Blue Iris Tools - Weather Overlay, Watchdog & more! 1.5.0

Blue Iris Tools - Weather Overlay, Watchdog & more!

Share This Page

  1. Mike

    Mike Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,430
    Likes Received:
    1,572
    Location:
    New York
    This does not use the typical WU API that they charge for, this uses a different web based method which (knock on wood) they haven't shut down yet and works fine. BIT loads a text based web page from WU in the background to avoid having to use the paid API key, so there is no need to purchase a key.
     
    looney2ns and awsum140 like this.
  2. awsum140

    awsum140 Known around here

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    1,283
    Likes Received:
    1,117
    Location:
    Southern NJ
    IBM is in the "profit center" business which means all of us who contribute data to WU, at our own expense, will be getting the "business" very soon now. Oh well, as the old saying goes, all good things must come to an end. Their latest "improvement" no longer seems to be pushing data to a logged in user page and has to be refreshed if you want to have current data. The layout stinks, only displays temperature, dew point, humidity and the local map. Everything else is down the page and it is all out of date information. It's 53 outside right now but according to WU the high for today is 34.
     
    looney2ns likes this.
  3. Mike

    Mike Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,430
    Likes Received:
    1,572
    Location:
    New York
    I contribute to WU with my weather station and they gave me 1 year of no ads on the app....yay (sarcasm). I am always looking for alternatives of WU to integrate into BIT but haven't found anything that is free that offers as much as WU does. I'm all ears if anyone has ideas.
     
  4. peterfram

    peterfram Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2015
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    18
    Smart. And good to know. So the wrong/delayed temp I see must be WU bugs. Didn't notice until today. The other stuff that requests through API is accurate so I thought could be API... Thanks for clarifying.
     
  5. awsum140

    awsum140 Known around here

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    1,283
    Likes Received:
    1,117
    Location:
    Southern NJ
    I wish I had a better idea, Mike. They're the only game in town right now to my knowledge but that could change depending on how far IBM takes it down the drain. Wish I could code.

    I just use an adblocker and that's a little more permanent and under my control.
     
    Mike likes this.
  6. awsum140

    awsum140 Known around here

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    1,283
    Likes Received:
    1,117
    Location:
    Southern NJ
    As an aside, I wonder how many of us camera addicts are also weather bugs?
     
    looney2ns, peterfram and Mike like this.
  7. jaydeel

    jaydeel BIT Beta Team

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2016
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    93
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    Have you considered darksky.net? It has a deep set of data and is free for the first 1000 API requests per day (one API request every 2 minutes is 720x per day).

    Several conditions it provides that I find useful are ‘cloudCover’, ‘precipIntensity’, ‘precipIntensityError’, ‘precipIntensityMax’, ’precipIntensityMaxTime’, and ‘precipProbability’. Storm watchers might like ‘nearestStormDistance’ and ‘nearestStormBearing’.

    ~~~~~
    Pasted below is the pricing info from darksky.net.

    Pricing is dead-simple.

    • The first 1,000 API requests you make every day are free of charge.
    • Every API request over the free daily limit costs $0.0001.
    You are required to display the message “Powered by Dark Sky” that links to https://darksky.net/poweredby/ somewhere prominent in your app or service. If attribution isn't for you, email sales@darksky.net for details about white labeling.
     
  8. Mike

    Mike Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,430
    Likes Received:
    1,572
    Location:
    New York
    I have now! (considered it). Will look into this for sure, thanks for sharing.
     
  9. grigione

    grigione BIT Beta Team

    Joined:
    May 1, 2014
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    6
    In darksky you can't add your weather station!
     
    peterfram likes this.
  10. aesterling

    aesterling Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2017
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    53
    Quick question about how BIT launches a web browser on Windows 10.

    If I click the "?" BIT help icon, it appears to open an embedded web browser where the title bar says, "Windows 8 Detected - Can't Launch Default Browser." However, in BIT, if I click on the banner for "Blue Iris Sale $49 - Click Here" it opens my default Chrome browser to the page. I'm wondering why these behave differently? I'd prefer it just launch my default browser for both. Thanks!
     
