Blue Iris Tools - Weather Overlay, Watchdog & more! 1.5.0

Blue Iris Tools - Weather Overlay, Watchdog & more!

Share This Page

  1. erkme73

    erkme73 Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    830
    Likes Received:
    387
    Is there a way for BIT to interface directly with a weather station's client software? For example, my Accurite station runs "accurite PC connect" on a PC which is what pulls the data in from the weather station, and then uploads it to WU. I always thought it was a bit of an inefficient process to first push the data to the cloud, to then have BIT go fetch it, when it was on the local network to begin with. Though, I suppose from a developer standpoint, having to interface with countless application clients vs one cloud-based API is probably an impossibility.
     
  2. Trsbbs

    Trsbbs n3wb

    Joined:
    May 20, 2019
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    DeForest Wi
    I also recommended that. Using clientraw.txt for Weather-Display users also (there are hundreds). Much better then WU.
     
    Last edited: May 30, 2019
  3. Mike

    Mike Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,425
    Likes Received:
    1,569
    Location:
    New York
    I pushed out an updated, please update via BIT.
     
    bp2008, Trsbbs, Tinman and 3 others like this.
  4. Trsbbs

    Trsbbs n3wb

    Joined:
    May 20, 2019
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    DeForest Wi
    Got it and trying it. Thank .
     
  5. Trsbbs

    Trsbbs n3wb

    Joined:
    May 20, 2019
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    DeForest Wi
    Any way of getting rid of the ads?
    Paid version?
    Donations?

    Don't like ad based apps on any server.

    Thanks.
     
  6. Mike

    Mike Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,425
    Likes Received:
    1,569
    Location:
    New York
    The BI image has been there for a while, before that was something different. Only thing new is IPCT DDNS image. No way of removing them.
     
  7. TonyR

    TonyR IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    3,681
    Likes Received:
    3,405
    Location:
    Alabama
    Mike acknowledged the problem 2 weeks ago...in THIS thread.


    Then you of all people you should understand that 2 weeks may not be enough time to resolve.

    Great suggestion! WU has issues.

    Likewise, my man. :cool:
     
  8. bob2701

    bob2701 Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2016
    Messages:
    795
    Likes Received:
    171
    Location:
    Jersey Shore
    Had to reboot BIT for the update to take, when I checked for update it said there was one but when I tried to update it would not. Rebooted server and when I checked it asked if I wanted to upgrade, I said yes and all went well. Turned Weather Overlay back on and it works fine. Will keep an eye on it.

    Thanks Mike :headbang:
     
    Mike likes this.
  9. Trsbbs

    Trsbbs n3wb

    Joined:
    May 20, 2019
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    DeForest Wi
    1. Just donated via PayPal, I believe in paying folks for their work.(Tims@proalertus.net/tshriver@email.com)

    2. Don't like being jumped when I violated no rules. Questions are just that. They hurt no one.
    You will turn folks off/away.

    Peace to all....
     
    TahoeJeff likes this.
  10. DarkHelmet

    DarkHelmet Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2017
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    28
    The issue is that you are a newer user and keep asking for the same thing or complaining about 2 images in the app. Images for 1: the program you're already using and 2: the website you're already visiting. This could be what rubs people the wrong way. Ask once, and go about your business. A closed thread is still viewable and op already saw your request. Also, good will isn't good will if you need to publicly advertise it. Good day, sir.

    Now, back on topic. Thanks for the update, Mike!
     
    Last edited: May 30, 2019
  11. griffths

    griffths Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2018
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Chicago
    Just remoted into my BI server to upgrade BIT and was greeted with a notice that BIT was already updated so didn't have to do anything.

    My thanks go out to @Mike for fixing the problem and also making a few additional upgrades as well.
     
    Mike likes this.
  12. Trsbbs

    Trsbbs n3wb

    Joined:
    May 20, 2019
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    DeForest Wi
    I asked about getting a version without advertising in it. Our auditors will not allow that on a server in the production environment. I was not complaining and offering to pay for said version.

    I may be new to this forum but this isn't my first rodeo.
     
  13. th182

    th182 BIT Beta Team

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2018
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    100
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Just updated! Thanks for fixing everything!!!


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  14. Trsbbs

    Trsbbs n3wb

    Joined:
    May 20, 2019
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    DeForest Wi
    So far so good! No lockups so far. Memory management looks good. Thanks!

    Still not sure why gusts are always lower then wind speed though.
    Also unable to get emails working. Unable to connect to server. The info used is correct.
     
  15. TonyR

    TonyR IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    3,681
    Likes Received:
    3,405
    Location:
    Alabama
    Installed 10 minutes ago, looking good so far>
    Set up email, test works OK as well!

    Thanks, Mike!


    EDIT @ 1154 CT: FWIW, was unable to get gmail SMTP to test email OK, tried ports 465 & 587 and have less secure apps enabled; seems most folks can't use gmail with NVRs, etc. What did work was my own personal domain's SMTP server, port 465
     
    Last edited: May 31, 2019
    Mike and th182 like this.
  16. Trsbbs

    Trsbbs n3wb

    Joined:
    May 20, 2019
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    DeForest Wi
    Wow. One on every crowd...sad.
     
  17. Trsbbs

    Trsbbs n3wb

    Joined:
    May 20, 2019
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    DeForest Wi
    Using smtp.charter.net on port 25 and no go. Same settings I used in BI and it works.
    Have to use Charters as port 25 is block. Many other ISPs do this. Any ideas? Thanks.
     
  18. TonyR

    TonyR IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    3,681
    Likes Received:
    3,405
    Location:
    Alabama
    Have you tried port 587?

    Maybe "mobile.charter.net" for smtp?

    Good luck with charter/spectrum...I spent over 2 hour resetting a password for an elderly lady in my area last month...their support site is soooo sloooow, requires your zip and service address because they are national and have different email servers in various parts of the county.
     
    Trsbbs likes this.
  19. Trsbbs

    Trsbbs n3wb

    Joined:
    May 20, 2019
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    DeForest Wi
    Thanks. Tried it still not connecting. BI is on the same server and no issue sending emails via Charter.
     
  20. Mike

    Mike Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,425
    Likes Received:
    1,569
    Location:
    New York
    I am almost done integrating BI5 with BIT. In the meantime you can manually set the directories of BI5 in BIT -> Settings then Blue Iris Path and Blue Iris Server. Set those to whatever version of BI you are using.
     
    Cameraguy, Tinman and bob2701 like this.