IP Cam Talk

Welcome to the new IPCT! If you are having an issue logging in, please clear your cookies / cache.

Blue Iris Tools - Weather Overlay, Watchdog & more!

Blue Iris Tools - Weather Overlay, Watchdog & more! 1.5.0

Mike

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
2,559
Reaction score
1,780
Location
New York
Post 1 has been updated with the latest installer and all the latest files.

Make sure you always set BIT to update automatically!
 

TonyR

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Jul 15, 2014
Messages
4,148
Reaction score
3,994
Location
Alabama
@Mike ,
Any thoughts on the scrambled BIT overlay here, the green text at upper left?
The live cam is good and playing BI's .BVR is good...only the MP4 export has a garbled text.

EDIT: 1/7/19 0730 CT, Fixed issue, solution here.
 
Last edited:

Mike West

n3wb
Joined
Feb 7, 2018
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Mike, thanks for the great functionality you created with BIT, I have been looking for this for awhile. No problems installing or configuring everything, you can see the overlays in action on my weather site, Observatory West Weather. My only request would be a way to create a text file with several selectable datapoints (like temp, pressure, wind) only, instead of either one datapoint or all. I can do it manually by creating several macros but having 1 do several things (but not everything) would be great. Keep up the great work!
 

Mike

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
2,559
Reaction score
1,780
Location
New York
Mike, thanks for the great functionality you created with BIT, I have been looking for this for awhile. No problems installing or configuring everything, you can see the overlays in action on my weather site, Observatory West Weather. My only request would be a way to create a text file with several selectable datapoints (like temp, pressure, wind) only, instead of either one datapoint or all. I can do it manually by creating several macros but having 1 do several things (but not everything) would be great. Keep up the great work!
That feature is built in, use the "Everything" option. That will save all of the values into a text file.
 

Mike West

n3wb
Joined
Feb 7, 2018
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
That feature is built in, use the "Everything" option. That will save all of the values into a text file.
Thanks, I understand the everything option, I was actually talking about selecting several, but not all, sensors to be combined in 1 file.
 

Mike

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
2,559
Reaction score
1,780
Location
New York
Thanks, I understand the everything option, I was actually talking about selecting several, but not all, sensors to be combined in 1 file.
The "everything" option will only gather the data for what you select.
 

awsum140

Known around here
Joined
Nov 14, 2017
Messages
1,283
Reaction score
1,121
Location
Southern NJ
I posted this question in the "Chit Chat" area, couldn't find this thread for the life of me. Blame it on a senior moment.

Is there a way to edit the "wind description" to reduce the length of the displayed text or even break it into two separate lines of text? I checked the help file and didn't see anything there, but that could be another senior thing.
 

Mike

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
2,559
Reaction score
1,780
Location
New York
I posted this question in the "Chit Chat" area, couldn't find this thread for the life of me. Blame it on a senior moment.

Is there a way to edit the "wind description" to reduce the length of the displayed text or even break it into two separate lines of text? I checked the help file and didn't see anything there, but that could be another senior thing.
No, not currently
 
Joined
Jul 17, 2018
Messages
12
Reaction score
2
Location
USA
Any chance of having BIT run as a service? I don't stay logged into the PC that is running BI.
 

Mike

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
2,559
Reaction score
1,780
Location
New York
Any chance of having BIT run as a service? I don't stay logged into the PC that is running BI.
Yes, but it's not built into bit so you have to use other means to do it. There is info here somewhere about it.
 
Joined
Jul 17, 2018
Messages
12
Reaction score
2
Location
USA
Yes, but it's not built into bit so you have to use other means to do it. There is info here somewhere about it.
Thanks, will take a look. I remember using a tool in the past to allow applications to run as a service.
 

Mike

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
2,559
Reaction score
1,780
Location
New York
Jan. 13, 2019 - Version 1.2.5
Please update via Blue Iris Tools.

  • Added ability to split wind description
  • Misc. bug fixes
  • Weather bug introduced in 1.2.4 fixed

Added a "Wind Options" feature on the weather tab to manipulate the wind description. Can split into rows, remove anything before / after a delimiter, etc.



Next Update:
  • Blue Iris Tools Add-ons! Ability to set event handlers on BIT to trigger any other application or script. Ex: run script when weather is updated, on any error, when BIT loads, watchdog, etc.
 

Mike

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
2,559
Reaction score
1,780
Location
New York
Mike updated Blue Iris Tools - Weather Overlay, Watchdog & more! with a new update entry:

BIT Add-ons system built

I'm really excited about this update! I built an "add-ons" system for BIT which will allow you to create and install add-ons to interact with BI & BIT. Event Handlers have been added throughout BIT which can trigger any file to execute, such as a batch file to do whatever you want! View the add-ons wiki here

Jan. 21, 2019 - Version 1.3.0
Please update via Blue Iris Tools.

  • Introducing BIT Add-ons! Create your own or install from the community for more control of BI and BIT
  • BIT Event Handlers installed for interaction with BIT & BI
upload_2019-1-22_11-35-13.png


upload_2019-1-22_11-36-17.png


View the add-ons wiki here

Read the rest of this update entry...
 

Mike

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
2,559
Reaction score
1,780
Location
New York

philipzeo

n3wb
Joined
Feb 19, 2016
Messages
18
Reaction score
6
Hi, I just installed BIT 1.3.1 and have the weather updates set for 15 minutes - and BI Update manager checked.
I noticed my CPU running higher than usual - so I was digging into what is going on and I think I found it in the logs of BIT.
It looks like every now and then I get an error - Weather Update Error #0-Description .
This error causes the CPU usage of BIT to go up to 15% and stay there indefinitely.
I restart BIT and it goes back down to 0%.
It only happened a couple of times, I just wanted to let you know about the process cpu spike on that error.
 
Top