  11. jaydeel

    jaydeel BIT Beta Team

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2016
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    93
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    True... I should have noted that I don’t own a weather station, so this is not a priority for me.

    Btw, awhile back I investigated alternatives to the WU API and found this <reddit link> helpful. It mentions <AerisWeather> which does support personal weather stations at its <PSWeather> website. Perhaps it is worth looking at for data providers like you?

    For my applications, I personally prefer to see/use multiple sources of data (after all, there is no single source of truth for weather data!). So I routinely make use of WU data (via BIT) and ALSO make API calls to both OpenWeather.com and DarkSky.net. If AerisWeather were to be addd to BIT, I could add a 4th source (for another data point I’m personally not willing to pay $23/mo for its lowest tier API access plan, though data providers may get free access).
     
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2019
  12. awsum140

    awsum140 Known around here

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    1,283
    Likes Received:
    1,117
    Location:
    Southern NJ
    One of the problems with the alternate places to upload weather data to is that they are not supported by AcuRite which is a very popular, and relatively inexpensive, weather station system. The data could be uploaded from a website but that's more hoops to jump through. If it ain't KISS it ain't for me or loads of other folks. I flat out refuse to create a website just for weather data and have no need for one for anything else. Just my two cents.
     
  13. griffths

    griffths Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2018
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Chicago
    Came here to research the lack of updates to my weather overlay in BIT and see if it was something I was doing wrong but based upon what I am reading here, it is a result of the recent upgrade WU has made and, as of now, there is no fix for the lack of weather updates getting to BIT and subsequently to the overlays?

    What tipped me off was the temp seemed way off today; overlay showed 34 but I was outside in shorts and a t-shirt and not cold so wondered what was going on with BI/BIT/WU.

    Am I close/on the money with my assessment?
     
  14. Mike

    Mike Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,430
    Likes Received:
    1,572
    Location:
    New York
    Kind of, WU frequently reports incorrect or inaccurate data despite the changes. TBH since the changes I have no experienced any inaccurate readings with my personal weather station. In fact, I have never had any inaccuracies. I use an AmbientWeather WS-1001-Wifi
     
    griffths likes this.
  15. looney2ns

    looney2ns IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    7,075
    Likes Received:
    5,376
    Location:
    Evansville, Indiana
    Weather Underground is a complete mess right now. Many folks gripping at them over on wxforum.net.
     
    awsum140, griffths and Mike like this.
  16. griffths

    griffths Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2018
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Chicago
    The station that I had configured (KILBUFFA10) shows as not reporting in the WU webpage but when I try to choose a different station (KILPALAT14) from the WU webpage I get ERROR: 404 Page not found, in fact I get the same 404 for every station I try.

    I'll mess around with it some more and see if I can figure it out
     
  17. awsum140

    awsum140 Known around here

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    1,283
    Likes Received:
    1,117
    Location:
    Southern NJ
    I'm so disgusted with WU that I stopped sending them data. I don't know who, or why, the rollout of this disaster they call the "new site" was done, but calling it a disaster is an understatement. I tried deleting my account there, as well, but that didn't work either, which isn't really very surprising given that nothing over there works.
     
    looney2ns likes this.
  18. grigione

    grigione BIT Beta Team

    Joined:
    May 1, 2014
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    6
    Feature request: it's possible capture the weather data directly from cumulus using the realtime.txt file as an alternative method for those who have a weather station? Thanks
     
  19. Mike

    Mike Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,430
    Likes Received:
    1,572
    Location:
    New York
    Can you show me an example of the text file it creates? What about assigning that text file to a Macro?
     
  20. grigione

    grigione BIT Beta Team

    Joined:
    May 1, 2014
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    6
    Ok here a example of realtime.txt of my weather station: https://stazionemeteopaola.altervista.org/cumulus/realtime.txt
    You can find more examples simply searching RealTime.txt as Key research on Google.
    It's a simple txt file where are reported and updated at regular intervals all values of temperature humidity Wind etc etc uploaded by ftp with cumulus that read values of weather station . All values are separated by space example: space date space time space temperature space humidity etc etc
    You can read more info on format here: Realtime.txt - Cumulus Wiki Your software can read this values and insert by macros in blueiris? Thanks
     
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2019