Blue Iris Tools - Weather Overlay, Watchdog & more! 1.3.2

Blue Iris Tools - Weather Overlay, Watchdog & more!

Share This Page

  1. bp2008

    bp2008 Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    8,206
    Likes Received:
    5,091
    @Mike

    I may have found a few bugs.

    I noticed today that BIT hadn't updated my weather overlay since 5:16 AM May 9th.

    So I opened up the GUI and clicked the "Update Weather / Save" button. It didn't succeed.

    It said in the upper right that it would retry in "30". That number didn't tick down or anything.

    At this point I tried to close the Blue Iris Tools window using the standard close button in the upper right. It didn't work. I could minimize the window or click around to other tabs, but BIT wouldn't close. I went to task manager to kill it and noticed BIT was consuming 1 entire CPU core.

    Then I killed BIT via the task manager and started it again. Weather updated immediately, just fine.

    -----------------

    Then I went looking to see if I could turn on logging, and discovered more problems. I found the "BIT Logs" button in the Options tab. Clicking it opened the log window offscreen to the left with no way of moving it on-screen short of editing the settings file.

    Also, the first time I click "BIT Logs" after starting BIT, it opens the Nvidia Control Panel along with the logs window. I can't begin to explain why, but it is fully reproducible every time I close and open BIT and click the "BIT Logs" button. Further clicks of the BIT Logs button only open the logs window (not the Nvidia Control Panel) until I close and reopen BIT.

    I was running BIT version 1.3.0. I just now updated to 1.3.2 and can confirm this BIT Logs + Nvidia Control Panel issue is still happening with it.
     
    Mike likes this.
  2. griffths

    griffths Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2018
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Chicago
    I had similar weirdness happen starting a few days ago. What tipped me off was the "last updated" tag on my overlays; they were not in sync with the timestamp in the overlay as usual.

    I tried to kill and restart BIT but was not successful however a reboot of my BI server resolved the problem.

    I did notice that an update to Win10 was pending when I rebooted so figured that was messing with something related to BIT but who knows with MS products......
     
    bp2008 likes this.
  3. TonyR

    TonyR IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    3,321
    Likes Received:
    3,045
    Location:
    Alabama
    @bp2008 ,
    I've got BIT 1.3.1 and what you found & did in the upper half of your post is like deja vu to me a few days ago.
     
    bp2008 likes this.
  4. Mike

    Mike Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,370
    Likes Received:
    1,485
    Location:
    New York
    Thanks guys. I noticed this, too. Will be pushing out an update soon.
     
    fenderman, aristobrat and griffths like this.
  5. bp2008

    bp2008 Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    8,206
    Likes Received:
    5,091
    Weather updates stopped and CPU usage went up again. It may have been caused by this coming up and me clicking No.

    [​IMG]
     
  6. bp2008

    bp2008 Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    8,206
    Likes Received:
    5,091
    It literally just happened again, and CPU usage went up before I even clicked a button. I clicked Yes this time and it did not help.
     
    griffths likes this.
  7. griffths

    griffths Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2018
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Chicago
    Yep....EXACTLY the same experience I had yesterday, complete with error regarding "script on page stopped....."

    Curious that it just started happening even though WU has been unstable for a while now. Must be some sort of WU conspiracy to remotely disable BIT. :rofl:
     
  8. bp2008

    bp2008 Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    8,206
    Likes Received:
    5,091
    Nobody would have guessed that BIT would try to execute any scripts included in the response. This is most likely the result of BIT using some kind of Internet Explorer component to load the weather data when it should just be using a plain HTTP(s) component.
     
  9. Alan_F

    Alan_F n3wb

    Joined:
    Friday
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    Same exact error with high CPU usage multiple times over the past few days. I am only able to close BI Tools from task manager once the error pops up.
     
  10. Ssayer

    Ssayer Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    78
    Location:
    SE Michigan USA
    Same here as well
     
  11. Mike

    Mike Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,370
    Likes Received:
    1,485
    Location:
    New York
    I am aware of these bugs and have been experiencing them too. WU changed some stuff around that isn't playing well with BIT's main and backup method of retrieving weather. I have a potential fix running on my Blue Iris rig now that I am testing with hopes of releasing soon.
     
    erkme73, aristobrat, anijet and 4 others like this.
  12. erkme73

    erkme73 Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    783
    Likes Received:
    353
    Now I feel like a dolt for starting a new thread on this problem before looking at the latest posts here. But, in any case. me too! Thanks for what you're doing @Mike.
     
  13. Mike

    Mike Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,370
    Likes Received:
    1,485
    Location:
    New York
    lol it's really not a big deal, I am glad that people care enough to report bugs. I'm actually working on it right now as well. I had started creating a bunch of new features a month or so ago but got real busy, so this is forcing me to roll out the new features and fix!

    New features are
    • Batch camera configuration - change settings on multiple cameras at once
    • Key manager - find your machine's key plus store other keys
    • UI improvements - cleaned up the UI a bit, put all weather settings on the Weather Overlay tab, etc.
     
    th182 and erkme73 like this.