Blue Iris Tools - Weather Overlay, Watchdog & more!

Discussion in 'Blue Iris Tools' started by Mike, Mar 30, 2014.

Share This Page

  1. tangent

    tangent Known around here

    Joined:
    May 12, 2016
    Messages:
    2,982
    Likes Received:
    1,692
  2. IDLE

    IDLE Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    52
    Dumb question but how do you set up the bit cloud? I looked and it doesn’t make much since.
     
  3. Mike

    Mike Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,314
    Likes Received:
    409
    Location:
    New York
    It's not a good idea to forward any ports, but people do it.

    I still have to create the help info for it but here's a quick run down. The UI is a bit confusing, I'll try to clean it up a little bit. Also, make sure to click the ? bubbles for help.

    BIT Cloud is the name of all of the remote / cloud features. Under BIT Cloud is several things....

    BIT Cloud Remote - This is a client / server application that will allow you to use Blue Iris Tools to connect to a remote Blue Iris Tools. You set one as a "Server" and one as a "Client" and you connect to the server via the client. You can do this either locally or over the internet if you port forward or use a VPN. Some features with the Cloud Remote are restarting Blue Iris, getting BI status (if it's running, web server is running, local IP, port, global IP, etc.), get CPU performance, view / install previous versions of BI, view weather details, adjust multiple settings and much more. You can try it out locally first using the same install of BIT, just use the local IP address or 127.0.0.1 and the same port on the Server and Client.

    BI Watchdog - This is similar to the regular Web Server Watchdog in the sense that it will monitor the web server portion of Blue Iris. However, this is designed to monitor a Blue Iris install outside of your network. This is good for power outages, network failures, if someone closes BIT / BI on the remote computer, etc. It's another layer of protection and if BI is not detected then your Watchdog alerts will trigger.

    BIT Web Server - This will create a homepage / website for you to visit, showing your BIT stats, settings, log, cpu performance and more. Soon you will be able to send commands to BIT from the web server. Visit IP: PORT (of the web server, without spaces) in any browser.

    BIT Cloud opens up endless possibilities and I have a lot of really good ideas. I personally manage several BIT installations in various locations so BIT Cloud has already come in handy for me.

    Coming Soon
    -Send commands via BIT Cloud Web Server pages
    -More info & controls from BIT Cloud Web Server and BIT Cloud Remote
    -"My BIT Cloud" - Personal storage space to backup BIT, BI & more.
    -BIT Cloud API
    -Add custom CSS and HTML to the web server pages
     
    bob2701, sone and fenderman like this.
  4. IDLE

    IDLE Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    52
    Thank you. So to see status or stats you have to use another PC with Blue Iris Tools installed?? No way from iOS or a app?
     
  5. Mike

    Mike Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,314
    Likes Received:
    409
    Location:
    New York
    You can do it from any device. The Web Server will allow you to use any web browser while the Cloud Remote will allow you to use another installation of BIT somewhere else.

    Web Server will create a homepage that looks similar to this

    web-server-screen.jpg
     
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2018
  6. brad2388

    brad2388 Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2016
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    10
    Has anyone setup ngrok with blueiris?

    Im behind a strict nat and cant get out. Will BIT cloud get thru it or will i still need my vpn?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  7. looney2ns

    looney2ns Known around here

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    4,893
    Likes Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Evansville, Indiana
    Awesome stuff @Mike Thanks for this!
     
    Mike likes this.
  8. Zion

    Zion Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2015
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thanks to all those involved for keeping Blue Iris updated and improved!
     
  9. dshehane

    dshehane n3wb

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Auburn, CA
    I am suddenly having issues with overlay updates from weather underground. When I check the Weather Underground website, it has the latest data, but repeated requests for updates from BIT gives me no updates. If I reboot the entire system I get one update, then it is "frozen" again. Any issues noted with latest BI or BIT updates?
     
  10. Mike

    Mike Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,314
    Likes Received:
    409
    Location:
    New York
    What is the stations ID?
     
  11. dshehane

    dshehane n3wb

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Auburn, CA
    KCAAUBUR17

    I turned on the BIT logs and it appears normal, with no errors. Very strange behavior- I will fool around, poke it, and it might update, then next update goes back to a older previous value. Quite bizarre - we used the BI overlay as our on screen thermometer and can no longer trust it!
     
  12. dshehane

    dshehane n3wb

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Auburn, CA
    Continued issues with erratic updates - it appears that BIT is working correctly and that Weather Underground (WU) is not providing correct information. Also looks like WU does not have a great future - it s trying to commercialize it's services. Is there another way to get information from my VWS software to the overlay rather than use WU? Why go all the way to WU when the data is somewhere on my computer anyway!
     
  13. TonyR

    TonyR Known around here

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    2,027
    Likes Received:
    1,575
    Location:
    Alabama
    WU has gone downhill in recent times.

    I've had this out my backyard for 5 years now without any issues. It's a Davis Instruments Vantage Vue 6250 and it's $615, kinda steep.
    The people I bought it from, Ambient Weather, now have their own line and if I were to buy today I'd consider their $110 Ambient Weather WS-1401-IP setup.

