Blue Iris Tools - Weather Overlay, Watchdog & more! 1.5.0

Blue Iris Tools - Weather Overlay, Watchdog & more!

Share This Page

  1. Dobie Tanpaw

    Dobie Tanpaw n3wb

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yeah, I'm hopeless at coding. Though I might look and see if there are any examples that I could modify to do what I want. Thanks!
     
    Mike likes this.
  2. looney2ns

    looney2ns IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    7,502
    Likes Received:
    5,895
    Location:
    Evansville, Indiana
    I got tired of futzing with them, I've stopped supplying them data that they were selling. ;)
    Most all of the cams that used to be up in my area, have disappeared from WU.
     
  3. TonyR

    TonyR IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    4,007
    Likes Received:
    3,848
    Location:
    Alabama
    Yeah, I'm just about fed up, too.
    Where else or what else can we do? I've got a Davis Vantage Vue , coupled via USB to a PC with WeatherLink software. I wouldn't care what they did with my weather data and my webcam as long as their interface worked most of the time (unlike WU).
     
  4. looney2ns

    looney2ns IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    7,502
    Likes Received:
    5,895
    Location:
    Evansville, Indiana
    Roll your own, fairly easy with the templates available today.
     
  5. adehaan86

    adehaan86 Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2018
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    US
    Im sure this has been discussed. but how do i connect blue iris tools to BI5? im all up to date.
     
  6. TonyR

    TonyR IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    4,007
    Likes Received:
    3,848
    Location:
    Alabama
    You might want to go back to here in this thread and begin your reading wherein @Mike has been addressing steps to help get BIT going with BI5.
     
  7. adehaan86

    adehaan86 Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2018
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    US

    Got it working thank you for the help!
     
  8. Ssayer

    Ssayer Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    163
    Location:
    SE Michigan USA
    BIT 1.3.3

    Hey! I just attempted a Backup of Blue Iris Settings / Cameras. It comes back with a Back Up Successful! popup, but there is no file. Just for kicks and giggles, I tried changing where it should put the file. Still no backup. If it's just me, then I'll uninstall and reinstall BIT, but I figured I'd post and ask first...
     
  9. Mike

    Mike Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,483
    Likes Received:
    1,640
    Location:
    New York
    Thanks, this is actually a known bug that I will fix. It will successfully backup BIT though.
     
    Ssayer likes this.
  10. Ssayer

    Ssayer Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    163
    Location:
    SE Michigan USA
    AH, ok. Somehow missed that it was reported already. Thanks!
     
  11. RyanODan

    RyanODan IPCT Vendor

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    625
    Likes Received:
    251
    Location:
    Tulsa
    I'm taking a wild guess here but try running Blue Iris and BIT as administrator then try back up again to see if it creates the file.
     
  12. AMP

    AMP n3wb

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2015
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    12
    I think I found the fix for the strangeness. I edited your dew point add-on so that it is only acting on the weather_get_temp handler and not both the weather_get_temp and weather_get_humidity handlers. Maybe it was a race condition where it was running twice at the same time on a weather update and sometimes operated on a null value for one of the two parameters if it wasn't fetched yet. It has looked consistent for several hours; I'll update if I see an erroneous value pop up again.
     
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2019
  13. jgray99

    jgray99 n3wb

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2017
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    16
    I actually saw it a little bit ago on mine too. I'll try what you suggested and see what happens. Good catch.

    James
     
    AMP likes this.
  14. TL1096r

    TL1096r Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2017
    Messages:
    843
    Likes Received:
    188
    does this work with bi5. if you save bi4 settings and transfer to 5 does your weather settings follow?
     
  15. jgray99

    jgray99 n3wb

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2017
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    16
    I haven't upgraded just yet but I have tested the addon on BI5 and it worked.
     
  16. The Profit

    The Profit n3wb

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Hello Mike,
    I have gone to BIT->Settings and set the directories to BI5 but when I try to enable BIT it gives me Error#0 right away and then disables the watchdog. Any idea what I'm doing wrong?
    upload_2019-6-19_15-54-37.png
     
  17. Mike

    Mike Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,483
    Likes Received:
    1,640
    Location:
    New York
    Can you try restarting BIT / the computer?
     
  18. The Profit

    The Profit n3wb

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I had tried just restarting BIT before but I guess I never tried restarting the computer! That fixed it! Thank you! Any idea when the update will be coming out? Really appreciate all the work you’ve done with BIT!
     
  19. Mike

    Mike Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,483
    Likes Received:
    1,640
    Location:
    New York
    Within 2-3 days max.
     
  20. TL1096r

    TL1096r Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2017
    Messages:
    843
    Likes Received:
    188
    BI Key manager is nice. The 'double click to delete' key is not working for me though.