Blue Iris Tools - Weather Overlay, Watchdog & more! 1.5.0

Blue Iris Tools - Weather Overlay, Watchdog & more!

Share This Page

  1. bob2701

    bob2701 Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2016
    Messages:
    796
    Likes Received:
    171
    Location:
    Jersey Shore
    Just the sort of info I was looking for. Thanks @Mike
     
    Mike likes this.
  2. pmcross

    pmcross Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2017
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    99
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Thanks for the update @Mike it is greatly appreciated.
     
    Mike, Trsbbs and bp2008 like this.
  3. andycots

    andycots n3wb

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    6
    Hi, i just renamed the BI4 folder to Old, then in B/T just click the detect version and it picked the correct folders itself, although it did say 4 detected when it was pointing to BI5 folders.

    Andy
     
  4. Mike

    Mike Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,451
    Likes Received:
    1,609
    Location:
    New York
    The path for BI5 is located in the same registry entry "AppPath4" as BI4, so whether or not you upgrade BI4 to BI5 or do a fresh install of 5, BIT will pick up that path. However, there seems to be a bug in the initial 5 release that still points the web server to the BI4 path which Ken is aware of. In the meantime I am still buttoning up all the finishing touches on the next version of BIT (which is compatible with BI5). A release will come this week.
     
    Cameraguy, Tinman, fenderman and 3 others like this.
  5. jgray99

    jgray99 n3wb

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2017
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    16
    I was finally able to put together an BIT addon to calculate dewpoint. I have it ready to share but I can't upload the zip file. I get an error every time I try. Thoughts? Also, what is my IPCT member #? I don't see that anywhere in my profile.
     
    AMP and Mike like this.
  6. Mike

    Mike Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,451
    Likes Received:
    1,609
    Location:
    New York
    Awesome! What is the error when uploading the zip? Are you uploading to the Downloads section? You member # is 41199.
     
  7. jgray99

    jgray99 n3wb

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2017
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    16
    Thanks for the quick response. Error screenshot attached.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Mike

    Mike Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,451
    Likes Received:
    1,609
    Location:
    New York
    Can you please email that file to me so I can try to figure out what is going on? You can email it mike at ipcamtalk dot com.
     
  9. Mike

    Mike Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,451
    Likes Received:
    1,609
    Location:
    New York
    aristobrat and AMP like this.
  10. AMP

    AMP n3wb

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2015
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    12
    You are awesome! :headbang: I got your add-on working! Thanks so much for developing that! Checked out your code, that was indeed slightly over my head to do myself, but I think I was kind of on the right track. I do notice though that it goes with a null blank value sometimes and I saw it show -1 dew point on the overlay at some point. I'll have to mess around and see if I can figure out why it's doing that. The value looks to be within 1 degree F of the value that is calculated over at Wunderground, so that's good. Heck it might be even better since Wunderground seems to not show any decimal.

    CincyVision.20190610_011129752.jpg
     
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2019
  11. jgray99

    jgray99 n3wb

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2017
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    16
    Thanks, I glad you like it. I may be a weather snob but dewpoint is so much more meaningful than relative humidity is when determining human comfort. ;)

    Actually the hardest part of creating it was finding the formula in a format I could make sense of and use on the command line. It seemed to be pretty accurate in my tests though there were always slight variances with each different online calculator I tried. I'm sure I'll play with it some more if I see either of the strangeness you have seen. I you find something please let me know. If I can make it better I am happy to do so.
     
    aristobrat, AMP and Mike like this.
  12. AMP

    AMP n3wb

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2015
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    12
    I'm in the same weather snob club. I want to see dew point everywhere. It pains me that devices such as smart thermostats and Bluetooth temp/humidity sensors like https://www.amazon.com/SensorPush-Wireless-Thermometer-Hygrometer-Android/dp/B01AEQ9X9I give you relative humidity but do not calculate and report the dew point. Seems that most of the population doesn't understand why dew point is more valuable to understand what it will feel like outside, and hear the word humidity in "relative humidity" so they think that gives them an understanding of how much moisture there is in the air. The lack of dew point in those devices just reinforces it to the population the perception that dew point is just a weather geek thing. That and/or developers don't know how to implement it because formulas for dew point are not straightforward.
     
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2019
    Mike, th182 and jgray99 like this.
  13. AMP

    AMP n3wb

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2015
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    12
    You can see the strangeness in my Wunderground timelapse here: Weather Underground You can actually see me first messing around with the dew point overlay for the first time, heh.
     
    jgray99 likes this.
  14. Dobie Tanpaw

    Dobie Tanpaw n3wb

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    2
    I love BI Tools, but I'd love it even more if you could add the option to pull the weather from a local device, especially a uRad Monitor... the RESTful API for it is very well documented here, starting on page 5: https://www.uradmonitor.com/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2019/01/datasheet_a3_v107_en_comp.pdf

    This would be great as it'd be pulling data for the exact same location as my cameras, and not from Wunderground's neighborhood monitors, the closest of which is over a mile and a half from my home, and a much different elevation. (Though I've been trying to get Wunderground to support the uRad monitor as an input for ages, they haven't seemed interested, yet)

    The uRad monitor provides a wealth of data, as you can see for mine, here: uRADMonitor - Air Quality
     
    Mike likes this.
  15. Mike

    Mike Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,451
    Likes Received:
    1,609
    Location:
    New York
    This is possible using the BIT Add-on system, but you would have to code it yourself.
     
  16. looney2ns

    looney2ns IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    7,329
    Likes Received:
    5,645
    Location:
    Evansville, Indiana
    Wait, you actually have a webcam successfully uploading to WU????
    How long have you had it doing so?
     
  17. Ssayer

    Ssayer Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Messages:
    368
    Likes Received:
    161
    Location:
    SE Michigan USA
    WU had a real bad spell a while back, but my cam has been uploading pretty much without hassle for months now.
     
  18. AMP

    AMP n3wb

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2015
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    12
    Off and on for several years, since 2015 maybe? Snapshots below of some relevant BlueIris relevant settings. I know one of the key things about doing it in BlueIris is lowering the image upload settings to make the image smaller than 150kb. That's why you see I have the quality % set to 27. I just looked at the Wunderground settings, but I'm scared to touch anything because of how you are asking. I think it "submits it for approval" so I don't want to lose what I have working. I'm not sure anyone works at that company anymore, heh... I have seen it be finicky at times in the past when messing with it, and I wasn't always sure what exactly made it start working.

    Wunderground image upload.PNG
     
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2019
  19. looney2ns

    looney2ns IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    7,329
    Likes Received:
    5,645
    Location:
    Evansville, Indiana
    You are one of the few lucky ones. :)
    Me and many others can no longer get Webcams to work, you can see many others here: Webcam FTP server status
    Yeah, don't touch your settings or you risk never getting it to work again.
    After ten years of supplying a webcam image, I can no longer login to the ftp for sometime now.
    Since IBM bought them, WU has been all downhill.
     
    TonyR and AMP like this.
  20. TonyR

    TonyR IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    3,885
    Likes Received:
    3,668
    Location:
    Alabama
    I gave up FTPing my webcam to WU months ago; instead I let BI FTP an image to a folder on my domain then give WU the URL to it.....it works.