    My weather data and webcam are uploaded to WU now (started about a month ago) but I likely won't be doing it much longer. My station is KALHOUST3 .

    I also upload to my own domain here.

    All the data is accessible (simple HTML).
     
    wantafastz28 and gwminor48 like this.
  14. dshehane

    dshehane n3wb

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Auburn, CA
    I go way back (20 years ?) with VWS (Virtual Weather Station from Ambient, now obsolete), first with an Oregon Scientific Weather Station, now with the Davis Vantage Vue 6351. The Davis is a dream compared to the Oregon Scientific! I have been using WU for so many years so I am accustom to total lack of customer support and extended unexplained outages. Initially I was checking to see if the current issue was caused by the recent significant updates to BIT or routine updates to BI. Having not received any feedback that indicates others are having problems and looking a what appears to be normal logs for BIT, and given the flaky history of WU, I am thinking it is their issue, once again.

    So what I am looking for now is the ideal answer-- a means to access either the Davis Vantage Vue or VWS directly with a simple file path to the BIT Overlay Macro; or another destination other than WU that would provide a path to the data needed by the BIT macro.
     
  15. Mike

    Mike Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,314
    Likes Received:
    409
    Location:
    New York
    This is what that station ID is currently displaying from WU via their XML feed.

    Code:
      <?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8" ?>
    - <current_observation>
      <credit>Weather Underground Personal Weather Station</credit>
      <credit_URL>http://wunderground.com/weatherstation/</credit_URL>
    - <image>
      <url>http://icons.wunderground.com/graphics/bh-wui_logo.gif</url>
      <title>Weather Underground</title>
      <link>http://wunderground.com/weatherstation/</link>
      </image>
    - <location>
      <full>Auburn West - Wise Road, Auburn, CA</full>
      <neighborhood>Auburn West - Wise Road</neighborhood>
      <city>Auburn</city>
      <state>CA</state>
      <zip />
      <latitude>38.916412</latitude>
      <longitude>-121.148880</longitude>
      <elevation>875 ft</elevation>
      </location>
      <station_id>KCAAUBUR17</station_id>
      <station_type>Davis Vantage Vue (Wireless)</station_type>
      <observation_time>Last Updated on August 15, 2:23 PM PDT</observation_time>
      <observation_time_rfc822>Wed, 15 Aug 2018 21:23:00 GMT</observation_time_rfc822>
      <weather />
      <temperature_string>88.0 F (31.1 C)</temperature_string>
      <temp_f>88.0</temp_f>
      <temp_c>31.1</temp_c>
      <relative_humidity>36</relative_humidity>
      <wind_string>From the East at 1.0 MPH Gusting to 6.0 MPH</wind_string>
      <wind_dir>East</wind_dir>
      <wind_degrees>100</wind_degrees>
      <wind_mph>1.0</wind_mph>
      <wind_gust_mph>6.0</wind_gust_mph>
      <pressure_string>29.95" (1014.1 mb)</pressure_string>
      <pressure_mb>1014.1</pressure_mb>
      <pressure_in>29.95</pressure_in>
      <dewpoint_string>57.7 F (14.3 C)</dewpoint_string>
      <dewpoint_f>57.7</dewpoint_f>
      <dewpoint_c>14.3</dewpoint_c>
      <heat_index_string />
      <heat_index_f />
      <heat_index_c />
      <windchill_string />
      <windchill_f />
      <windchill_c />
      <solar_radiation />
      <UV />
      <precip_1hr_string>0.00 in (0.0 mm)</precip_1hr_string>
      <precip_1hr_in>0.00</precip_1hr_in>
      <precip_1hr_metric>0.0</precip_1hr_metric>
      <precip_today_string>0.00 in (0.0 cm)</precip_today_string>
      <precip_today_in>0.00</precip_today_in>
      <precip_today_metric>0.0 cm</precip_today_metric>
      <history_url>http://www.wunderground.com/weatherstation/WXDailyHistory.asp?ID=KCAAUBUR17</history_url>
      <ob_url>http://www.wunderground.com/cgi-bin/findweather/getForecast?query=38.916412,-121.148880</ob_url>
      </current_observation>
    
     
  16. TonyR

    TonyR Known around here

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    2,027
    Likes Received:
    1,575
    Location:
    Alabama
    VWS from Ambient is what I use and FWIW, it's still being sold and supported by Ambient Weather, as far as I know.
     
  17. dshehane

    dshehane n3wb

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Auburn, CA
    Thanks for the data - that confirms what I said - WU is updating OK from my VWS. And BIT is polling the data without errors every 3 minutes. The problem is still that the data BIT is getting is not correct or it is not updating BI. The data lags considerably and is erratic as to how long it takes to update, if it does. So the mystery continues.

    Good to know that VWS is still supported. In searching for clues on this issue I saw a notice that it was no longer supported. Possibly that was an official position, but Ambient still provides help when needed or I just plain misread it.
     
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2018
  18. dshehane

    dshehane n3wb

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Auburn, CA
    I corrected my previous post - I meant VWS support, not BI!!!
     
