PM Weather Updated [ICALGARY81]
    06/06/2018 10:21:06 PM BIT update available! Version 1.1.7 - CPU Usage: 39.8%
    06/06/2018 10:21:53 PM BIT settings backed up - CPU Usage: 33.0%
    06/06/2018 10:22:33 PM Blue Iris Tools closed - CPU Usage: 36.0%
    06/06/2018 10:24:35 PM Blue Iris Tools started
    06/06/2018 10:24:36 PM Weather Updated [ICALGARY81] - CPU Usage: 66.3%
    06/06/2018 10:24:57 PM Blue Iris Tools closed - CPU Usage: 68.0%
    06/06/2018 10:28:21 PM Blue Iris Tools started
    06/06/2018 10:28:21 PM Weather Updated [ICALGARY81] - CPU Usage: 46.8%
    06/06/2018 10:28:39 PM BIT update available! Version 1.1.7 - CPU Usage: 45.5%
    06/06/2018 10:29:05 PM Blue Iris Tools Updated! - CPU Usage: 31.6%
    06/06/2018 10:29:11 PM Blue Iris Tools started
    06/06/2018 10:29:12 PM Weather Updated [ICALGARY81] - CPU Usage: 35.3%
    06/06/2018 10:29:13 PM [Watchdog] Program - Blue Iris not detected - closed then launched - CPU Usage: 35.3%
    06/06/2018 10:29:14 PM [Watchdog] error sending e-mail - CPU Usage: 14.0%
    06/06/2018 10:29:50 PM Blue Iris Tools closed - CPU Usage: 41.4%
    06/06/2018 10:30:34 PM Blue Iris Tools started
    06/06/2018 10:30:34 PM Weather Updated [ICALGARY81] - CPU Usage: 22.0%
    06/06/2018 10:30:35 PM [Watchdog] Program - Blue Iris not detected - closed then launched - CPU Usage: 22.0%
    06/06/2018 10:30:36 PM [Watchdog] error sending e-mail - CPU Usage: 22.0%
    06/06/2018 10:30:55 PM [Watchdog] Program - Blue Iris not detected - closed then launched - CPU Usage: 18.1%
    06/06/2018 10:35:17 PM Blue Iris Tools started
    06/06/2018 10:35:17 PM Weather Updated [ICALGARY81] - CPU Usage: 14.3%
    06/06/2018 10:35:18 PM [Watchdog] Program - Blue Iris not detected - closed then launched - CPU Usage: 14.3%
    06/06/2018 10:35:19 PM [Watchdog] error sending e-mail - CPU Usage: 15.5%
    06/06/2018 10:36:27 PM [Watchdog] Program - Disabled - CPU Usage: 24.6%
    06/06/2018 10:36:54 PM BIT update available! Version 1.1.7 - CPU Usage: 9.1%
    06/06/2018 10:37:25 PM Blue Iris Tools Updated! - CPU Usage: 13.3%
    06/06/2018 10:37:32 PM Blue Iris Tools started
    06/06/2018 10:37:33 PM Weather Updated [ICALGARY81] - CPU Usage: 9.0%
    06/06/2018 10:38:09 PM BIT update available! Version 1.1.7 - CPU Usage: 17.1%
    06/06/2018 10:39:01 PM Blue Iris Tools Updated! - CPU Usage: 9.6%
    06/06/2018 10:39:07 PM Blue Iris Tools started
    06/06/2018 10:39:08 PM Weather Updated [ICALGARY81] - CPU Usage: 51.0%
    06/06/2018 10:42:02 PM Blue Iris Tools closed - CPU Usage: 3.9%
    06/06/2018 10:45:34 PM Blue Iris Tools started
    06/06/2018 10:45:34 PM Weather Updated [ICALGARY81] - CPU Usage: 14.3%
    06/06/2018 10:45:57 PM Blue Iris Tools closed - CPU Usage: 0.4%
    06/06/2018 10:48:34 PM Blue Iris Tools started
    06/06/2018 10:48:34 PM Weather Updated [ICALGARY81] - CPU Usage: 30.8%
    06/06/2018 10:49:03 PM BIT update available! Version 1.1.7 - CPU Usage: 11.4%
    06/06/2018 10:49:29 PM Blue Iris Tools Updated! - CPU Usage: 23.5%
    06/06/2018 10:49:36 PM Blue Iris Tools started
    06/06/2018 10:49:37 PM Weather Updated [ICALGARY81] - CPU Usage: 35.0%
    06/06/2018 10:52:13 PM Blue Iris Tools started
    06/06/2018 10:52:14 PM Weather Updated [ICALGARY81] - CPU Usage: 35.0%
    06/06/2018 10:52:27 PM BIT update available! Version 1.1.7 - CPU Usage: 14.4%
    06/06/2018 10:52:53 PM Blue Iris Tools Updated! - CPU Usage: 16.0%
    06/06/2018 10:53:00 PM Blue Iris Tools started
    06/06/2018 10:53:01 PM Weather Updated [ICALGARY81] - CPU Usage: 48.0%
    06/06/2018 10:55:25 PM Disabled minimized on startup - CPU Usage: 1.0%
    06/06/2018 11:00:35 PM BIT update available! Version 1.1.7 - CPU Usage: 2.6%
     
