Blue Iris Tools - Weather Overlay, Watchdog & more!

Discussion in 'Blue Iris Tools' started by Mike, Mar 30, 2014.

Share This Page

  1. Mike

    Mike Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,582
    Likes Received:
    805
    Location:
    New York
    Post 1 has been updated with the latest installer and all the latest files.

    Make sure you always set BIT to update automatically!
     
    keithnet and TonyR like this.
  2. TonyR

    TonyR IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    2,739
    Likes Received:
    2,392
    Location:
    Alabama
    @Mike ,
    Any thoughts on the scrambled BIT overlay here, the green text at upper left?
    The live cam is good and playing BI's .BVR is good...only the MP4 export has a garbled text.

    EDIT: 1/7/19 0730 CT, Fixed issue, solution here.
     
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2019
  3. Mike West

    Mike West n3wb

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mike, thanks for the great functionality you created with BIT, I have been looking for this for awhile. No problems installing or configuring everything, you can see the overlays in action on my weather site, Observatory West Weather. My only request would be a way to create a text file with several selectable datapoints (like temp, pressure, wind) only, instead of either one datapoint or all. I can do it manually by creating several macros but having 1 do several things (but not everything) would be great. Keep up the great work!
     
  4. Mike

    Mike Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,582
    Likes Received:
    805
    Location:
    New York
    That feature is built in, use the "Everything" option. That will save all of the values into a text file.
     
  5. Mike West

    Mike West n3wb

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, I understand the everything option, I was actually talking about selecting several, but not all, sensors to be combined in 1 file.
     
  6. Mike

    Mike Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,582
    Likes Received:
    805
    Location:
    New York
    The "everything" option will only gather the data for what you select.
     
  7. awsum140

    awsum140 Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    843
    Likes Received:
    604
    Location:
    Southern NJ
    I posted this question in the "Chit Chat" area, couldn't find this thread for the life of me. Blame it on a senior moment.

    Is there a way to edit the "wind description" to reduce the length of the displayed text or even break it into two separate lines of text? I checked the help file and didn't see anything there, but that could be another senior thing.
     
  8. Mike

    Mike Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,582
    Likes Received:
    805
    Location:
    New York
    No, not currently
     
  9. marinenickel

    marinenickel n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    USA
    Any chance of having BIT run as a service? I don't stay logged into the PC that is running BI.
     
  10. Mike

    Mike Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,582
    Likes Received:
    805
    Location:
    New York
    Yes, but it's not built into bit so you have to use other means to do it. There is info here somewhere about it.
     
  11. marinenickel

    marinenickel n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks, will take a look. I remember using a tool in the past to allow applications to run as a service.
     
    Mike likes this.
  12. awsum140

    awsum140 Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    843
    Likes Received:
    604
    Location:
    Southern NJ
    Thanks for answering, Mike. And thanks for BIT as well!
     
    Mike likes this.