  19. looney2ns

    looney2ns Known around here

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    4,893
    Likes Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Evansville, Indiana
    Stick with the Davis, my BIL has the Ambient station and has had nothing but trouble with it.
     
    TonyR likes this.
  20. looney2ns

    looney2ns Known around here

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    4,893
    Likes Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Evansville, Indiana
    So your banging the WU server every 3 minutes? You might try backing off, like to 15 or more.
    I update at 15 minutes and not noticed any issue's.
     
    Mike likes this.
  21. TonyR

    TonyR Known around here

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    2,027
    Likes Received:
    1,575
    Location:
    Alabama
    thx, looney2ns...I'll do that.
    Also, +1 to the updates to WU at 15 mins, that's my setting as well, seems to work OK.
     
  22. bp2008

    bp2008 Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    7,290
    Likes Received:
    3,772
    I am having a problem with BI Tools telling me Invalid Station ID in red text at the bottom of the weather overlay tab. The problem is actually the response from the wunderground server, and it happens even if I make the same web request in Chrome. For whatever reason the page which BI Tools gets weather data from has become unstable and often returns this:

    Code:
    HTTP/1.1 200 OK
    Accept-Ranges: bytes
    Access-Control-Allow-Credentials: true
    Access-Control-Allow-Origin: http://www.wunderground.com
    Content-Type: text/xml
    Server: Apache/2.2.15 (CentOS)
    X-CreationTime: 0.012
    X-Varnish: 3878006160 3874568807
    Content-Length: 2059
    Expires: Sat, 01 Sep 2018 19:34:39 GMT
    Cache-Control: max-age=0, no-cache
    Pragma: no-cache
    Date: Sat, 01 Sep 2018 19:34:39 GMT
    Connection: keep-alive
    Vary: Accept-Encoding
    
    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8" ?>
        <current_observation>
            <credit>Weather Underground Personal Weather Station</credit>
            <credit_URL>http://wunderground.com/weatherstation/</credit_URL>
            <image>
            <url>http://icons.wunderground.com/graphics/bh-wui_logo.gif</url>
            <title>Weather Underground</title>
            <link>http://wunderground.com/weatherstation/</link>
            </image>
            <location>
            <full>, , </full>
            <neighborhood></neighborhood>
            <city></city>
            <state></state>
            <zip></zip>
            <latitude></latitude>
            <longitude></longitude>
            <elevation> ft</elevation>
            </location>
            <station_id>#WXSTATION.CUR.StationID</station_id>
            <station_type></station_type>
            <observation_time>Last Updated on , </observation_time>
            <observation_time_rfc822>, ::0 GMT</observation_time_rfc822>
            <weather></weather>
            <temperature_string> F ( C)</temperature_string>
            <temp_f></temp_f>
            <temp_c></temp_c>
            <relative_humidity></relative_humidity>
            <wind_string>Calm</wind_string>
            <wind_dir></wind_dir>
            <wind_degrees></wind_degrees>
            <wind_mph></wind_mph>
            <wind_gust_mph></wind_gust_mph>
            <pressure_string>" ( mb)</pressure_string>
            <pressure_mb></pressure_mb>
            <pressure_in></pressure_in>
            <dewpoint_string> F ( C)</dewpoint_string>
            <dewpoint_f></dewpoint_f>
            <dewpoint_c></dewpoint_c>
           
            <heat_index_string></heat_index_string>
            <heat_index_f></heat_index_f>
            <heat_index_c></heat_index_c>
           
           
            <windchill_string></windchill_string>
            <windchill_f></windchill_f>
            <windchill_c></windchill_c>
           
            <solar_radiation></solar_radiation>
            <UV></UV>
            <precip_1hr_string> in ( mm)</precip_1hr_string>
            <precip_1hr_in></precip_1hr_in>
            <precip_1hr_metric></precip_1hr_metric>
            <precip_today_string> in ( )</precip_today_string>
            <precip_today_in></precip_today_in>
            <precip_today_metric> </precip_today_metric>
            <history_url>http://www.wunderground.com/weatherstation/WXDailyHistory.asp?ID=#WXSTATION.CUR.StationID</history_url>
            <ob_url>http://www.wunderground.com/cgi-bin/findweather/getForecast?query=,</ob_url>
        </current_observation>
    
    
    Also now whenever I restart BI Tools (v 1.2.2) and look on the Weather Overlay tab, the error message says "Error connecting to wunderground. Check your internet connection / station ID". This happens even when I know that BI Tools got a valid response from the wunderground server because Fiddler shows me the valid response. The error condition is solved in ~30 seconds when BI tools tries the connection again.
     
  23. Mike

    Mike Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,314
    Likes Received:
    409
    Location:
    New York
    What is the station ID? PM me it if you want. If there is no weather data, such in the code you pasted, then BIT will report that error.
     
  24. jrich523

    jrich523 Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2016
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    3
    Im looking to do a temp/hum overlay but it will be from a indoor sensor that isnt pushed to WU. Im wondering if maybe it would be better to have it setup in the form of a script and a overlay template, packaged with a WU overlay script and template. That way if someone wanted a custom overlay they can do it, but also the weather one is there and ready to go for anyone who doesnt want to (or cant) screw with the scripts.