  11. Mike

    Mike Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,597
    Likes Received:
    772
    Location:
    New York
    That's weird. Shoot me a PM and I'll send you 1.1.7
     
  12. Mike

    Mike Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,597
    Likes Received:
    772
    Location:
    New York
    What exactly do you mean?
     
  13. BassTeQ

    BassTeQ n3wb

    Joined:
    May 10, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    When you use a "text overlay" within BI, it reads the contents of a text file created by BI tools.
    The overlay doesnt "wrap" text, so it displays truncated, see example below "Wind Desc"


    truncation.png
     
  14. Mike

    Mike Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,597
    Likes Received:
    772
    Location:
    New York
    Hmm, the macro on my BI seems to change size according to the description.
     
  15. BassTeQ

    BassTeQ n3wb

    Joined:
    May 10, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    Change the size of the area displayed? Or change the font size?
    If it's the latter I don't want to reduce the font size as it will not be legible.
     
  16. Mike

    Mike Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,597
    Likes Received:
    772
    Location:
    New York
    It looks like the font but I'm not positive, the description hasn't changed much since I started monitoring it.
     
  17. Don Couchman

    Don Couchman Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2017
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    11
    Mike,
    There was a message on my server this morning that the BIT update required admin privileges. I am the admin, with full control. The update then quit. Now when I try to run BIT, it's a very old version that launches. It properly notifies me that 1.1.7 is current and asks me if I want to download. I do, launch BIT, and the exact same thing starts again. This will continue without a variation in the behavior.
     
  18. PJSp

    PJSp n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Alberta
    I am trying to find the Blue Iris Tools download but nothing, please tell me where I can get it?

    Thank you in adavnce

    Peter

     
  19. Don Couchman

    Don Couchman Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2017
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    11
    Go to Forums and select Blue Iris Tools. It's the first posting.
     
    Mike likes this.
  20. Mike

    Mike Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,597
    Likes Received:
    772
    Location:
    New York
    That's weird. Try updating or reinstalling (but keep important BIT files).
     
  21. Don Couchman

    Don Couchman Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2017
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    11
    Mike, I've tried updating. That's where this behavior comes from. Are you saying I should uninstall & reinstall and then upgrade?
     
  22. IDLE

    IDLE Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    49
    When is this going to be available?
     
  23. Mike

    Mike Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,597
    Likes Received:
    772
    Location:
    New York
    I would like to see this for myself, can you message me with Teamviewer or Ultraviewer credentials, please?

    Not sure to be honest. there's a lot being built into it, I'm trying to roll out many features at once. I'll update the thread when possible
     
    IDLE likes this.