Blue Iris Tools - Weather Overlay, Watchdog & more! 1.3.2

Blue Iris Tools - Weather Overlay, Watchdog & more!

Share This Page

  1. Dobie Tanpaw

    Dobie Tanpaw n3wb

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yeah, I'm hopeless at coding. Though I might look and see if there are any examples that I could modify to do what I want. Thanks!
     
    Mike likes this.
  2. looney2ns

    looney2ns IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    6,883
    Likes Received:
    5,142
    Location:
    Evansville, Indiana
    I got tired of futzing with them, I've stopped supplying them data that they were selling. ;)
    Most all of the cams that used to be up in my area, have disappeared from WU.
     
  3. TonyR

    TonyR IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    3,484
    Likes Received:
    3,202
    Location:
    Alabama
    Yeah, I'm just about fed up, too.
    Where else or what else can we do? I've got a Davis Vantage Vue , coupled via USB to a PC with WeatherLink software. I wouldn't care what they did with my weather data and my webcam as long as their interface worked most of the time (unlike WU).
     
  4. looney2ns

    looney2ns IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    6,883
    Likes Received:
    5,142
    Location:
    Evansville, Indiana
    Roll your own, fairly easy with the templates available today.
     
  5. adehaan86

    adehaan86 Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2018
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    US
    Im sure this has been discussed. but how do i connect blue iris tools to BI5? im all up to date.
     
  6. TonyR

    TonyR IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    3,484
    Likes Received:
    3,202
    Location:
    Alabama
    You might want to go back to here in this thread and begin your reading wherein @Mike has been addressing steps to help get BIT going with BI5.
     
  7. adehaan86

    adehaan86 Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2018
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    US

    Got it working thank you for the help!
     
  8. Ssayer

    Ssayer Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    118
    Location:
    SE Michigan USA
    BIT 1.3.3

    Hey! I just attempted a Backup of Blue Iris Settings / Cameras. It comes back with a Back Up Successful! popup, but there is no file. Just for kicks and giggles, I tried changing where it should put the file. Still no backup. If it's just me, then I'll uninstall and reinstall BIT, but I figured I'd post and ask first...
     
  9. Mike

    Mike Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,390
    Likes Received:
    1,534
    Location:
    New York
    Thanks, this is actually a known bug that I will fix. It will successfully backup BIT though.
     
    Ssayer likes this.
  10. Ssayer

    Ssayer Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    118
    Location:
    SE Michigan USA
    AH, ok. Somehow missed that it was reported already. Thanks!
     
  11. RyanODan

    RyanODan IPCT Vendor

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    609
    Likes Received:
    243
    Location:
    Tulsa
    I'm taking a wild guess here but try running Blue Iris and BIT as administrator then try back up again to see if it creates the file.
     
  12. AMP

    AMP n3wb

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    11
    I think I found the fix for the strangeness. I edited your dew point add-on so that it is only acting on the weather_get_temp handler and not both the weather_get_temp and weather_get_humidity handlers. Maybe it was a race condition where it was running twice at the same time on a weather update and sometimes operated on a null value for one of the two parameters if it wasn't fetched yet. It has looked consistent for several hours; I'll update if I see an erroneous value pop up again.
     
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2019 at 3:35 PM
  13. jgray99

    jgray99 n3wb

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    14
    I actually saw it a little bit ago on mine too. I'll try what you suggested and see what happens. Good catch.

    James
     
    AMP likes this.
  14. TL1096r

    TL1096r Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2017
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    61
    does this work with bi5. if you save bi4 settings and transfer to 5 does your weather settings follow?
     
  15. jgray99

    jgray99 n3wb

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    14
    I haven't upgraded just yet but I have tested the addon on BI5 and it worked.